We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aranyaka Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranyaka Resort to your Saves list
Aranyaka Resort
Pallivasal Tea Estate | Pullivasal Estate Post, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel is situated in a tea garden at a very quiet place, and is overlooking a water fall. It has 4 villas (Ganga, Yamuna, Kavari, Godavri) and i stayed in Godavri, Nice rooms, there was a view from every corner of the room. Bed was comfortable, staff is friendly. Food is good, breakfast was awesome.

Room Tip: Ganga and Godavri i think are best of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    167
    38
    7
    6
See reviews for
219
180
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The resort is in a very quite place and very close to Pullivasal Tea plantations giving you a good view every day. The rooms are built up nicely and the staff also takes care of you. Its a family run business and do not compare it to a hotel-hotel. Its what they say a "Home-stay".

Some things to know before you stay here:
1- They dont have concierge or Housekeeping after evening - I tried to get hold of them in the night but could not find anyone. No one sits at the reception in the night. But the owner is very helpful and told us to give him a call in any such future event.

2- They have two rooms Nila-1 and Nila-2 which are the oldest rooms of this resort and are very very small (especially Nila-2 which is very dingy). The other cottages/rooms seemed to be nice

3- They dont have (atleast didnt have when we travelled) a big staff line-up in the kitchen and they would take dinner orders in the morning so that you are served on time (goes to show that they take care of you)

4- You need to have your conveyance or should be willing to get a taxi as this is far from any touristy place

Room Tip: Avoid Nila-1 and Nila-2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we 7 traveled to Munnar, searched for cottage .. Tourism information center - informed abt this place ... its 3 km from center of the town ...
Excellent scenic
for Friends they gave a separate cottage which is 2 min walk from the main resort.
Private cottage - Excellent to Enjoy
Food - Dinner Excellent
Morning Breakfast - Superb
Good Quality and Quantity

Will surely recommend my friends to stay in this place.

Aranyaka best place to enjoy staying

Room Tip: Sudarma - stay for friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parvathirajesh, Owner at Aranyaka Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review sir. We always recommend this private cottage called Sudharma for friends/bachelors to enjoy their privacy. Great to know that we succeeded in serving you to your satisfaction. Thanking you once again for the time spent to give this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed in Aranyaka Resort for two nights with my family and relatives. We reached Aranyaka on 18th March, 2013. I actually booked Godavari Cotteage (entire cottage with 2 B/R + Living Room), however after reaching the resort, we were upgraded to Ganga Cottage (2 B/R but no Living Room) without any extra charge, by resort management due to some of their internal issues. The resort is located nearly 6-7 km outside of Munnar Town. It was an excellent location far from city hubbubs. Ganga Cottage is located in the most elevated location of the resort and having the best view (you can also see the waterfall) among other cottages. Hotel staffs were friendly and room service was good. However little bit of extra effort is required for maintenance of the rooms. Breakfast was served as per our order based on daily menu available and it had good variety. I recommend this place for the people who love nature and want to spend some peaceful holiday in Munnar. Thanks to Aranyaka - Suvadeep.

Room Tip: Go for Ganga Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

1. This resort is located in one if the best best places in Munnar.
2. Having very good food and friendly service, I would recommend this place for peace lovers.
3. Breakfast is awesome as you get to choose what you want and pretty much I had very good breakkie everyday

Cons:

1. Very poor room cleanliness. Towels are substandard ones, tea and coffee but no milk and kettle, rooms are very cold in winter
2. It could get scary at nights as rooms are not air tight and that some unusual sound keep coming through mountains when windy.
3. Little expensive

Overall, if you want to have some good time away from town and have little concerns over room cleanliness and weather, it is recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parvathirajesh, Owner at Aranyaka Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your stay and for the valuable time spent to give us a sincere feedback.

Very sorry to find your mark of disappointment with regard to the cleanliness. The towels and other similar accessories provided in the rooms are of the new lot purchased recently, to be more specific on. 3rd of march 2013. We have engaged an out side agency for laundering clothes whereby the service to the customers' satisfaction is ensured. If you have any such discomfort with the cleanliness our house keeping team is always around to serve you at any time.
The scary noise in the resort is nothing but the Nature's naughtiness. When you choose a developed part of india's one among the most densed forests, the valley has kept many such strange and funny activities for you. The noise is nothing but the vibrations caused by the wind in the valley. And the ventillations are the mandatory provision fixed by the architects, hence both are unavoidable.
And Sir,,,, whether is the unique attraction we fortunately hold to draw
The dissatisfaction on the cleanliness part if caused, is deeply regretted though the chances for the same are very less. Kettles are provided only in the super deluxe room, but hot water is provided to all other rooms in flasks, if demanded.

Expecting to have a chance to serve you with more facilities and improvements soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Aranyaka Resorts. It is a very peaceful, small resort on a beautiful location in Munnar. Nice room, good food, great service. We went on a full day trip to Top Station with a rickshaw, organised by the hotel manager, which was a great experience: fun to see all the local attractions and the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room (K11 I believe), which was absolutely fine, but a bit noisy because righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parvathirajesh, Owner at Aranyaka Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your stay and also for the valuable feedback.
Having great concern on the valuable time you have spent to stay with us and also to write the review, we have already taken steps to arrange the parking which you found disturbing, developing the land on the other side of the road.
Pleasure serving you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice place to stay,our overall stay was fantastic.Room was absolutely fine as per our budget.staying in room was a bit difficult as they had limited hindi channels ( star plus & sony ) rest everything was fine.
Now lets talk about food, to be very true i & my wife didnt like the food at all not even south indian dishes.we had to wait till 19.30 hrs to get a dish of our choice,may be becoz its not a fully operational kitchen yet.housekeeping services were very good, room was very clean but sometimes during our stay in NILA 2 bathroom was stinking, dont know the reason why.Nice stay. Tour co-ordinator Rajesh was very good , he is the owner of this resort & also ganesh he was very good & loyal.when u r in aranyaka,one thing whicch u need not worry about is the sight seeing,well co-ordinated.I will definitely recommend this place to all couples & families.I would definitely visit the place in nearby future,i hope that they will have some good & tasty food options avail than .
Regards Honey & Pallavi sharma

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranyaka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranyaka Resort

Address: Pallivasal Tea Estate | Pullivasal Estate Post, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#1 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, peaceful, green, eco friendly and beautiful atmosphere.Has a very good view towards the waterfalls.Adjacent to tea bushes in short an Ode to Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aranyaka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranyaka Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranyaka Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.