We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss County to your Saves list
Swiss County
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Chithirapuram PO | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 103 Munnar B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Refreshing Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had our whole trip to Kerala planned through Swiss county , they (Athiest)even helped me getting a house boat and a stay arranged in TAJ at kumarakom. Though I had booked 4 rooms initially had to cancel 2 in the last minute and they were able to accommodate without a fuss. Arrived at Swiss county late in the afternoon and very tired from a long journey but they settled us quickly in our rooms and a refreshing lunch. The commendable staff need no mention as i saw the most humble and smiling ones. The best part was the view from our bedroom balcony and i am soo glad i choose to stay here for 3 days. The Children (4 yr old & 10 month old) enjoyed the spacious rooms and the fantastic views from the balcony. Though we had the regulars for Breakfast at the roof top restaurant the view made it all worth it. On behalf of our whole family, I appreciate each one at swiss county by their names : Bijin, Reju, Shinto, Jobins, Nijas, Shibin, Jolly and Praveen and Athiest one of the best travel planner. Finally have to Appreciate the Doctor who owns this for his wonderful design of this house. On a lighter note, Sir if you want to sell it, I am willing to buy it :)

"A BIG THANK YOU TEAM SWISS COUNTY"

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the Alpine suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    51
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
126
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment we parked our car outside the building, we were greeted with warmth, smiles and a refreshing welcome drink (a cold glass of really good fresh pressed juice). We were whisked away to our rooms (we had booked 3 out of the total 5 rooms at this B&B) immediately after, followed by a tour of the entire premises. The staff can't do enough for you. They are extremely sweet and service minded. One of the rooms we stayed in, (with balcony) was simply beautiful. The other rooms were also well furnished with clean bathrooms. The furniture and interiors are minimalistic with a warm touch. The food at this place is mind blowing! We had the whole dining area to ourselves in the evning, where we really could stay as late as we wanted. Breakfast the next day was also remarkable. Although one orders alacarte - everything is freshly prepared and nothing is too much for the staff to accomodate. We had some really delicious dosas here.
I would highly recommend this place for all who want a clean, quiet and a beautiful B&B with courteous and helpful staff. Swiss county is not very far from Munnar city (15 minutes drive) but far enough from all the hustle bustle of the center. I would definitely stay here when I come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I would normally have given this hotel an excellent rating but for the noise, but more of that later.

The hotel is located about 10 miles outside Munnar, and with nothing much else in the area, it is almost obligatory to eat evening meals in the hotel. However, the meals are excellent and very reasonably priced. Your order is taken in reception and you will be telephoned when your meal is almost ready. This is really good as the restaurant area is a somewhat plain and looks as if there is still work in progress to make it more cosy. There is enough variety in dishes for meals on 3/4 evenings, with veggie meals being the tastiest in our opinion, even though we are not veggies.

As far as rooms go, it is essential to have a mountain view. We had a room at the side for the first night, but were moved to a room with a view for the remaining 3 nights on asking at reception. These rooms are much quieter being away from the road. The rooms are spacious with doors onto the balcony. Bottled water is provided as is a fridge. Bathrooms are well stocked with toiletries.

Anyway, back to the noise. Indians drive as much with the horn as well as the pedals, and use it with gusto close to the hotel. There is also a loud extractor fan in the hotel next door, and the siren from a construction project in the valley which summons the workers 2 or 3 times a day. Without the noise the hotel would be excellent, but as we found with later stays, it is quite difficult to escape car horn noise in India.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms not overlooking the valley/mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is small, has only 2 types of room.. I was lucky enough to get a room .. unfortunately i was able to spend only 1 night there as it was heavily booked.. anyways the location, the ambiance, the staff, the rooms, everything about this hotel is amazing.. the view from the room is amazing.. so is the view of room itself.. its modern, stylish, as well as spacious.. I had been there for my honeymoon.. and was not disappointed..
The staff was courteous, the waiter (i suppose his name is shinto) was kind enough to give us more details about the hotel and other places of visit in and around munnar.. he also asked the chef to meet us & chef prepared food as per our taste.. It was a wonderful feeling..
I wish they expand and have their hotels around the famous places in Kerala..
Its a must visit place..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am really running short of words while writing this text.. Right from the location of the hotel to the courteous staff to the Food. Everything was next to heaven.. Swiss County is located 8 KM away from the Munnar Town. Must go for honeymooners!.. Chef is a brilliant chap. We're so sick of having north and south indian food during over a week stay in Kerala. Chef made us forget everything.. He cooked really lovely khichdi for us. Apart from the food, services and staff are well ahead of everything. Alpine suit is amazing. Everything placed inside the suites so well. Sun rise right infront of your eyes while lying in bed (from 105). Balcony location is really wonderful. Lovely stay we had! Thanks Swiss County for making our stay even better.

Room Tip: Alpine Suit (No 105) for the sun rise view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights towards the tail end of our India trip. It was the best place we stayed whilst in India and it rejuvenated our spirits after a couple of weeks of non-stop travelling.

Gorgeous, tastefully decorated room. It was very spacious and comfortable and spotlessly clean.

The service was excellent, with nothing being too much trouble and the chef cooked us beautiful meals, which we enjoyed eating on the balcony and also on the rooftop restaurant.

Laundry service was very good and computer with internet is available in the lobby.

We were also upgraded to the Alpine Suite during our stay as there were no other guests at the time. Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

we went to Swiss County in January end, the best hotel to stay, i recommend this hotel as an excellent hotel, the food was ultimate and rooms were very neat and clean.. the staff members were very helpful.. whenever i will visit munnar again, i will stay at swiss county only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss County

Address: Chithirapuram PO | Pallivasal, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty mountains. Lush green forests. Gurgling streams. Cool Clime. It’s for all these reasons and more that the British referred to Munnar as the ‘Switzerland of India’. Here tucked away in a cozy nook is Swiss County, a small jewel in Munnar’s Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.