We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Misty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Misty Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pipeline, Pallivasal | Pallivasal P.O., Munnar 685565, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This resort in Munnar is 8km away from the town. Service, management, food....u name it n u get the worst. My entire trip of 7nights and 8 days had just 1 drawback n that is this resort. U order a plate of sandwiches and they take 1.5hrs to deliver it. U complain they give u 10000s of excuses n say v r very gud n v have good business etc etc etc not the least bothered that their guest is not being served properly. everyone from the manager to the staff is terribly ill behaved. The worst part is that....there's no doctor available with them. When v wanted a doc to get my mom's blood pressure checked as she wasn't feeling very well.they said sorry u have to go to the town that is 8km away. Thank God it wasnt a major emergency but in case there's some...God save people. N these people say they r 3STAR????????????? Terrible experience overall. Not at all recommended from my end. My suggestion....pls dont spoil ur mood and ur trip coz of this resort! Dont go by their website n the pics they show...its true to their name "misty"...u will realise the truth only when the mist is cleared..........

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pillai5759, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Madam,I am really sorry to hear about your experience at our resort . We never take any complaint lightly , but your strongly negative feelings vented in the review took me completely by surprise !
I went to the resort last week and personally appraised myself of the situation. And I completely agree that your room service order should have been more promptly executed Both Chef and Manager have told me that they had faced a lot of flak over this , apologized to you and family in person and the situation was resolved with Chef offering to take & execute all orders henceforth in person .

Your review , as have few others have pointed out this service delay and we have added more service staff last week as a corrective measure. A new data retrieval system to record KOT order time vs. delivery is also now in place So now I will know for sure if a sandwich order really does take 1.5 hrs … and woe betide whodunit !!

But with regard to the rest of the review – it has always been a matter of pride to say that everyone who works at Misty is hospitable, responsive and helpful.They would never refuse to help a guest especially with a health problem –isn’t that basic human courtesy ?
As per my investigation the doctor-on-call being on leave, and with your good self a medical student , insisting that madam just needed to check her BP, our manager had guided u to the nearest hospital . I believe you were anyway going to town for dinner in that direction , and proceeded amicably ahead.Never did our management imagine that you were indeed still angry with them .... .
Anyway, I still consider this review as an eye opener – to the fact that we need to train our staff to handle complaints better , and ensure closure .I know that we cant please everyone but rest assured we will definitely try !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    198
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
201
230
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Valley view room is quite good compared to garden view room (i found this info in various goolge searches before booking and hence booked the valley view room only)...location is good and the service is also average here..they decorated my room for honeymoon quite nicely...overall satisfactory and budget resort..

  • Liked — view from the room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pillai5759, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Thank you for your feedback , Sir ! Standard rooms overlooking a rocky landscape is the budget option at our resort .The rooms are as comfortable as our valley view ones, which are pricier since they overlook the valley and lake beyond. Thankfully even if a guest opts only for the standard room, he can still gaze on the same scenic view from our restaurant and other public areas at leisure.Hope you will return soon to enjoy improved services at MISTY MOUNTAIN !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

the hotel has a beautiful view of the valley, though located a little out of the city but then the view and rooms are worth the distance from the city and the price is reasonable for the rooms.

  • Liked — the beautiful view
  • Disliked — about 7 km out of the city
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

It is a good hotel. The location and views are very beautiful. The views from the rooms are awesome if you get a valley view room. The staff is very good and helping. The only problem is with the room service of the restaurant. You will need to wait for an hour after ordering the food. Otherwise it is value for money.

  • Liked — View and Location of the hotel
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pillai5759, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Really appreciate your comments about the view and staff in the resort .We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay , save for tardy room service. We have revised some arrangements over this winter to address this serious issue . Hope it will bring in results soon and we will start getting compliments for our room service ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This sparkling new property is too recent to be on the regular tourist radar so we are thankful to Intersight of Cochin for coaxing us . It was a very good experience considering the hotel is in the throes of mild pubertal problems . There was a large group of school kids during our stay and that definitely flustered the housekeeping and the cooks . The buffet breakfast was adequate , evening dinner was by default - room service - but was excellent in preparation and reasonably priced [ beware - the portions are gigantic ] . Only an incorrigible trekker would hike 16 km to Munnar for dinner . Stick to the hotel but order well in advance . The views are unbeatable and that is an important thing as you might often be stuckup in the hotel due to the frequent rain. It is a pity the rooftop viewing area has been commandeered by carpenters [ another problem that will probably be over soon ] . To promote new custom , the hotel has very attractive packages without the usual hiking up in peak season . So make the best of it while the good times last . There are two elevators , one with a glass wall , a boon for elderly people . There are tea garden walks around the hotel but only on busy roads .so be careful in murky weather . a flashlight and umbrella are absolutely essential .

  • Liked — stunning views
  • Disliked — boxed in location , far from Munnar
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pillai5759, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Dear Dr.

I read your response with mixed feelings..happy that you loved the food, the fabulous view and the hotel per se , but sorry that you had to share your holiday with a student group that was a bit boistrous. I sincerely apologise and have specifically instructed the team therein not to entertain any such groups henceforth . We have offered an holiday ón top of this world', and will do our best to deliver ! Addlitional entertainment facilities and GREs will be in place this season .And a small correction... the resort is only 7 kms from Munnar town , right beside the highway , and easily accessible. In fact our LOCATION is our USP !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Though 7.5 kms from the town overall a good property with spacious and good rooms. We had a valley view room and the sight was beautiful. the buffet breakfast is elaborate and excellent the room service can do wth improvement. Options are limited in room service and if u are reaching bewteen 5:30 to 7:00 room service options of snacks is a drwaback..otherwse on the whole a good experinec

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kochi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Excellant location beside the highway ..overlooking tea gardens & sweeping mountain views..stylish rooms ...but not over the top. Pleasant courteous staff, great buffets with naadan food...Brand new property with a 'heart'..you can see all the staff tryg really hard to please their guests ...small toddler play area , library books on request ...Gym & few more facilities is to be upgraded soon .I travel a lot with family and this is the best place I have ever stayed at in Kerala ! ....Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Resort

Address: Pipeline, Pallivasal | Pallivasal P.O., Munnar 685565, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#12 Family Hotel in Munnar
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your Munnar Holiday the best it can ever be... by staying at Misty Mountain Resort. Enjoy panoramic sweeping views of the mountain ranges and tea gardens from the comfort of your Valley View Room, dine in style and watch the mists roll in from our Galaxy restaurant, take an eleva'tour' in our glass lift going up 5 floors... Live life literally on 'top of the world' at our resort offering 3*facilities all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Misty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Mountain Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.