We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munnar -Kerala trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Whispering Meadows Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Whispering Meadows Munnar to your Saves list
The Whispering Meadows Munnar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2nd Mile,Pallivasal Post Office, Munnar 685565, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Munnar
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Munnar -Kerala trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

For a package deal the place is ok. The staff and service was average. Rooms are cramped and toilets are not well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    28
    8
    19
See reviews for
74
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

After doing lot of research and reading lot of reviews we decided on Whispering meadows for a break. we were 4, me, my husband and our friend and his wife. the asst manager sales was very courteous and offered us a package where he promised us to be put in super delux rooms which were the best there. The entire amount had to be paid upfront. We transfered all the money. As long as we had not reached the hotel everything sounded very nice and fancy. however the moment we reached there, reality struck. firstly, we were promised super delux rooms. the conditions of the rooms were we were put up was shocking, most of the lights didnt work and even after complaining no one bothered to get it fixed, lots and lots of insects, poor dirty linen and then horrible bathroom's where neither the hot water nor the shower worked. i am amazed if this was super delux which is supposed to be the high end rooms donno how the others looked or if we were cheated. service was horrible, the room service number is invariably out of order, and you have to call them at least twice before your order is delivered. people are not at all courteous. we saw on teh website that they have dvd players available, nowhere is it mentioned that you have to pay, so we asked for the same, but to our shock we were charged Rs 200/- for that. cheating is all i can say. in angst we decided not to use it but yet the hotel folks charged us.
If you are planning a holiday where you want to have a nice time with nice people, clean rooms and stuff... Whispering Meadows is definitely not the the place!!!!!
hope you save some money and not suffer as we did. All the best and happy holidays.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Just as the name suggests... Whispering meadows.. An ideal place to refresh mind and soul.. So calm and relieving place to spend holidays... Its ideal for people looking for a break from busy schedule.. A truly lovely place to be in...!!!

  • Liked — Surroundings
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I booked this resort for three days and it is a beautiful place which away from munnar and it located inbetween the hills.the evening time is so beautiful see the FOG covers the whole place.
Importantly this resort Has a privacy.....

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked this hotel after seeing lot of reviews and i must say it was worth investing the money. Its positive point was excellent decor in the room and lovely view from the balcony. Though the hotel was 9 KM from the city but it was located in a serene surrounding. Food was average so would suggest to eat in town. Also I would like to mention that hotel was at some distance from the city so you must keep a vehicle with you as hotel does not provides any sort of transportation.

  • Liked — Room setup
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

when we have been to munnar last year 2008 we got to stay in this hotel which was booked by our travel agent...

it was awesome....the view from the balcony is very nice.....
its located at some height .u can sea the tea estates from the balcony......
the food in the restaaurant was also good.....there's also free room service.... we use to order breakfast to our rooms and use to do our dinner in the restaurant itself. its so peaceful over there......u can enjoy the nature too

  • Liked — best nature views
  • Disliked — very little space betwn other rooms
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This place is around 9km away from Munnar in the midst of nature. You should have your own vechicle to really enjoy this place. Literally you cannot step out without a vehicle and is difficult to get one on call for reasonable rates.

Room service is very prompt though staff are not professionally trained.

Hot water is available 24hr.

Not for senior citizens as you have to climb up to the rooms at different levels on a hillock kind of thing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whispering Meadows Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whispering Meadows Munnar

Address: 2nd Mile,Pallivasal Post Office, Munnar 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whispering Meadows Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Whispering Meadows Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whispering Meadows Munnar Hotel Munnar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whispering Meadows Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.