We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Portuguese area of Panaji” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Phoenix Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Phoenix Inn to your Saves list
Royal Phoenix Inn
93, Nanu Tarkar Pednekar Road | Mala, Fontainhas, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Panaji
Pushkar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Portuguese area of Panaji”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located in the old Portuguese part of Panjim and owned by Ernesto who previously had Ernesto's bistro down the road, this is a pleasant hotel with a nice veranda, tasteful decor, large and stylish bathroom, with a great power shower. Although I only stayed for one night I enjoyed the stay and the friendly atmosphere of the place

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms with balcony are more 'private'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hazelton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is located in a heritage building in the old part of town. My room was spacious with stain glass windows and a large bathroom with good shower and there is an awesome veranda on the upper floor to hang out on. WiFi is good.
My host Vishwanayh was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

welll,i stayed at this hotel for 2 nyts in march 1 st week 2013 ,location is great for those who want to roam around panaji,old goa,mandovi river,cruise,casino and market and also fountainhas ,its located just next to the lovely MARUTI temple...the person at the reception was very mannered and helfpul,although i dont remember his name,he arranged for an activa( 2 wheeler),but breakfast was just not good,only BREAD AND JAM WITH TEA/COFFEE..
its great if u want a peaceful,feel at home kinda stay ,not a luxury stay,HOtel has only 5 rooms
PROS:
1)GREAT LOCATION
2)NICE STAFF
3)PEACEFUL
4)CLEAN
5)BIGGGGG BATHROOM

CONS:
1)AVERAGE BREAKFAST OF BREAD AND TEA/COFFEE
2)NO RESTAURANT/PUB/BAR/SWIMMING POOL

Room Tip: suite rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me, my friend and my son were at this hotel for 3 nights. I saw pictures before the arrival but I got a pleasant surprise because it was even more beautiful. The building is a great portuguese house and next tto it you can see the beautiful Maruti Temple. We stayed in the room in front of reception. The room is big and the toilet even bigger, kind of morocan style . The shower was great and the bed sheets god quality ones and really soft. The breakfast was ok, lots of toasts with butter and jam and tea or coffee. the balcony were breakfast is served its beautiful with nice views of the quiet area that surrond the place. The center town is within walking distance through really nice portuguese streets. The staff was great and they were really nice with my son and with us. Ernesto, the owner, gave us lots of info about what to see in Panjim also.

I recomend this place 100%. !

Room Tip: the rooms at the top may be nicer because you have the balcony outside your room but the ones dowsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratnagiri, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A very peaceful hotel to stay in Panaji, Good Staff at Hotel Royal Phoenix Inn, Overall it was a great experience and was fully satisfied with the ambiance, cleanliness, staff and facilities.
Would always like to visit back to this place. A typical Portuguese style hotel with large rooms, wooden flooring and colorful windows. The hotel is situated in Panaji city. No Restaurant but can get good tea and breakfast. Flag's Inn is a got hotel in a walking distance of 5 minutes

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite are very good to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are looking for a room tucked away in a quiet neighbourhood with authentic Portuguese styled bungalow right in the middle of Panaji, Royal Phoenix would be a good value for money compared to other budget hotels.


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Generally I have been quite forgiving of places in my trip round India so far, but nowhere has been actually bad. This place was. I prepaid on Pagoda in full so had confirmation, and had been in email correspondence with the owner Ernesto about my late arrival and the checkout time, which I had found in the website to be 11am. My cabbie and I could not find the hotel because, even after looming the next ,morning, it does not appear to have a sign/name on the building, but mainly because the '24 hour reception' was no such thing and the number on my vopkong slop and website was just not answered. After asking a few locals at 1am on the streets, we found the place, which had a handwritten sign on the door with the unanswered number and another number, which the cabbie called and eventually it was answered. A man who had clearly been sleeping answered the door and proceeded to treat me as if I was inconveniencing him by coming to redeem a service I had paid for and had full confirmation of. I told him i had warned of my late arrival and showed him my confirmation slip. He turned to the calendar and said there were no expected bookings, despite being shown my slip. After some huffings and puffings he asked for 2 photocopies of my passport and visa and said I was told on 'the website' I was meant to bring these. This is a lie because I since checked and there is no such mention. Then he said checkout was 10am, which was not true as I had previously seen on the website it was 11am.

anyway, I finally was shown my room which was nondescript, with aircon . the next morning he knocked on my door and came with an apology of sorts, possibly to prevent me writing this review, I don't know. He said he had spoken to his boss, presumably Ernesto, and he had taken the booking, or something, and that the cabbie last night had spoken a different dialect and had been disrespectful, or something. He apologised for the misunderstanding, and asked for my passport so he could copy it himself (no mention of the demand of the photocopies from the night before) and said I could check out later, 11am or something, which was big of him....

Then he brought breakfast which was crap- toast, with butter and cheap jam, and hot water for tea. At least I got 2 teabags I suppose...

Then I went to reception to ask about leaving my bag for the day and he was looking at Agoda reviews of the hotel. He will see this review very shortly there. He was sweetness and light, saying to call if needed a taxi or anything, and helpfully gave me his name so I could shame him in person on here so there is no doubt whom it was who needs to be sacked. It was Vishwanath. I left my bag there for the day and he did not charge me, though when i came back he couldn't/wouldn't make me masala tea, a d even after the appalling service of the previous night would not switch the wireless on for me unless I paid. So I got a can from elsewhere in case he got a kickback from one he called, and got out of there.

You will see from other reviews that I am not a harsh reviewer, but I cannot stand this sort of attitude.don't go there unless there is a change of staff before you do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Phoenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phoenix Inn

Address: 93, Nanu Tarkar Pednekar Road | Mala, Fontainhas, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Royal Phoenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Phoenix Inn Goa/Panaji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Phoenix Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.