We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nice rooms, some not.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn to your Saves list
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   E-212, 31st January Road, Fontainhas | panjim-goa, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Panaji
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Some nice rooms, some not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booking over the Internet can be full of surprises. We booked a room at the Panjim which looked very nice, called a Panjim Pousadda Deluxe. After checking in at the Panjim Inn, which seemed to us to be in the middle of nowhere. After getting our bearings we found it was about twenty minute walk to the main town area.
We were taken to our room in the poussasa complex which is down a side street, away from the main hotel, and shown to a small, hot room on three levels (the room that is). No assistance was given with lugging bags up steep stairs.
I asked management if another room was available and we were given an alternative room in the Panjim Inn complex which was much better, being all on the same level and near the restaurant.
Personally I would advise against booking in the Pousadda complex as it is isolated and we spoke to guests staying there who were bothered by dog fights during the night.
Breakfasts were excellent at Panjim, they have a great selection of foods, including an egg bar, the only thing I could suggest is that they include brewed coffee to replace the instant they currently serve.
The restaurant is good, specials are displayed but ask for prices before ordering, some items are on the expensive side.
We took one of the tours advertised in the hotel brochure - the South Goa tour, and found that it was not as advertised. The tour did not go to the advertised places but mostly to commercial destinations and at the end dropped us of at a roundabout far from the hotel in the middle of busy traffic. Be warned!
Some staff are helpful, in particular two of the wait staff, one from Delhi and one from Assam. Veryfriendly and helpful.
Others we found surly and unhelpful, on one occasion we were given and charged for another guests laundry.
Hot water and a/c at this hotel was good and the bed was comfy.
There is an excellent gallery over the road if you are searching for a piece to take home.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Poussada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiriamKS, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, Panjim Pousada & Panjim Peoples are our three heritage hosteleries in Fontainhas.

The Panjim Pousada , right next to the Panjim Inn, is a 150 years old Goan Hindu home which has been restored and converted into a hotel. Each of the rooms are unique and have a character of their own. We are often told that this is why most guests prefer the Pousada over standard hotels and five star properties. The Pousada is usually the quietest of the three as it is tucked away from the main road .

Our reception always tries to give the guest the room of their choice as booked online or alternatively shows them the various options available in order that they may choose the room that best suits them. Once the guests have made their choice and checked in, their baggage is usually taken to the room for them and they are shown the various facilities therein and how to operate them. We apologize if your check in experience was an aberration from the norm and will reinforce our standard procedure.

The Pousada like the Panjim Inn ,is located in the Asia’s only Latin Quarter Fontainhas, a few minutes away from the central town. There are several modes of transport to access the town. Guests can hire a rickshaw (5 minutes ), a taxi (5 minutes ), or you can go walking (15 minutes ) which gives one a feel of the Latin Quarter and makes for a charming walk.

The Verandah Restaurant at the Panjim Inn serves fresh, authentic Goan, Continental and Indian food. The specials items highlighted on the white board are usually subject to availability, hence the prices vary for the fish items, however the waiters do indicate what the price would be when asked as is usually the case in most restaurants.

The tour details/places to see as mentioned on the Panjim Inn brochures or the Website are suggested activities and not an advertisement. The details of the activity need to be clarified with the service provider directly .The reception staff always informs this to the guests who ask them for assistance in the matter. We shall however put down a note to this effect in the Directory of Services so can guests can ensure that they spend their day just the way they hope to.

Our team has always been appreciated for going the extra mile for our guests…and we do apologize if you’ve found some of our team mates to be less than helpful or pleasant.
The Laundry bill was a clerical error which was rectified and waived off as soon as it was brought to staff notice .Measures have been taken to see that the same is not repeated .

Gallery Gitanjali is in-house to Panjim Inn, Panjim Pousada & Panjim Peoples. Original Work by Local and Overseas Artists Sprawl over the Entire Premises. We are glad that you enjoyed the art and the ambience.

We are happy to hear that the guest enjoyed our breakfast and will incorporate the suggestion of fresh brewed coffee for those who might want it.

We look forward to making your next stay at the Panjim Inn a satisfactory one .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    175
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
55
165
44
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Of all the hotels I stayed in in India, The Panjim Inn is the one I would definitely return to. This is not a mainstream place for those who stay at the Hyatt and the Ramada; this inn has many furnishings that date back 150 years, and have been kept in great condition. When remodeled, it could have been chopped up for better efficiency, but it was modernized without damaging the original flow-through spaces that are a part of its charm. There's an attentive staff, great air conditioning, our room had a posted bed that was really too big for us. The breakfast is better than what we were used to, and the small restaurant in front is adequate for dinner with friends. But the Panjim Inn is also ideally located. I walked in one direction to the cathedral and galleries while the rest of my family walked through the artists market on the way up to the Hanuman temple at the too of the hill- a lot to see. I wish we had spent more time here and less in Calengute, (which had too much traffic for my taste).

Room Tip: I don't know because we asked for rooms across the hall from each other, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSukhija, Owner at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us .It makes us extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our heritage Hotel in Goa and enjoyed its charm and character.Fontainhas is known as the Latin quarter and its vibrant architecture and decayed granduer is reminiscent of the Goa of yesteryears. We loved the fact that you enjoyed exploring it.We look forward to welcoming you back at the Welcomheritage Panjim Inn at Panjim,Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Friendly helpful staff. One of the best hotels in the area though still a bit high in price. We enjoyed our stay there. (Suggestion, ask for a room where the air conditioner is not directly facing the bed if you plan to leave it on at night)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSukhija, Owner at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Sir,

Thank you for staying with us .It makes us extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our heritage Hotel in Goa and enjoyed its charm and character.Our prices are inclusive of a complimentary buffet breakfast and free-Wifi .All rooms are airconditioned,have a mini-fridge,tea-coffeemakers,inroom safe,television and in room dialling .They are also furnished with antique furniture and contemporary art.Considering all the above we believe that they are fair value for money spent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Panjim Inn gives a combo experience - an efficient hotel combined with old-world features - located a stones throw from city-center of this old historic Portugese colony. The rooms are bright, clean, and well-furnished with all that a visitor may need. Some of the famous beaches of Goa are easy to access, in case this is of interest and so are the casinos and boat-rides on the Mandovi. Breakfast is well spread and offers choice of both continental and Indian cuisine. So is the food and snacks, and of course the home-made Feni!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Inn or the Pousada that is away from the main street, to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is excellent. I only stayed one night and I wish it had been two. I was in the Annex about 10-20 metres from the main building. The rooms are scrupulously clean and well furnished. The restaurant is also excellent, worth trying even if you are staying somewhere else. The staff are exceptionally helpful and looked after my bag until I needed it on the day I left.

Located in an interesting part of Panjim, Fontainhas, it is with easy walking distance, especially if you use the footbridge, from the main bus station, Kadamba. From there you can get buses to many places throughout Goa.

The Panjim Inn is not a five star hotel and it does not pretend to be, but it is better and more interesting than many a five star hotel that I have stayed in. Consequently the prices are not five star either, representing extremely good value. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiriamKS, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for making our day and hitting the nail on the head . We are indeed not a Five star hotel nor do we pretend to be one . We try and provide our guests with an authentic heritage experience and a comfortable stay coupled with traditional Goan hospitality .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here in January while completing in the Rickshaw Run. The Panjim Inn kindly offered us 2 complimentary nights staff here for myself and my 2 teammates. The room was adorable and furnished with character pieces. The entrance to where our room was also served as an art gallery with a beautiful courtyard. It was very clean with comfortable beds. Staff were super friendly. We loved it here!! Great walking location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

In the heart of the Fontainhas area of Panjim, this pretty hotel has a beautiful interior of period Portuguese/Goan furniture that looks like it has been collected lovingly by the owners. I spent a four day period here in January 2013 and it was basically spell-bound by the place the whole time. It's right in the middle of Fontainhas - a very pretty old quarter that's also very close to the centre of Panjim and very easy to get transport from; there's some local restaurants and a great local bar nearby (Down the Road) that has a club downstairs and a veranda bar overlooking the river on the top floor.

The hotel has real soul and manages to be both traditional and highly professional. The food is great and good value and there is an upstairs balcony restaurant to relax in for a drink and a bite to eat. They also made sure I got a good breakfast (I routinely slept in).. My room was cool and very well kept: still period but beautifully designed for a traditional Goan feel that still catered for modern tastes.The English-speaking hotel staff were really efficient and helpful, particularly Amit who was a star with finding transport and helping with my onward journey. I had a really brilliant stay here and felt like I had engaged with the 'real' Goa without compromising on luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Address: E-212, 31st January Road, Fontainhas | panjim-goa, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panaji
#4 Family Hotel in Panaji
#5 Business Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa's first Heritage hotel in a 130 year old family home owned and managed by the same family for over 5 generations.Located In Asia's only Latin quarter of Fontainhas with its windling alleys and quain byelanes.Each room is full of character with period furniture including four poster beds,carved almirahs and contemporary art.To experience the charm and nostalgia of a era long gone in a gracious Heritage mansion, come stay with us at the Panjim Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panjim Hotel Panaji
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn Goa/Panaji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.