We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio De Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palacio De Goa to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio De Goa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr Gama Pinto Road | Panjim, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Panaji
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I keep visiting Goa for my official work. I stayed here couple of times. Rooms are clean and neat. But complimentary breakfast is Ok. If you want taxi service or two wheelers for rental, hotel will arrange you for that. You have to negotiate for the taxi price(usually they will charge 8 hrs, 80 km-1300 for ac cars).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
29
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

one of the best places in goa... i suggest my friends.. lovely location , cant really forget the location, close to the cruise and its a peaceful place. i had a lot of fun there and soo convenient to travel anywhere but u need to take care of transport than that all is fab :)))) love palacio de goa.. m coming back :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

well this property is centrally located in panjim.......and just a 10 min walk from miramir beach....located ina very peaceful area.....rooms are pretty good and provide decent food....and very pocket friendly tariff.......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is in heart of Panjim, close to Taj Vivanta. Rooms are little small and Washrooms are too small. Bikes and cars are available on rent infront of the hotel. Food is ok and Morning breakfast too is not that good. Overall if you really don't get booking in any average hotels in Goa. This can be a last choice.
Although I have said many bad things about the hotel. I am still going to stay there again as its very close to my office. Travelling is too expensive in Goa.

Room Tip: The Hotel is currently under construction. Don't book rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor. Its too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

To concur with some of the other reviewers - yes, it is definitely not a Goan experience, but to experience Goa, you should stay near one of the beaches and definitely if you are out seeking luxury and pleasure, there are exotic locales with a fair enough supply of boutique hotels and start properties that one can check out.

But when you opt for the city and that too for a decent budget accommodation, this place would excel on many counts. The location is just off the main streets, a stones throw away from the high street, a couple of minutes away on bike from the Dona Paula bay and neighbour to some good eating joints / restaurants.

The rooms that we were given were decent, clean, well-ventilated with attached balconies. The balcony views were definitely not great, but not ugly either. The rooms were to the rear of the hotel and at night, you can definitely enjoy the lights of the many cruise ships that sail down the Mandovi. The rooms offer enough storage with decent wardrobes. The bed linen is changed regularly as are the bath towels. A decent amount of basic toiletry is supplied. Also, the complementary breakfast, though not great, is not bad and not unhealthy too.

The concierege service, the bell boys and the room atendants were decent and prompt enough.

If you have travelled on your own vehicle, do be prepared to park on the road.

They do have a restaurant offering elaborate meals - again definitely not Goan, but good enough if you are damn tired at the end of the day and just want to hit the bed after some quick bites.

My experience, in summary, was good enough and would definitely consider staying there again, if am looking out for budget options.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms to the rear of the hotel and the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is my 3rd visit to Goa and first stay in Palacio de Goa. Review and summary below.
1. Forgetfulness -
I stayed there in the month of May 2012 with my family for 3 days. I did book the hotel well before 2 weeks of my travel. Had a pathetic experience while booking. They always forget to reply to your query mail(s). You have to call again to remind them to reply to your mail. Even after sending advance amount for booking the rooms there was no reply to the mail for confirmation or acknowledgement of receipt. Had to call and remind them again.
2. Reception -
They have check-in time as 11:00 A.M. As we were travelling from Pune through bus which always reaches early in the morning, we had specially requested them to book us room only if they can arrange an early check-in. They told yes. Thanks to the bus which got quite late, we reached there around 10:30 A.M. Upon inquiring, they told us to wait for sometime when they get our room ready. We had to wait around 45 - 50 minutes and it needed three times scolding to finally get the room at 11:15 A.M. They cited the reason as the guest who was in the room had not left it yet. But came to know that they had again forgot to get our room ready although the room was vacant.
3. Food -
Breakfast is ok-ok.
The in-house restaurant named "SPICE" is ok-ok again. You will get more north-indian food items than actual Goan dishes. But their advertisement is "Truly Goan Experience". I w ould suggest to eat outside.
4. Room -
Rooms were quiet good as per the cost.
Lot of parking problems if you have a 4-wheeler.
Room service is costlier than the quality of the service.
Summary -
Pros:
1. Low cost.
2.Centrally located in Panjim.
3. Good room quality for money.
Cons:
1. Forgetfullness.
2. Bad reception.
3. Non-friendly attitude.
4. Not so good food.
5. Parking problem.

Room Tip: Only take sange marmar rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Thought the staff was polite and helpful. The hotel forgot to extend our stay by another day despite telling them at the time of check-in and reminding them twice after. It took a good deal of fighting and scolding to get this done even after they had promised to extend our accomodation for another day.

The breakfast in the morning was ok ok and were repeated every alternate day.

The house restraunt has some decent dishes but do not expect any thing authentically goan to be served. The chef does a better job with butter chicken than vindaloo.

Overall a decent place to stay when you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before you take them. The top floor is newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio De Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio De Goa

Address: Dr Gama Pinto Road | Panjim, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio De Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio De Goa is nested in the heart of Panjim city, with its Portuguese exteriors and contemporary modern interiors. It offer's you all the facilities that go into making your holiday a truly unforgettable experience.The in-house multi-cuisine restaurant "SPICES" serves a variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes. Our well equipped conference hall and banquet services caters to your every need. Other hotel services includes In-room dinning, laundry service, safe deposit locker, local sight seeing tours, boat cruise, travel assistance, Rent a bike-Car, etcSo, come stay at Hotel Palacio De Goa for a truly wonderful experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palacio De Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palacio De Goa Panaji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio De Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.