We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Homestay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Magic Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Magic Home to your Saves list
Green Magic Home
Near Pothenmedu View Point, Munnar 685565, India (Formerly Misty Green View)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 121 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Homely Homestay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely hosts provide you a warm welcome. Home cooked meals made with fresh ingredients. Close to nature and perfect for a break away from mundane, busy, noisy city life. Unique selling point - the view from the balcony is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Peaceful and serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Warm Greetings from Green Magic Home.

Thank you for staying with us and for your post. We are happy to hear that we made your stay pleasant and memorable. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    98
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
182
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here last weekend and oh boy what a great view the balcony offers, you just can't blink while being there. From early morning mist to bright sunshine to calmness of evening; each moment has its unique charm that keeps you mesmerized.
Next comes the service - Robin always ready to offer you help, he arranged our pickup from old Munnar Bus stop and local sight seeing subsequently.
The food he served was real delicacy, the next day to our surprise, candle light dinner was also arranged by him.
From this very place, You can walk up to the view point witnessing beauty of tea gardens, you can take photos of valley or just enjoy the nature.
My 2.5 year young daughter enjoyed the trip and stay so much that she didn't want to leave this place.
100% recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Warm Greetings from Green Magic Home.

Many thanks for jotting down your thoughts about your recent stay with us. This will help fellow travelers to make informed decision. Your score 5/5 will definitely motivate us to do better.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is incredible. The view from the balcony while we were having breakfast is something we won't forget. Robin is a brilliant host and makes you feel very welcome, we had tea on the balcony when we arrived. Then dinner and breakfast cooked for us. Our breakfast was a later time than the other guests as we went on a 2 hour walk, (Robin arranged this and we would definitely recommend) when we arrived back breakfast was waiting for us on the balcony!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Regards fro Green Magic Home!!!

We thank you very much for taking out time to post review on Trip Advisor for recent visit to Green Magic Home, Munnar. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Green Magic Home and once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OK the rooms are quite basic and the beds are rather hard but we would not have stayed anywhere else in Munnar quite simply because of the location. The view from the balcony is stunning and it is a very short walk along a quiet, winding road to a point where you can wander through tea plantations. Higher up the hill is a village quite untouched by western influence - and you can see women collecting water and goats wandering into houses!

One day we walked from Green Magic Home into Munnar town. It was about 5 km (although we were told 7 km) and Robin:our host, directed us on a route that was beautiful - avoiding the busy roads and an end point that took us across the rickety Margaret's Bridge. Munnar town is not picturesque and I would not have wanted to stay there but it is still interesting and a good place for lunch and catching a rickshaw for sightseeing. (We did Top Station for great views, Elephant Viewing Point (we were told there was a 25% chance of seeing wild elephants - we saw none - but did see monkeys), some tourist stalls on the way to Top Station for a spot of shopping, Kundala dam and popped in the Elephant Park just to see the elephants briefly (no charge). The whole trip cost 800 rupees and lasted about 4 hours).

Robin arranged drivers and tuk tuks for us and an evening visit into Munnar to see some kathakali. (Unfortunately we arrived at the wrong time however and saw kalaripayattu instead - so be careful with the details of such arrangements).

Both breakfast and evening meals are eaten communally with the other guests (on the balcony in the morning and downstairs in the evening) and were, quite simply, delicious!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Warm Regards from Green Magic Home , Munnar

Many Thanks for your reviews and we are glad to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Green Magic is not luxury but the views and the host make up for the rooms.
We had two nights at Green Magic and had such an amazing experience. The stay was so relaxed and chilled. Helped very much by the host, Robin, who made us cups of tea on request and organised of transport and walks. He also cooks up a superb breakfast and evening meal for guests to enjoy. The views are seriously breath-taking and can be seen from rooms and balconies. The rooms are simple and not glamorous. Guesthouse is just outside the hustle and bustle of Munnar town, which for me was a massive positive. Value for money. Would go back for sure! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Warm Regards from Green Magic Home, Munnar

Heartfelt thanks for taking your time and posting a generous feed back on Trip Advisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future to Green Magic Home assuring you our best attention and services now and for ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Everything people say about this place is true. Amazing spot, breathtaking views from the tea plantations and very well managed. Robin, our host, was very helpful and polite.
The food was also excellent (and included in the price).
Highly recommended place!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Warm Greetings from Green Magic Home, Munnar

Many thanks for jotting down your experience at Green Magic Home. We are delighted to learn that, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We take this opportunity to thank you for the kind words of encouragement. Please do come again with family and friends to experience hospitality at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stumbled across Stanely Wilson's office in Cochin and are so glad we did. He arranged the most suberb two days at the Green Magic Guest House high up in the hills near Munner. The view take your breath away and makes the 4 hour journey well worth it. We found the visit to the Spice Farm really informative, but actually it's the house in the hills that makes this trip - along with Shajay and Robin who make you feel so welcome. Great company, superb food, views to stay forever - it's well worth making the time and Stanley Wilson is a great tour organiser.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out over the tea planatations are special, but both balconies are communal and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyWilson15, Manager at Green Magic Home, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Greetings from Green Magic Home Munnar.

Thank you for staying with us and for your post. We are happy to hear that we made your stay pleasant and memorable.
Look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Magic Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Magic Home

Address: Near Pothenmedu View Point, Munnar 685565, India (Formerly Misty Green View)
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is listed as Green Magic Home which is a home away from home in Pothanmedu View Point, Munnar is operated by Wilson tours in Cochin. Here we have five well furnished bath-attached bedrooms with hot water facility. It is located amidst the green tea plantations and is 5 kms away from Munnar town. Three of the five rooms have private sit outs overlooking the beautiful valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Magic Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Green View By Wilson Tours Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Magic Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.