We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean with a good hot shower but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Ridge Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Ridge Holiday Home to your Saves list
Green Ridge Holiday Home
NH Road, Central Munnar, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Munnar
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Basic, clean with a good hot shower but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

... made me feel somewhat claustrophobic with a tiny window and balcony that faced the wall of someone else's building. Not forgetting it was very noisy throughout the night. Street noise would suddenly blast its way into the room and at 3am, the hotel's sound system starting playing radio music into the corridors! I can't help feeling like I was living in a cardboard box.

It's right by the main road in town and it looked way better many others situated similarly but then I wouldn't come here if the choice was up to me.

The breakfast is pretty decent with a fair variety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
46
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

As stated clean & comfortable compared to the one we stayed in before in Munnar. Good food & service offered to us. Got shifted from forest haven to this one & turned out to be better option to stay in Munnar. Hotel is situated in town, easy access to many things. Good food, friendly staff, spacious rooms. I would recommend this hotel for stay here in Munnar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rourkela
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed there in Dec 2012 with family.Were allotted a huge room with three beds.The furniture was minimal but adequate.Bathroom was very clean.Huge 32 inch flat screen TV caught my son's fancy. A large centre table with cosy wicker chairs were a welcome sight.A nice painting (duplicate of Raja Ravi verma) adorned the wall behind the bed.I have a feeling, they converted the conference hall into a room to meet the season's demand! Imaging two entry doors to the room, a seperate wash area with TWO wash basins , an attached toilet etc. Restaurant (Green Leaf) is OK. Buffet breakfast has a nice spread.However, was understaffed, particularly during dinner time when the rush was more. Reception area was elegant with a nice tabelau of the birth of Christ (it won the first prize) .Christmas eve gala dinner (compulsory) was sadly not good. Convenient location, just on the main road.On the whole, a comfortable two day stay.

Room Tip: Not much of a mountain view from any of the rooms as it is located in main town close to the market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was in this hotel in November. I choose this hotel in a state of emergency as I couldn't find another spot. The hotel, actually, looks gorgeous. The conciergerie is nice and the room itself looks nice too. The real problem was the bed. It was very dirty. We checked the sheets and were dirty of what looked like urine. I'll post a picture of it. So, we didn't find anything else and we slept in this place using our sleeping bags on the bed covers (to not dirt our sleeping bags with the bed sheets).
The rest was ok. It hadn't hot water and the breakfast was average. It's better than other places but I guess that there's much better round.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a recent stay at Green Ridge hotel. It had been an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The hotel was conveniently located at the center of the city. The rooms were spacious, neat and well kept. The staffs were extremely friendly and helpful. The meals were delicious with a blend of kerala and north Indian food. The hotel provided us with a bus tour which was so helpful to the non-keralite tourists. The hotel had additional parking lot in the basement. To chill out, there was a small gym near the banquet hall. The coffee shop entertained us with snacks, freshly brewed coffee and excellent aromatic tea. In addition, enjoyed a courteous room service.
I will suggest this hotel to anyone who wishes to see the beauty of munnar at a very reasonable price and who need a break from their mundane life!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are an elderly couple and stayed in this Hotel for three days beginning 11th September 2012. The hotel is ideally located and has spacious rooms,helpful staff and attention to cleanliness. It has a Coffee Shop on the ground floor but its rates are comparatively high for a budget tourist. The breakfast mainly consists of south Indian food items which are very good and light. The room service is lousy and it is advisable to go out for tea and snacks .For vegetarian food Anna Poorna restaurant located opposite the hotel is an excellent choice for North Indian food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front and back are good for view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had an excellent feel at home stay at Hotel Green Ridge. The rooms were very neat and clean and the toilets were also well-kept. The best part was that for the high class and well kept hotel, the pricing was reasonable and I and my family left the hotel with good feel of value for money. The hotel is centrally located and has a reasonable sight seeing options too. Food was also very tasty and the breakfast was simply yummy. If you are going with your family, be assured that you have a great time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well kept and of high standards and comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Ridge Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Ridge Holiday Home

Address: NH Road, Central Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Ridge Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Ridge Holiday Home Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Ridge Holiday Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.