We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Tips Munnar

Save Saved
You added The Silver Tips Munnar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Silver Tips Munnar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Munnar | Idukki district, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Munnar
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a super hotel this is..We had Mynaa room , rooms are clean,Staff courteous and helpful, Service are good and the food are super taste in indian style,Room facing the mountain view so the site seeing is gud..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    144
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
164
155
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

good rooms with a view of garden and foodball gound..had good time ..service verygood..staff coureousand and i was given rajnikant room..black and white..2 things..loud music in the lobby/and dim lights in the lobby..i though instead of blue and red lamps some old kind of lamps would have been good..reception staff very helpful..on the whole i enjoyed my stay..thanks again to the staff..they make stay pleasant..l

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The uniqueness of this place is its movie theme... each room named with famous movies & than u get glimpse of those movie photos & key persons. some filmy stuff like camera .. trolly... makes hotel looks more vibrant.
Hotel has good collection of photographs of theater personality.
Good Hospitality by staff / neat n clean rooms make trip memorable.

Room Tip: if you love sports than tk room which face towards sports ground. if you want to relax than tk other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We did not actually stay at this hotel, but whilst visiting old munnar called in for a coffee. It was a lovely hotel with very helpful staff so we decided to return for our dinner, which was excellent and we would highly recommend eating there. The menu includes non spicy continental food which is not expensive but beautifully served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had good time here... We got the My Fair lady room... Rooms are clean, Staff courteous and helpful. Well worth it For the money we paid...
Experience to remember:
we ordered Room service and were delighted with keralite veg meal we were delivered... Our Room faced the foot ball ground...we also enjoyed the live local weekend football match with some hot snacks on the nice balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abudhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

During Recent Kesri Travel tour (kerala-Kanyakumari) We (A group of 44 Person with 3 Managers)stayed at this hotel during our Munnar stay for two days 19th February we checked-in were there till next day midnight when we started for the periyaar.
I found this hotel fantastic locationvise,beautiful converted from a film studio. but kept so many things intact and the theme of film shooting is very much visible every where in the hotel, on the one side a very big play ground which makes it airy & giving it scenic beauty, partcularly when you see from playground side.
Rooms are very good sized and clean.
Food is very nice, tasty and lot of good varieties to choose from
Service is fantastic Mr. Manoharan was looking after the guests nicely with the help of his team.
Ambience of the restaurents was fantastic at both places at ground level for breakfast/lunch and at fifth floor for the dinner.
Specially partition at the fith floor is nicely beautified with the theme of children's interest like tom & jerry etc.makes it children friendly.
Because of the strike on 20th Feb the Mangement/Kesari arranged two films to show at 1000 and 1500 hrs, also arraged a guided tour for nature walk (around 7 KM) for the persons among our group who does not want to see the film at evening 1500 hrs.
Thanks every one for nice hospatility.
If Any time I come again to Munnar I will definately stay at SILVER TIPS the PRIDE OF MUNNAR.
If someone find this review helpful kindly put your remark and give useful votes thanks.
Ghanshamdas Ahuja

Room Tip: Good scenic view from ground side and front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent hotel in beautiful location amdist natural surrounding in Munnar.We were lucky to spend 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel was based on movie themes and each room had a seperate theme both inside and outside the rooms. The rooms were fabulous and was very big and sparkling clean. Since we had booked a honeymoon suite, the bed was decorated woth flowers and towels were designed in the form of swans. They also arranged for a nice honeymoon cake for us. The room service was excellent and thoroughly professional. The restaurant was very big and were thrilled with the varities they served us for breakfast. Food was overall excellent. It was the best hotel we stayed in kerela and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Silver Tips Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips Munnar

Address: Old Munnar | Idukki district, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips Munnar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asias first Movie theme resort , with a monumental value of British made film theater in 1936 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Silver Tips Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Tips Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.