We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Goan experience, but a good, budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio De Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Palacio De Goa to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio De Goa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr Gama Pinto Road | Panjim, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Panaji
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a Goan experience, but a good, budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

To concur with some of the other reviewers - yes, it is definitely not a Goan experience, but to experience Goa, you should stay near one of the beaches and definitely if you are out seeking luxury and pleasure, there are exotic locales with a fair enough supply of boutique hotels and start properties that one can check out.

But when you opt for the city and that too for a decent budget accommodation, this place would excel on many counts. The location is just off the main streets, a stones throw away from the high street, a couple of minutes away on bike from the Dona Paula bay and neighbour to some good eating joints / restaurants.

The rooms that we were given were decent, clean, well-ventilated with attached balconies. The balcony views were definitely not great, but not ugly either. The rooms were to the rear of the hotel and at night, you can definitely enjoy the lights of the many cruise ships that sail down the Mandovi. The rooms offer enough storage with decent wardrobes. The bed linen is changed regularly as are the bath towels. A decent amount of basic toiletry is supplied. Also, the complementary breakfast, though not great, is not bad and not unhealthy too.

The concierege service, the bell boys and the room atendants were decent and prompt enough.

If you have travelled on your own vehicle, do be prepared to park on the road.

They do have a restaurant offering elaborate meals - again definitely not Goan, but good enough if you are damn tired at the end of the day and just want to hit the bed after some quick bites.

My experience, in summary, was good enough and would definitely consider staying there again, if am looking out for budget options.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms to the rear of the hotel and the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
29
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is my 3rd visit to Goa and first stay in Palacio de Goa. Review and summary below.
1. Forgetfulness -
I stayed there in the month of May 2012 with my family for 3 days. I did book the hotel well before 2 weeks of my travel. Had a pathetic experience while booking. They always forget to reply to your query mail(s). You have to call again to remind them to reply to your mail. Even after sending advance amount for booking the rooms there was no reply to the mail for confirmation or acknowledgement of receipt. Had to call and remind them again.
2. Reception -
They have check-in time as 11:00 A.M. As we were travelling from Pune through bus which always reaches early in the morning, we had specially requested them to book us room only if they can arrange an early check-in. They told yes. Thanks to the bus which got quite late, we reached there around 10:30 A.M. Upon inquiring, they told us to wait for sometime when they get our room ready. We had to wait around 45 - 50 minutes and it needed three times scolding to finally get the room at 11:15 A.M. They cited the reason as the guest who was in the room had not left it yet. But came to know that they had again forgot to get our room ready although the room was vacant.
3. Food -
Breakfast is ok-ok.
The in-house restaurant named "SPICE" is ok-ok again. You will get more north-indian food items than actual Goan dishes. But their advertisement is "Truly Goan Experience". I w ould suggest to eat outside.
4. Room -
Rooms were quiet good as per the cost.
Lot of parking problems if you have a 4-wheeler.
Room service is costlier than the quality of the service.
Summary -
Pros:
1. Low cost.
2.Centrally located in Panjim.
3. Good room quality for money.
Cons:
1. Forgetfullness.
2. Bad reception.
3. Non-friendly attitude.
4. Not so good food.
5. Parking problem.

Room Tip: Only take sange marmar rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Thought the staff was polite and helpful. The hotel forgot to extend our stay by another day despite telling them at the time of check-in and reminding them twice after. It took a good deal of fighting and scolding to get this done even after they had promised to extend our accomodation for another day.

The breakfast in the morning was ok ok and were repeated every alternate day.

The house restraunt has some decent dishes but do not expect any thing authentically goan to be served. The chef does a better job with butter chicken than vindaloo.

Overall a decent place to stay when you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before you take them. The top floor is newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUNE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Hi,
This is my First review for Palacio De Goa.
Was travellingwith Spouse,Stayed in Sangemarmar room on 5th floor
Location -
1. Best part of the hotel it is centrally located in Panjim.
2. 2-3 mins access by Bike to Church of our lady
3. 5 mins access to Panjim ferry Centre and Patto Bridge
4. 20-25 Mins Bike ride to almost all beaches.
5. 2 days i went to North GOA beaches
6. 1 Day to South Goa
5. Every day we use to leave by 9 return around 5.30, freshen Up and take a
ride to Panjim ferry centre.
6. Shops and food Joints close a bit early in Panjim, around 9 p.m almost no crowds on streets
7. All AC Volvol pick up and drop points are near by Panjims,Patto Bridge which is 10 -15 mins distance.

Stayed in January 2012 for 5 days and 6 N
1. room was Good, being aware it was a Budgetted hotel- but it meet the expectations.
2. it was cleaned - during the day when we were Out - no had no issues
3. Safety and Security wise the Place is Good.
2. Food - Lunch and Dinner is not good, so would suggest to Eat Outside
3. Drinks can be brought in on request.
4. Breakfast is realllllyyyy goood.Although very little varity
good for non vegiess.
5. Honeymooners ! Water container in the room isn't big so u can ask for a couple of them
If not to be disturbed.
5. Had Hired a Bike on Rent for 5 days which can be booked from the reception.
6. People around in Hotel are not that proffesional but if u speak in Marathi they do
help a lot.
7. Overall it was a good experience
8. Hotel rating would be 6.5/ 10

Room Tip: Take Front Facing Rooms - Sangemarmar is Decent for Couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is no doubt found very good and the staff is really very co-operative. The quality of the food needs to improve, dal makhni doesn't mean yellow dal. we booked the hotel on 15.04.2012 to 18.04.12 having room nos. 204 & 205. we tested the food once only due to its poor quality but the quality of the breakfast was superb..........The hotel Management need to improve the taxi service, specially the stupid person whose santro car we had hired on 17 & a8-04.12. The complaint was lodged at reception against him.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

we group of people went to this hotel... it is good budget hotel.. near to market and casinos..
maintenance is good...very near to bus stand.... little far from beaches..... overall it is good experience...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Hotel is really cool...clean rooms and bathrooms...staff is very friendly...taxi and scooter services are easily available,...overall an excellent place to stay at while in Goa...
Also a plus point it is very close to the beautiful Miramar Beach and Panji city/Cruise area..

:))

Room Tip: AC rooms are better, coz it gets really hot in Goa in d noon..Sange Marmar AC room is the best optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio De Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio De Goa

Address: Dr Gama Pinto Road | Panjim, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio De Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio De Goa is nested in the heart of Panjim city, with its Portuguese exteriors and contemporary modern interiors. It offer's you all the facilities that go into making your holiday a truly unforgettable experience.The in-house multi-cuisine restaurant "SPICES" serves a variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes. Our well equipped conference hall and banquet services caters to your every need. Other hotel services includes In-room dinning, laundry service, safe deposit locker, local sight seeing tours, boat cruise, travel assistance, Rent a bike-Car, etcSo, come stay at Hotel Palacio De Goa for a truly wonderful experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palacio De Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palacio De Goa Panaji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio De Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.