We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISTY MOUNTAIN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Misty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Misty Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pipeline, Pallivasal | Pallivasal P.O., Munnar 685565, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durgapur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MISTY MOUNTAIN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited Misty Mountain in Dec 2011 as part of our Kerala trip. I would like to pen down the following for the benefit of fellow travellers:-
1. Location location and more location. The location is truly lovely, with the hotel sitting atop a hill overlooking the valley below and the misty hills far away. The only problem that one might face is that because the location is at some distance from the nearest town i.e. Munnar with no visible means of public transportation nearby, you would be likely to face some problems in case you do not have transport of your own. In case you do not want to have hotel food, you can visit the little shack right opposite the hotel on the highway. It sells hot and great omelette and parathas. Or you can walk a km down to the to the bazaar and have food at numerous joints on both sides of the road. Quality: OK.

2. The rooms (Deluxe) are a tad small but definitely clean and very well kept. The mountain/garden view rooms are claustrophobic. It is better to book valley view rooms. The provision of an electric kettle with tea /coffee/milk sachets and sugar cubes was expected but absent.

3. The continental plan breakfast was tasty, hot and with reasonable variety. There were adequate and quick refills and one hotel exec was always in attendance during breakfast times. The only drawback was that what was touted as ‘fruit juice’ was in fact some bottled fruit drink , in all probability ‘Maaza’/ ‘Fruity’ and it was a sugar laden syrupy monstrosity and on one occasion was totally watered down. In absolute contradiction to the quality of the rest of the meal.

4. Room service was lethargic. Request for towels was made but the towel was received almost two hours later.

5. There is a lovely rooftop garden which one must visit. It is not exactly ‘rooftop’, more accurately, it is situated on the hill slope behind the hotel and a bridge connects the roof to the hill slope. One must visit it at sunset and at sunrise for breathtaking views and also for a close inspection of interesting plants like the cardamom.

6. The facilities for restrooms for the chauffeurs who are bringing guests to the hotel are totally inadequate. A dormitory for them with bunk beds/ adequate bedding and adequate toilet/bathing facilities would definitely improve the name of the hotel.

7. In all, a great place to stay while at Munnar. But do take Valley View rooms only.

Room Tip: Do insist on 'Valley View' rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you Sir for your detailed review, even though it is of your stay with us nearly 7 months ago.
Glad you loved our location and the view.

Think you have overlooked the presence of a bus stop bang opposite the resort, probably adjacent to the shack from which you enjoyed food.. Due to this convenience factor, many of our guests utilise public transport for their trips to the city and especially enjoy the view from atop the bus.

Sir, I have noted your comments regarding the juice supplied with the buffet breakfast (whose quality otherwise you have thankfully appreciated!). We purchase frozen guava/passion fruit/pineapple pulp from a reputed farm nearby so rest assured regarding the quality but I have put in a strong word to ensure uniform and good consistency during the mixing henceforth. Apologise profusely for the issue faced – if only ou had pointed out it to our Chef then & there itself…

Also thank you so much for appreciating the hard work of our gardener “thaatha” (grandpa in Tamil).
It is quite a sight for sore eyes – to watch the sprightly sixty plus happily running around the whole day attending to our garden slopes (assisted by younger staff) he is an inspiration to many of us here at Misty .

Sir, Our driver facilities have been upgraded hence and we hope to shift parking to an adjacent plot with accommodation very soon.

Once again, appreciate your taking the time to write and guide future travelers to Misty Mountain.
We look forward to hosting your good self and family soon…!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    230
    94
    28
    14
See reviews for
227
254
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the hotel Misty Mountain, the 2 nights we spent were definitely the highlight of our 10 days trip in Kerala, The Place provided a wonderfully romantic location with privacy, the room it was perfectly sized and beautifully furnished, the staffs are friendly and food was very good. We would definitely come back and recommend it to anyone going to Munnar; Best wises to all and keep going…

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Extremely happy that you were delighted with all that Misty Mountain has to offer.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and best wishes, and we hold you to your promise of returning soon.

We can only be motivated to keep up the good work by such reviews…!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We reached this resort after a tiring drive from kochi airport. However when we reached here, the ambiance and the feel of the resort soothed our senses completely!! They greeted us with a refreshing welcome drink and we went to our room, which had a splendid viev of the valley . The room interiors were very comfortable and vintage and each morning was devine with this view outside. The resort has a few places to stroll around, to keep guests entertained. The breakfast and dinner was always grand and very fulfilling However we found the location of this resort to be a bit too far from main city & attractions like the spice garden, waterfall etc.. but if you are here for about 2 days, it'll keep you fairly entertained.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you Sir for your kind review of Misty Mountain its service, well kept rooms and tasty food.

We have had several guests appreciate our location 8 kms before Munnar town and right beside the highway, and I understand your feeling of relief when you enter the sanctuary of your valley view room after a tiring trip along the winding mountain roads.

The resort is very close to cultural centres and places of interest like Attukad waterfalls, so guests in city hotels travel all the way to enjoy the scenic view of Chenkulam dam and Pallivasal. So distance wise you don’t lose out when it comes to sightseeing and the peace and quiet when compared to city hotels more than makes up for it, doesn’t? 

Do return soon to Misty Mountain for yet another memorable holiday….!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were very eager to go to Munnar and enjoy its scenic view. Misty Mountain stood by our expectations and the Valley view room they provided was simply superb to enjoy the view of the tea gardens.

Pros:
1. Excellent view from the room
2. Excellent service
3. Good food, well maintained restaurant, good interiors, excellent bathrooms, clean and tidy hotel.
4. Good and friendly staff
5. Good value for money
6. Kalari and Kathakali shows in the vicinity.

Cons.
1. No Wi-fi. Paid internet
2. There was one incident which was a bit annoying, the room phone did not work at all during the entire stay even after complaint the issue was not resolved.. But we did not need it much. So, no issues.
3. There is a church next to the hotel, which sometime plays loud prayer songs. Might be annoying at times.

Room Tip: All valley view room are good rooms at economic price. If you want a better room you can go for vall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for letting us know that Misty Mountain lived up to your expectations and more!

We take much effort to ensure our guests have an enriching and memorable holiday with us and we are truly happy that you enjoyed our valley view rooms overlooking mist laden mountain ranges and tea gardens, the food, service and guest amenities.

Sir, sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the unexpected breakdown of the EPABX system due to a thunderstorm during your stay with us. It did take a few days to rectify with personnel coming all the way with replacement parts from Mumbai.

Free WiFi access is available in the lobby and otherwise internet charges are very nominal and even complimentary for minimal usage.
The church is about 1km away towards the valley and the church activities are usually low key…might have been a special occasion for them to be heard here. Sorry for the inconvenience

Do return soon to Misty Mountain with friends & relatives and call us directly for special loyalty privileges..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Made a 2 day visit to munnar and chose to stay at this hotel. I must agree...the location is very good and view from the rooms just lifts your mood every minute. However, we were not satisfied with the kind of service and the quality of food. To start with, we requested a additional dental kit (only one was in the room) for which we were told that it would be charged...for Gods sake does the hotel expect the couple to share the toothbrush..shouldnt that be common sense. The intercom was not working and for two days to ask for room service we had to go down personally to reception. To add more, the flush was not working properly.........cant all these be checked before going handing over the keys. We were told that a massage was part of the package and when we enquired about the same at the reception, they told that they need to check and reconfirm. Food at the hotel's restaraunt was a disaster. Once in the name of Mushroom chilly, they had placed schezwan chiken and they replaced it after i pointed that out....it wasnt a problem for me as i am a non-vegeterian.......not sure if anybody else found that out. They were supposed to arrange for badam milk..but ended up serving plain milk.And finaly at the time of checkout , when we had already paid the complete amount , the person at reception asked if we had made any advance payment .... what sort of booking mechanism does the hotel have. ....how much to complain and for what all.....list just goes on & on

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

I know it’s no excuse, but we faced peak occupancy last couple of weeks and staff were unusually pressurized by the big groups staying back to back.

I confess to ease staff workload we had interns taking up office part time which led to the queries at each service juncture and few unfortunate mix ups. Truly sorry for the inconvenience faced during your stay with us.

Sir, I understand the confusion you would have felt & your apprehensions regarding our service and MIS systems.
Let me assure you Sir, that we keep ourselves up to date with guest preferences and reservation using IDS - one of the best hospitality management softwares.

This review has pointed out the errors of our crisis management technique that allows trainees to wait upon our guests (sans adequate supervision I now realize!)

Have taken special notice of this review and advised Managers to take immediate measures in our SOPs to see it is never repeated.

Please do give us an opportunity soon to redeem ourselves and to prove just why we are rated an “Excellent Resort” by Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had planned a trip for three nights/four days but had to return after just staying one night. It's not the hotel's service that was to blame, but its location off the main road which proves to be a headache if you travel during the holiday season. Endless flow of traffic, garish music being played by tourist/college buses parked close by even in the night and the lack of a peaceful atmosphere makes it a holiday spoiler.

To be fair to the hotel management and staff, they were accommodating enough to cancel our reservation without any fuss. The service rendered by the hotel staff is good and they try to do the best they can.

If you are looking for a peaceful holiday and want to explore true Munnar with its streams and mountains, you are better off looking for a more secluded location. Stay away from the town and the busy ghat roads!

The food was okay but it is safe. The restaurant ambiance can be improved and it does not look as it does in the photos.

The rooms are average. The bathroom is a bit small. The finishing as a whole in terms on construction quality is patchy, but I guess its better than similar hotels there.

There is nothing much to do within the hotel premises. If you want to go out, be prepared to travel along a traffic filled ghat road in the holiday seasons. I got sick of seeing the huge crowds.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms with a view of the mountains and the lake. You have to specifically ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Really sorry that you found peak season and crowds at Munnar exacting.
Though we do put in a kind word regarding tourist behavior near hotel grounds
Our second restaurant galaxy is pictured in our promos and Gaia is undergoing a face lift as rightly suggested.

Please write to me in detail including room no and date of stay to check out why you did not rate our accommodation too high.
Nice to know that most aspects of the hotel like staff attitude & food lived up to your expectations.

I have taken special note of this issue and I am taking it up with the locals.
Being located on a sharp curve on the road, it will be difficult ensure a horn free zone near Misty Mountain.

Area for improvement as recommended by you will be looked into and corrective measures will be taken ASAP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed during 30th and 31st May, 2012 in room no. 403, front facing.

Pros
1) Good view from the room.
2) Overall service is good, except the food quality.

Cons
1) Food quality is poor, the veg-Manchuria which we ordered was overburned. Please improve the food quality.
2) Window glass is broken which is fixed with the plastic tape, it spoils the valley view from the room.
3) No internet connection from the room, even my reliance dongle didn't work because of signal problem. They charge for the internet connection and it only works only from the lobby, these days internet connection has become so cheap, it should be provided for free.
4) From 5th floor there is trekking, but it opens only after 8:00 am, should be opened at 6:30 am.
5) We asked for local sight seeing, they arranged it for 1500/- , for Lunch our driver(Joy) took us to Periyar Hotel at the Top Station which was pathetic, my wife had stomach upset because of the unhygienic food.

Room Tip: Take valley room, front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pillai5759, Owner at Misty Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Sir,
Thank you for your review (including details of stay.)

While we are pleased that you enjoyed the view from the room and room service, we are extremely sorry that you had a bad experience with your food order.
If only you had taken it up with Chef Thomas I am sure he would have made immediate amends. Nothing usually escapes his eagle eye in the kitchen., So I am genuinely surprised at this oversight.

Also apologize for the shoddy repair done to your window.
On checking with housekeeper Prema I realise it was a temporary measure and the room was let out only because we did not wish to turn away guests who had looked in advance. I truly understand your dissatisfaction and hope you will accept our humble apologies.

Trekking will be open from 7 am henceforth – thank you for pointing it out to me !

Let me assume you Sir, that Team Misty is genuinely concerned about your review and try their best to ensure 100% customer satisfaction and to live up to their reputation of being one among the best in Munnar .

Do return to Misty and I assure you of a complete holiday experience which is truly memorable…!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Resort

Address: Pipeline, Pallivasal | Pallivasal P.O., Munnar 685565, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#10 Family Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your Munnar Holiday the best it can ever be... by staying at Misty Mountain Resort. Enjoy panoramic sweeping views of the mountain ranges and tea gardens from the comfort of your Valley View Room, dine in style and watch the mists roll in from our Galaxy restaurant, take an eleva'tour' in our glass lift going up 5 floors... Live life literally on 'top of the world' at our resort offering 3*facilities all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Mountain Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.