We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soft Rock Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Soft Rock Cafe
Dona Paula, Panaji, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 109 restaurants in Panaji
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

not much to look at, but good value for money. Around 800 - 900 for meal and drinks. Very friendly staff

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    9
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Panaji, Goa, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth every rupee, delectable food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is 6kms away from my house and they give free home delivery. The pricing is average but the food is copious, a bowl of noodles ordered for me alone would suffice for lunch and dinner as well, thats a lot. Nice tasty food. Once you order they feed it in the database and next time all they need is your name and what you want. At the restaurant its a decent place to eat and is just off the main road near Cidade de Goa. Thumbs up!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ate here four times during our stay at Cidade de Goa. Food is lovely with a good choice of Indian and Chinese dishes. Price is about a quarter of the Cidade. Service is quick and friendly and for the price we did not have a better meal during our stay in Goa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Consistently average, but the people are very nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have been going to this hotel since 2001 and have been having consistently average service and quality of food. But it's the place (open air, besides a quiet road leading to innards of Dona Paula, next to a 5 star hotel and 2 minutes away from my office) and it's people (Naresh and his gang) who are nice and polite and will adjust to your unusual demands and creative specialized cooking from time to time.

I was away from Goa for almost 8 years and am back since past 6 months and I have been a regular at this place since October last year. I like the schezwan chicken lollipop and the rice dishes they make. I also like the simplicity of making the dal and chapati and very often only end up eating that. I have heard the Chinese is good too, but never ventured into ordering that for myself.

Next to the hotel is a department store called Shop on Top and is run by an Goan lady who has stayed in western countries for a long time and also overlooks the management of Soft Rock. She is extremely sharp and well-conversed well-travelled person and adds an interesting dimension to the conversations.

Do give it a try. A nice chilled beer in the open with some chinese food is quite therapeutic. For me.
:-)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great food with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We visited at least 4 times while staying at the Cidade de Goa resort as it is directly opposite the entrance,next to Alice's 'Shop at the Top'.Prices are very good here as is the food. [Large Kingfisher beer is 75 rupees and gin & tonic is 80] No taxes or service charges added at the end.The prawn bryiani is one of the best I've tasted and cheap at 130 rupees.Sometimes service is a bit inconsistent if it is busy but usually it is very prompt.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soft Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Soft Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soft Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.