We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lions and leopards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary

Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary
Sasan Gir, Dist: Junagadh, Gujarat, India, Junagadh 362135, India
+91 9979856302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Junagadh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Penarth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lions and leopards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

On the first safari 15-18.00 we saw many birds, deer and antelope which the guide was able to name. The next morning 6.30-9.00 we heard a lion roaring close by and after waiting he walked past the Jeeps not more than 3 metres away. Later a leopard walked across the road and we saw another large male lion. I think this is the time to go if you want to see the big cats. The park has a policy of putting foreigners in separate vehicles in order to charge them a lot more than Indians. This could mean one person bearing the whole cost if travelling alone. I found other people to share, but I don't know why the park does not charge per seat as does Ranthambore

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    98
    34
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
183 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Great place to see lions, but book early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Gir Forest is a great place to see lions. There is an ever growing lion population thanks to the conservationists.
There are many hotels, resorts, lodges and safari camps near, actually just outside the sanctuary area. The Lion Safari Camp is very good. Entry into the sanctuary is restricted and regulated. Only 30 jeeps are allowed inside at any given time (twice in the morning and once in the evening). Of these 15 are booked on line and 15 current booking at the counter. It is advisable to book on line in coordination with your resort, hotel or lodge as the line for current booking at Sasan can get long and unruly and if you don't get in, disappointing.
At the office at Sasan, you pick up your entry permit and are allotted a government approved guide. there are 8 preplanned routes through the forest (actually 4 in 2 directions) and the route you follow is allotted with the permit (for cameras above 7.1 megapixels you pay a fee here)
The forest mas many lions (we saw lionesses the first day and a big male lion the next morning). There is also an abundance of spotted deer, birds and other wildlife but the leopard in my 4 safaris over the years has eluded me.
Some of the routes take you past the Kamleshwar Dam and reservoir.
When is the best time to go ? Well winter is the most enjoyable climatically, bur you see more lions in summer. Lions tend to venture out in the night and rest or sleep during the day. In summer it gets very warm and if you wait near one of many natural or man made watering holes or streams, the lions will surely come to quench their thirst.
If you do go in summer, some safari camps have air conditioned luxury tents if you want.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zweibruecken, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“GIR National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Gir national Park is the only national park in India where you can sight lions(in Lion sanctuary) mostly you have everything there that you want, they well timed safari morning and noon, u also have the option to take a bus or jeep to the national where sighting. But prefer jeep u much 4 this but it worth.

Oct 2012

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gir Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited Gir and had a wonderful Safari in the afternoon, a three hours tour on a open Jeep. Nice experience. We had more than 2 hours drive with not much of animals except couple of languors, few peacocks, deer, and about to write off the trip, disappointed.

And then could have a glimpses of a part of lion, far away, and it did not move much for long.

Finally we had a break through......Suddenly we saw couple of jeeps stopped, our Jeep followed them and paused. There a huge lion, in a royal posture sitting on the side of the road watching passers by. We were scared little bit, despite our guide's assurance, and also had forest dept people standing nearby, we could have full view of the lion king, documented them in our cameras.

We had full worth of the Safari and cherish this for very long !!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice safari destination. But you have to work early.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This place is a good weekend holiday destination. But if you are planning to go for a safari then you have to work way before. You'll get to see the tigers mostly in the first morning safari which is from 6:30 to 9:30 and there is a long waiting period during peak seasons. April and May are the best season to see tigers as they come out a lot for water.During off seasons (non holiday months) the waiting is not that long.You can also enjoy the tent type rooms if you love adventure.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Junagadh, Gujarat
Junagadh, Gujarat
 

Been to Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.