“DefInitely not a luxury home stay. Terrible food, got sick.”
Booked 2 rooms for a two night stay with my husband and parents, looking for peace n quiet in a eco, luxury setting. As part of the mahindra home stay we expected the same.
Alas! Except for the nice looks and nice sized rooms, there was not much we could enjoy. It is abt 25 mins from munnar town, which is ok, but no dirctions en route and scary, tiny rds that our driver was worried abt. Even though it ihas cardamom plantation around, the constant construction noise ruins your day n you have no choice but to go out after breakfast n return in the eve. Also, with nothing close by, you have no choice but to eat the food here. For 200 rs per person in a place lik munnar, its robbery. N the food. Im sorry, we are of indian origin n know what upma, pongal n coconut chutney, biryani should taste like. What we were served was not even edible! Boiled rice with a spoon of dal is NOT pongal.
If foreigners are being served this as kerala food, thiis is a shame.
Not just that we got food poisoining of some sort too. Immediately after eating the food the cook made. When my father chkd the kitchen to see if biryani was being cooked ok, seeing the huge amt being cooked he asked why is so much being cooked like for 20 people when we told you we eat very little, he was told theres one more couple n of course the 3 member staff. The only day the food was ok, was the first night, which our driver found out was actuall ordered from outside for a fraction of the cost to us.
I want our money back. N i would not recommend this to anyone i cared abt. Change the staff, the cook n fix the bathrooms pls. The toilet seats are broken, the sink tap when working gives only a trickle of water n hot water is a pain! The 1st day we had to heat water in the tea kettle n pour on the dirty bucket, few times, to bathe. Pls chng the dirty shower curtains, torn sheets, and put new clean caulking around the filthy bathtubs.
Also, we specifically asled for eggs on our last day. To our shock we were not given any, n only after asking twice did we get a sheepish " i forgot to buy." n this after telling them we wanted to leave by 9am. Breakfast wasnt served till 9:20am. unacceptable!
N no cardamom tea avail in a location within a cardamom plantation!!??
N pls dont cheat people by calling it a luxury homestay when it is anything but.
I would like our money back pls.
D & R Arora ( Canada)
The food, lack of water, hot water, gross bathroom, lack of cust serv after reuesting things supposed to be avail.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.