We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical and good Tasty Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarath Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sarath Inn
Poopara town | 15 Km from Club Mahindra & Sterling resorts, Munnar, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Restaurants in Munnar
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Best place for cheap food with spiced recipes
Restaurant details
Description: Best place for cheap food with spiced recipes
Kochi, Kerala, India
1 review
“Economical and good Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited Munnar on September 14 to 16th and we have stayed at Club Mahindra Munnar, since was raining nothing much to do other than sitting in the room.on 15th afternoon we decided to go out for lunch for a change.As per my brother-in-law we went down to poopara as there was no much reasturant near by.
when we reached the town, made an enquiry for a good restaurant. Fruit stall ownner guided to a reasturant on the way to Thekkady just 1 KM from poopara there we found a resturant in the name of Sarath in .It is a small place but very clean.the best thing we liked was making all food only after the order and any one can see the kitchen when they are cooking.
The food was excellent and the rate was very economical and afordable to any one. the entire food we had for 5 persons and the rate was just the cost of 4 cups of tea werewe stayed

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and decent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Past Pooppara town towards Thekkady direction.Worth in terms of cost and quality when compared to the restaurants in Pooppara town and Chinnakkal.Rabbit Fry and Sardine Fry were fresh and tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Poor Service- The manager Tries to force the menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We saw the Trip advisor rating at the restaurant and went to order. Since there were 6 of us we wanted to try different items. We wanted to carry the food to our hotel and eat later.
The man at the counter who was the manager was telling us for each item you have to order minimum 5 items. With all this preconditions we ended up ordering 5 meals!! INot what we wanted. The logic given was we have to make it fresh so we make it in quantity.
Food was plain average.
In the morning atleast we thought for breakfast this stupid condition would not apply. We ordered for egg roast, omlette , sunny side up. Again the manager came forth with the condition of minimum 5 plates of the same item!!!!
Ended up walking out this time round.

Average food can be had anywhere without stupid conditions.

Avoid this place.... seems the man at the counter is hell bent on fleecing unsuspecting travellers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“small clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

i reached there at 10pm,they have clossed already,but they made put and beef fry for my family.nice people ,clean n cheap

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great taste and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed kerala style cuisine prepared just like at home by a bunch of 4 family members.It is most advisable to taste the local cuisine like the Kada Fry and Rabbit fry along with appam and puttu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarath Inn also viewed

 

Been to Sarath Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarath Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.