We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CSI Christ Church

CSI Christ Church
Munnar, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 34 Attractions in Munnar
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Tirupur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good experience and a colonial value , our group had a nice walk through this great monument . as it was so close to our hotel we had spend some time in evening

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“oldest church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

it is a very nice holy place, and it is the oldest church,if i am not wrong it was built in 1910.
a very good place to go, it is open on Sundays, and on other days at 4pm the care taker opens the church.so check before you go. the church has a bell which rings on every hour with some wordings from the Bible also,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doha
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

holly place.quit palace,we are spent more time in the church

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very traditional!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

CSI Christ Church is in Old Munnar, just few miles drive from Munnar town. The church is a standing marvel of the churches built in the colonial era. Constructed with shaped rocks, decorated with stained glass windows depicting the saints and biblical characters and a very unusual architecture makes this unique. The interiors are unplastered exposing the raw rocks may make you feel like in a cave, at-least I felt that. Being in a place with mixed culture and linguistic differences, the church caters to Tamil, Malayalam and English congregations. We reached there by 9.30 AM when the Tamil service was about to end with the church full. We attended the next service at 10.30, which is Malayalam..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a beautiful church to visit - do find out if the church is open before you visit. Also do visit the old british cemetry on the grass slopes. You may wish to read something about the history of the church before visiting

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CSI Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to CSI Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CSI Christ Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.