We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Close to nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birds Valley Resorts Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Birds Valley Resorts Munnar to your Saves list
Birds Valley Resorts Munnar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kunjithanny, Idukki Dist, Munnar 685 565, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Close to nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been to Birds valley Resort for two days in August 2013. Its a beautiful, peaceful and close to nature resort. We stayed in a beautiful valley view room with which a living room and a balcony is attached….the resort is situated 15 kms away from main Munnar city but if you are a nature lover then you won't mind coming this far....this place is awesome but when it comes to food of your choice the hotel staff was not at all supportive....We ordered the dinner but the hotel staff refused taking the order and said that the resort is full hence no separate food would be prepared on request (that's the worst excuse I have ever heard from any hotel)....when you are on a vacation you obviously want to try different local food.... and as the resort is situated in a very remote area, you can not find any restaurant nearby and forcefully u have to eat buffet food only (which was not of your choice).....
Minus the food thing…..this place is awesome and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    56
    18
    10
    16
See reviews for
78
70
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Birds Valley is a quiet place where you can really enjoy nature at its best. Set in the middle of the forest with nothing but natural beauty to blanket you.

We went to Birds Valley for 2 days and 2 nights from September 12-2013. A wonderful experience overall.

Above all i enjoyed the off road drive from top station. Can't describe it with words instead you have to experience it. Even if it was the mid of summer, we could really feel the chill and wilderness of nature. Now.... I can vouch that this was one of best resort in Munnar I have ever visited in my life time. Food was very tasty, and service was very memorable and excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed two days at munnar which was followed by madurai, kanyakumari, kodaikannal and thekkady. After reaching at resort i found it is very beautifully constructed and arranged same as name. But once i entered the honeymoon cottage, i was amazed to see very dirty balcony, ugly coloured painted wall and ceiling full of cobweb and flies. Moreover Bathroom was very dirty and old type. Phone wasn't working properly. Water was not coming. Service was very slow. Restaurant food was very costly and tasty but complimentary breakfast was extremely bad. Thanks to Manager who arranged a vehicle for site visit (Rs. 2000) and munnar city drop (Rs. 700). Later he changed my room which was ok but without cupboard. It can be only booked if one wants to only stay in resort not want to xplore full munnar since it is 20 Km far and takes 1 hr to reach munnar by very dangerous road. otherwise better to ignore the resort and stay at munnar city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days, a family of 8 adults and 1 kid. The decor of the hotel is fine but since we were having a kid along with us we had problems in getting milk (since the area where this hotel is located is aloof) On top of that, the staff were rude enough to refuse us straight on the face during the buffet breakfast, the milk for the baby!!!) They were very cold in thier attitude. I told them that i will pay you the amount you want instead and they happily relented.
The food was okay. But beware of plenty of big wild insects around.....wont be coming here to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birds1232013, General Manager at Birds Valley Resorts Munnar, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

I was shocked to see your review to say the least ! Are you sure you got the resort right ? Also, our staff is experienced and trained to behave in a professional and polite manner even in the most exacting of circumstances....!!! I am also left confused by your remark regarding “Heartless Staff” -
I would like to apologies for all inconvenience caused
I await your detailed mail which would be helpful in making any operational corrections if u required....

Trust you will appreciate the pros of the holiday and return to , I promise, a definitely improved holiday experience ...

Regards

SANTHOSH ABRAHAM
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a family trip to Munnar on Oct 24-25 and stayed in Birds valley Resort.
I Strongly Recommend to all the Munnar visitors as this is one of the Best Resort i have seen in my travel days. Resort is very nice and good. Very Good Rooms. We have booked a standard room, but the hotel staff have upgraded us to Presidential Suite which is very kind of them. Hotel view is superb and rooms are quite spacious and clean. Meals ordered are served quick time.
Support staff are very friendly.
overall - i would give 5 stars for this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trivandrum
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am very happy and delighted to say that we had a wonderful time in birdsvalley. Birdsvalley is a fantastic location for travellers looking for a relaxed holidays. The cottages are extremely spacious and comfortably house upto 4 peoples. The restraurant of birdsvallley resort is hygenic and food at the restaurant is very delicious. The management and staff was very friendly and polite. Thus we strongly recommend birdsvalley resort.

Room Tip: Appleberry cottage is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We- a family of three- stayed in Birds valley resort on 1st sep to 3rd sep.We really enjoying the view from the balcony and the sun rise on the first morning .There is also an upper balcony and it is very attractive.The "Presidential suite" is very large and decent and well maintained.The area around the rooms is too big and the lawns are very beautiful .We have taken a lots of memmorablle photos from there.I would definitely recoomend this resort.

Room Tip: The honey moon cottage near the tea garden is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birds Valley Resorts Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Valley Resorts Munnar

Address: Kunjithanny, Idukki Dist, Munnar 685 565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birds Valley Resorts Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munnar Birds Valley Cottages stand aloof with its unique concept of merging the ultra modern luxury living desires with the pure and mesmerizing sanctity of nature. Munnar Birds Valley Cottages provide you with a never before experience of your union with nature, a feeling of your lifetime dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Birds Valley Resorts Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds Valley Resorts Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.