We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quarterdeck

Quarterdeck
Mandovi Riviera | Opposite The Mandovi, Panaji 403001, India
8322432904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 109 restaurants in Panaji
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Seafood, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Part of the Mandovi Hotel
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great location - Open air restaurant located on Mandovi river in Panaji. Tasty food. Live music. Rates not exhorbitant. Overall great experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    6
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A delightful spot for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We visited twice during the day and twice in the evening for drinks. It is an ideal spot ,overlooking the Mandovi river,to enjoy a cold beer after the hustle and bustle of Panaji town. [90 rupees for a large beer excluding tax].It is evening better in the evening when it is all lit up with twinkling lights and the casino boats are illuminated too.It's a great place to watch life on the river.[gin & tonic 80 rupees]
We didn't have food this year but we have done in the past and it was fine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Decent food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have been to the Quarterdeck frequently over the last six years and will no doubt eat there again this year. NJust look at the amount of local people who dine there and you will see that the food must be OK if locals eat there.
We have never had a "bad meal" there, the waiters normally recognise us and yeh the place could do with a lick of paint but the food is really good and the price terrific. If we had a main course, a dall tadka, a couple of nan bread, two large Kingfisher and a couple of cokes at home it would cost around £22.00 in a restaurant, at the Quarterdeck it would be a third of that maybe cheaper.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaisalmer, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Expensive and not clean!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have been there and it looks very fancy!!!
It look amazing, how they dress up the tables and the smoking dressed up servitors.
And yes, the view is nice.
But, you pay twice the price of many restaurants, and we took vegetables sandwiches, wich were tiny and very not so much filled up, compared to what we are used to see since we arrived, and we have both been sick, abdominal pain and diarrhea ...

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
425 helpful votes 425 helpful votes
“Excellent Sea Food in a Typical Lake side restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was searching for a restaurant on the way from Miramer to Calangute when we found the Board of this restaurant on the riverside. We were so hungry that we could eat anything. But never thought that this would be so good. The entry is through a well maintained garden/lawn on one side an a small children's park on the other side. Cool breeze welcomed us to the restaurant. Cleanliness was a bit low. But the place was less crowded even though all tables were occupied. It's spacious, actually very spacious. Seafood was amazing with sparkling port wine and Prawns Masala Fry as starters. We recommend Rawa Squid fry, Prawns Masala and Prawns Peri Peri which's a Goan delicacy. And the Prawns Fried Rice was Yummy. All dishes came with boiled vegetables with a touch of butter in it which gave an Italian smell to it. We recommend this to all travelers visiting Panaji. It's a bit costly though.... Drinks are better avoided as it's 4 times less costly outside.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarterdeck also viewed

 

Been to Quarterdeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarterdeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.