We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience, not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio De Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palacio De Goa to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio De Goa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr Gama Pinto Road | Panjim, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Panaji
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average experience, not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overall an average experience. Best part is that it is centrally located. Breakfast was good. Rooms were just ok. Bathroom exhaust window was dirty and balconies were completely messed up with pigeons. Staff courtesy was just ok, They did not agree for a request for late checkout. Check-in/Check-out time is too early (10:00AM). Lobby area is done well, but rooms were just ok, as it is 25 yrs old hotel. They did not seem to bother about any feedback from the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, General Manager at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor and highlighting the areas were we need to work harder,such comments has always helped us to improve and motivate us to perform better.
We have taken into consideration each issues that you have noted in an attempt to correct and improve our guest services and its policies.
We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property.

Thank you once again

Best Regards

Shriram Dhargalkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
29
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was the perfect choice we made. Centrally located, clean, prompt service and a friendly smile from the staff. Overall the stay was value for money. Will surely come back and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, General Manager at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to write a such a impressive review,
Our team is overwhelmed for strongly recommending our hotel specially the staff service with a 5 star rating.
Your appreciation of all the efforts that we put in to make our guest happy goes a long way to motivate us to work harder.
We are delighted to welcome you back again and to serve you the BEST as always.


Best Regards
Shriram Dhargalkar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one during our weekend trip to Panjim. I was a little concerned when I booked due to the price of the hotel, however such concerns were put to rest when we arrived. The hotel has a nice lobby/reception area and is located in a good area of Punjim (10-15 minutes walk from the centre). We stayed in a 5 person room, which was spacious and clean. It had a separate shower room & toilet, which was useful when you had 5 people staying in one room. The next morning we were provided with an enjoyable traditional Indian breakfast, which is included in the room price. The only negative aspect of this hotel is that wi-fi is not provided in the rooms. However, it is provided for free in the hotel lobby and there is a supplied computer if you don't have an internet enabled phone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, Director of Sales at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your 4 star Review !! I am Delighted to know that our hotel was up to your expectation. We have taken a note about your feedback on WiFi in rooms. We will work towards providing this service in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking time to write a review about our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Our team will be delighted to read your comment.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards
Sarfraz Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in this place for 3 days with 4 other family members. Hotel location is close to miramar beach though beach is not visiable.
Hotel was clean, Service was good. Breakfast was included in package.

We spent most of the time travelling and used hotel for night to sleep. So it was good for us.
Rooms were clean and moderately large.
Hot water was always available.
Breakfast got variety.
This is recommended if you are not willing to stay at beach hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, Director of Sales at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Palacio De Goa during your recent family trip !! It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments from our guests about our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have recommend our hotel on TripAdvisor for other travelers.

Thank you once again and hope to see you back at Hotel Palacio De Goa.

Regards,
Sarfraz Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

<< Sleep on road but never go to this hotel >> v travel to Goa on 11th August 2013. We booked this hotel for our group of 11 people. All package booked by us directly.
Receptionist Mr. Amit & hotel GM have no seance of Hospitality.They behave like low category people. In Night only two person was there on the name of services one is Hotel Guard and second is Receptionist. You have to go to market for every thing not even they will provide you water after 7 PM. AC's was also out of order, but they charged for AC's. Ants and Rats was there in Rooms. Next Day when we talked about all things to the manager he replied we can't do anything in it. Next day when we all went to casino Royal our some female friends return hotel at 2:30 in the night , but they forget to take room key from me.When they request to the manager to open the rooms, manager took bribe of Rs.500 for opening the room locks.
very terrible.. rubbish in all the manner of Services. Very poor quality of food. buffet, BF n Dinner menu was horrible n low quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, Director of Sales at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings !!
Let me first apologize to you for wrong communication by my team member. As a management policy we charge INR 500.00 from guests in-case loss of room key .

Our entire team is deeply disheartened to know that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay at our hotel. We put in continuous efforts to provide the best guest service experience, its a surprise to us to read so many bad comments from one guest about our hotel property.

Thank you once again for your feedback, corrective measures have been taken by our team. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Regards,
Sarfraz Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We couldn't find anywhere to stay in Panjim so ended up here, it was 1,700 rupees for non aircon and wasn't that great! The bathroom and light switches were dirty. There is a room service facility but we didn't use it. There was no wifi the whole time we were there, apparently due to weather!! The location was good and they can arrange taxis for you but the staff didn't acknowledge me at all (I'm female) and even directed answers to questions i'd asked to my boyfriend. I understand it's a different culture but in a hotel environment, reception staff should have the decency not to ignore me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, Director of Sales at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You very much for your review !! Lemme apologize for non availability of WiFi during your stay with us. This was due to bad weather that our state experienced during those days. Our internet lines were down hence no WiFi was available for hotel guest.

Your feedback on cleanness has been communicated to our housekeeping team and corrective measure have been taken.

Yours sincerely,
Sarfraz Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed along with my cousins in this property from 21st March 2013 to 23rd march 2013,i had booked a 6 bedroom family room and i must say i was extremely satisfied with the Hotel .The best thing about the hotel is that it's extremely clean & hygienic for a budget hotel.Our room was spacious with a simple yet pleasing decor.Bathroom was clean & well kept.people were amazing & very hospitable,be it at the reception,housekeeping or Restaurant.Amenities in our room were replaced regularly without flaw.Breakfast services were certainly up to the mark.The only bone of contention has been the room service.it took almost close to 45 minutes for Boiled water to be brought to the room on each day.Hence that was the only loophole in an otherwise perfect stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciodegoa, Director of Sales at Hotel Palacio De Goa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review on your stay with us !! I am delighted to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Will pass your comments to our housekeeping team who will be delighted with your feedback. I am sorry about the delay in service of hot drinking water. Corrective measures have been taken from our side so that such things don't happen again.

Thank you once again and hope to see you back at Hotel Palacio De Goa.

Best Regards,
Sarfraz Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio De Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio De Goa

Address: Dr Gama Pinto Road | Panjim, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio De Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio De Goa is nested in the heart of Panjim city, with its Portuguese exteriors and contemporary modern interiors. It offer's you all the facilities that go into making your holiday a truly unforgettable experience.The in-house multi-cuisine restaurant "SPICES" serves a variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes. Our well equipped conference hall and banquet services caters to your every need. Other hotel services includes In-room dinning, laundry service, safe deposit locker, local sight seeing tours, boat cruise, travel assistance, Rent a bike-Car, etcSo, come stay at Hotel Palacio De Goa for a truly wonderful experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palacio De Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palacio De Goa Panaji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio De Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.