We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent getaway with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Tips Munnar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Silver Tips Munnar to your Saves list
The Silver Tips Munnar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Munnar | Idukki district, Munnar 685612, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent getaway with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was a great getaway, a sudden trip to Munnar. we checked in at the 1st good hotel seen since it was late, to our luck it was the silver tips. We got a suit, the " SHOLAY" a great movie theme based one, very well appointed. The staff couretsy of the staff was really applaudable. It was a great feel to walk through the corridors seeing the great movie hits. each room was given a different movie name!. A lovely experience the kids were over whelmed. We had a good a la cart'e dinner in the suite. There was a courteous wake up call and an excellent breakfast with a variety of dishes. The kids really fell for the ambience & the movies set up with the oldest projector a directors pad & all set up right at the entrance. It was a a great photo shoot session we had & later proceeded to Thekkady. A special thanks to the cooperative staff who made us feel at home. We would like to go back for a stay and my mom is all enthralled hearing my kids on their stay.

Room Tip: Sholay, Gajini, are excellent....I like the name s chemmeen & enthiran
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    177
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
198
195
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Location is fantastic.The rooms are excellent,neat,clean and well maintained.The staff are very warm and make you very comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff at the restaurant takes personal care of your choices. Over all a great experience and will go back if a chance is available in my life. Thanks Divya...
I will suggest this hotel for couple because of the location, interior, food and staff hospitality.
A great 4 star hotel to stay.... A best one in Munnar....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a tour. I loved this hotel with a movie theme . each roon themed after a different film. Many of the films were unfamiliar to a western visitor but we stayed in the 'Titanic' room! Fortunately no icebergs. Lovely balcony and large room with excellent bathroom added to the experience of staying in this unusual hotel. It is within easy walking distance or short tuk ride of Munnar centre , and near to tea plantations . The dining experience was however not too good. The dining room was large and noisy and service chaotic, even for India ! However, food was quite good and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The best hotel in Munnar. The location of hotel is very suitable to visit nearest sight seeing location. Staff is good n supportive n professional.rooms are perfect to to relax with natural beauty of nature. I enjoyed my 2 days stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel, but not quite as good as their promotional pictures. The rooms were big, clean, and nice, with a good size bathroom, + TV, The restaurant is also quite good, often with buffet style (for both breakfast + dinner). The variety of foods is large.

Note well: This hotel is right in the middle of town, with all of the noise of a busy Indian village/town. I suggest you ask for a room on the back side looking across green fields and the tea covered mountains. Rooms on the side or front are noisy for sure.

The advertised fitness room is also a little over-promised so do not plan on much there (a few weights and a few old broken machines in total).

Room Tip: Really important to ask for a room at the back, away from the street side or sides. - less noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

i guess its the first property in india to be developed on movie concept. all the rooms have a certain movie as its base. the restaurant is named maya bazar(after a movie).the former pankaj theatre in munnar got converted into this property the best thing that attracted me was the cricket bowling machine.the property is situated in munnar town and is well accessible.the room was pretty and staff was well behaved. i suggest you to go for it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to Munnar for my honeymoon. I stayed at Silver Tips. It really was a great stay. And due to their good service provided we really enjoyed our stay. We hope to come back again. Nevertheless I have also suggested this resort to my friends too. Whenever I goto Munnar I surely am going to stay only at Silver Tips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silver Tips Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips Munnar

Address: Old Munnar | Idukki district, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asias first Movie theme resort , with a monumental value of British made film theater in 1936 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Silver Tips Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Tips Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.