We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow

Save Saved
You added Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow
Karadippara, Munnar 685611, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Monsoon Special Offer
Ranked #5 of 84 Munnar B&B and Inns
Sugar land,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent place to stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location on top of mountain & just gorgeous. We stayed at Kollenkeril in early Dec. It was our favorite part of our entire stay in Kerala. It was so nice, beautiful on top of mountains, weather was just right, sunny and quite. We stayed with our friends so we had the entire bungalow to ourselves. The rooms are great..clean and comfortable. Joseph and the staff work hard to make sure you are relaxed and enjoying yourself. We did some traveling in Munnar. The chef was also so sweet and made us great breakfasts...they always ask what we like and don't like to make the perfect meals. We would love to go back and even have recommend Kollenkeril to our friends..I would even skip any professional spice tours as the one Joseph gives around the property is much better than the ones outside in Munnar.

Room Tip: Whole bungalow is lot more private which has 4 bedrooms and has a separate western restroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Kollenkeril in early Dec. It was our favorite part of our entire stay in Kerala. It was so nice, we often wanted to not even go out in Munnar just to spend more time at the home. We stayed with our entire family and friends so we had the entire bungalow to ourselves. The rooms are great..clean and comfortable. Joseph and the staff work hard to make sure you are relaxed and enjoying yourself. We did some morning yoga and he even brought us tea! The chef was also so sweet and made us great breakfasts...they always ask what we like and don't like to make the perfect meals. We would love to go back and even have recommend Kollenkeril to our friend who is visiting in late Jan. We miss it...I would even skip any professional spice tours as the one Joseph gives around the property is much better than the ones outside in Munnar..he knows his stuff!

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone I would recoommend one of the rooms outside the house...but the room ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Everything about this place is absolutely amazing. I stayed here for two nights and wish I could have stayed longer. The plantation view is breath taking and the whole property is very serene. The care taker of the property, Joey, was such a gracious host. His brother cooked us amazing food and even invited us into the kitchen to show us how a few things were made. Joey gave us a tour of the plantation which was very cool. I can only hope that I will get to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This a beautiful traditional-style building set in a spice plantation, with an astounding view (that can even be admired from a treehouse). The manager makes you feel at home and even shows you around the plantation. I recommend the plantation view rooms (especially the one on the extreme right of the building); there is nothing like admiring the view in the morning while sipping a tea and listening to the birds! The tea gardens are only 10 minutes away by car. The only downside were a somewhat dark room (lit by neon lights), and the cuisine which was adapted to the Western palate)
Reservations need to be done via www.musafirtours.com, which by the way is an exceptional tour operator who can organize your entire trip in Kerala.

Room Tip: Plantation view room on the right of the building offers the best location and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we visited kollenkeril plantation as part of a 2 night stay with musafir tours. we had 3 of the 5 bungalow rooms booked while the other 2 rooms were empty, therefore having the place to ourselves. what a dream!

from the idyllic surroundings, to the little tree house, the comfortable bedding and bath, and of course the FANTASTIC host, joey, we could not have asked for a better place to stay.

even though we had a driver through our tour operator to take us wherever we wanted, we opted to come home early on the second day so we could have as much time as possible to enjoy the property. the bungalow is situated on an incredible spice plantation which joey proudly showed us around. and we spent time in the kitchen learning a few southern indian dishes and how to make chapati. the food was incredible and i certainly ate enough of it!

i can only hope that i will get to come back to this place one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburgerhof, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Awesome location, great view, lovely garden and spice garden, and a spectacular tree house, best Kerala food we ever had! We loved it and would like to come back! This is one of our favorite places in Kerala. Thank you for this great place to stay! We loved sitting on the veranda, having our cardamom tea and just enjoying the view.

Thanks a lot!
Birgit and Volker
Germany

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful, relaxing, awe-inspiring places I've ever seen. My husband and I spent two nights here and wanted to stay longer. It is so beautiful at Kollenkeril that it is very tempting to just stay there and not leave. Joseph and James greeted us on our arrival with a welcome drink and a tour of their spice gardens - given by Joseph. We thoroughly enjoyed that, and I was amazed at how much I learned. After a few minutes to refresh ourselves, we were treated to a wonderful dinner, cooked by James. The home itself is beautiful with carved woodwork throughout. And there is no way to describe the view - just breathtaking. We can't wait to go back and sit on the porch, listening to the Malabar Whistling Thrush as the sun comes up. Or sit in the treehouse and watch the sunset. Or just enjoy the wonderful food that James cooked while visiting with Joseph. And now I can't imagine staying anywhere else...

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to stay in the bungalow which is separated from the house. It's a special t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow

Address: Karadippara, Munnar 685611, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Kerala style Bungalow is located right in the wilderness of Munnar hills. Its layout blended harmoniously with the local carpentry, steeply pitched tile roofs decorated with simple and neat gables, inward cut verandahs and contoured ledges forming the front facing east make Kollenkeril bungalow a very private space who loves privacy and relaxation. Welcome to Kollenkeril Plantation Home-stay Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kollenkeril Plantation Home-Stay Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.