We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant but reception staff need to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Archana Residency Munnar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Archana Residency Munnar
Save
You added Archana Residency Munnar to your Saves list
M.S.A Road, Idukki District, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but reception staff need to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our overall experience was average and the only good thing about it was the wonderful service from the Restaurant staff from the Captain and Chef to the waiters! Nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful. The only issue and why I marked it as an average hotel was the terrible experience we had when we checked in. There were 7 of us and our rooms had been pre-booked and paid for! Most of my friends got their rooms, but I was give a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked construction work and was quite dirty. Instead of giving me an explanation as to why my room was different to the others, the reception staff were not communicative and quite rude. In the end I had to get my travel agent to intervene and on returning from a tour of Munnar I was advised very grudingly that I had been upgraded to a deluxe room! The room was big with a bath tub which was filthy! The hot water didn't work in my bathroom. We were also NOT advised by the Reception staff that as the hotel was full, we needed to pre-order our dinner and indicate the time we wished to eat. When we arrived for dinner, the Captain and the waiting staff were very apologetic that we would have to wait at least 45 minutes for whatever we ordered as they had pre-booked meals for other guests! The Chef sent us some quick nibbles which was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Check with the Reception staff for all the details regarding your meals and about the hot water befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Munnar is known for the plantation stays & resorts and I guess most vacation travelers would like to spend time that way. However for some reasons, like mine, if you would like to stay closer to the town, Archana is a good choice. The surrounding area is not so upmarket, partially because of the approach road, which was in a bad shape. Do not expect splendid mountain views straight from the balconies (although you do get some). It is a clean, hygenic, decently maintained property. You will find few things broken here & there but overall good place to stay. As many others have mentioned, rooms are little cramped. We chose the standard ones. May be deluxe will have better space.

Staff were very courteous and food was good too. We used to like the breakfast buffet very much. Pretty good spread and quite filing. Restaurant may not be top notch but serves decent food. We didn't have to order a-la-carte much, as there were buffet options included in the package.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very good hotel for the price quoted. Comfortable and has nice clean rooms with a good service. The hotel has a good variety of breakfast and has ample parking space
Nice, comfortable and family hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent hospitality from Archana Residency staff starting from check-in till check-out. Was kind enough to upgrade our deluxe room to Suite & providing complimentary dinner for 2 days(Christmas special). Overall a very good accomodation & truly value for money

Room Tip: All rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room was too small.....I booked for a standard AC double bed room...the hotel was said to be 3-star.

In reality, the room neither had an AC nor a fan even....

On the flip side, the location is beautiful...the restaurant is good, though costly...

Check into another hotel I would say...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Location is very good. It is Centrally located. Good Hygiene in hotel. Rooms are bit small but good for two people to stay. Food at restaurant is decent but very limited options. Overall liked it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed on oct 28 and 29 ,nice location with the view of kdhp gollf course and river view.nice service from Mr RISHAD and team.breakfast was very good and elobarate.will recommad to other guest ,hotel have stunning view if we walk and cross the bridge nearby 5 minutes.accessible to major attaractions also

Room Tip: Please take a walk towards the bridge for 5 minutes can have a stunning view of tea gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archana Residency Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archana Residency Munnar

Address: M.S.A Road, Idukki District, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 well furnished rooms with a multi cuisine restaurant, riverside seafood specialty restaurant, Ayurvedic spa, Beauty Parlor, banquet hall, recreational room, travel desk,adventure activities, package tours, and event management. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archana Residency Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.