We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good option for central Goa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Panaji to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Panaji
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really good option for central Goa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

While it is not located on a beach, they are not far away by taxi. The service in this hotel is excellent. There is a small but good rooftop pool. The main buffet restaurant is ok. The Asian restaurant is very good indeed. This is much more favourably priced than other hotels of this standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    204
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
144
135
54
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks on business..from the first day I arrived I was made welcome...despite the fact that my company forgot to confirm the booking.

The rooms are spotless and comfortable..but where the hotel excels is in the level of individual service and politeness of EVERY member of staff.

The food in the buffet for both breakfast and dinner deserves a special mention as it was never less than excellent...to maintain this level of standard over the 3 weeks of my stay is a credit to the Head Chef and his staff...WELL DONE!

However my highest praise goes to the staff in the rooftop pool...those guys take politeness,courtesy and service to a different level.

The hotel of course suffers slightly from it's location....it is a city centre hotel,,,but sitting at the pool in the evening with a cold beer watching the sun go down ........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group booked by our office for a workshop here in the middle of April 2013. Some of the reviews are negative-- and surprising, I clearly disagree with the negative comments about service standards.

This is my first stay at any Taj property.

Rather, service standards are what made my experience stand out. I can personally name some of the staff who rendered prompt and cheerful service: Mr Anna, Mahesh, Nived Mandrekar, the front desk, housekeeping and so forth. All provided very cheerful and genuinely personalized service.

The spread of food left nothing to be desired - whether breakfast, lunch or dinner. Absolutely wide range of food.

THe only down-side to the stay in the hotel was that probably because of the closed-system airconditioning, I felt a little suffocated. I did try to see if the windows could be opened but that wasn't possible so probably it's a personal perception.

The location of the hotel is really good - we explored the covered Municipal market close by.

Room Tip: Perhaps see if you can get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shahjahanpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

it was my first stay at taj but i have stayed at many top end hotels, still this is one hotel that knows exactly how to spoil your habits and make ou not want to leave. starting from the breakfast which is very delicious and they serve it with so much love and care that you feel at home. it is a paradise for indians cause they have a wide variety of indian meals which are delicious. secondly the swimming pool, i went in the morning and i saw pigeons there, firstly i was surprised but then ireally liked it, they offered complimentary water. the hotel staff is very courtious and they treat you with immense care. in my suggestion everyone should visit taj if in goa.......... have a nice stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel upteen number of times, last being in 2011 July. This was one of my favorite hotels in Goa, but alas this March the experience was very saddening.

Nothing has changed, other than the service. I could till 2011 vouch and swear by the service standards of this hotel, but no more. Probably because we were part of a group booking and groups by the hotel's unspoken policy has to be treated differently.

The banquet food was very low in quality and taste. The restaurant service very bad. The front desk was charming as ever.

The rooms are awesome, location fantastic however quality of food has gone down, costs up, service down and the attitude of the banquet staff was abhorring.

Probably avoid banquets and group check-in at this hotel, and maybe the quality of service would move upwards but for a brand like Vivanta, that should not be the case, one does expect that.

Else you will not find any issue with this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but ask for rooms on higher floors and facing the main entrance as that has an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

It has a good reception area with very helpful staff. The rooms are good. One thing lacking in the rooms is the view. There is no good view due to the location of the hotel. It is located in the city. The chef make some excellent Indian sweets.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had been to this hotel from 9th MArch till 12th March in 2013.
Was on an absolute leisure trip after long and wanted to stay in panajim due to proximity to casinos chose this hotel. Selected a Deluxe allure suite. Was astonished to see the room at check in. Was absoutely awesome. Felt like a perfect way to spend my holiday. The rooms was fantastic with everything in the right place. Dining tabe was good so was the living room. Was a pleasure to watch few movies in DVD player (DVD's selected from the hotels list). As soon as our DVD arrived me and my friends were left to amazement by the service at the TAJ. We got complimentary 7up and popcorns to go with the movie. This was the service I was looking for and for thrilled at their courtesy. All though many people say it as a business hotel but i would say it as a perfect holiday hotel with good staff.
We used to come back from the casinos at around 3am and were wished by the Valet guys good morning with a smiling attitude.
The breakfast in the morning was not to be missed at all. It was delicious with a superb menu. Loved having it. Infact we made it a point to wake up for the breakfast everyday even after returning early morning from the casino. Breakfast could be said as a good alternative and way to skip your afternoon lunch. Absolutely loved the cold coffee in the morning. Was so delicious that i used to have almost 2 glasses of them.
The only thing I missed was the river view from the hotel, as the mangroves have taken over the view and there is now no more view from the hotel. Yet i and my friends have decided to be back at this hotel every year for our goa holidays.
Thanking the staff for making this hotel so memorable.
BEST HOTEL IN GOA SO FAR VISITED.
Looking forward to coming back soon.
Thanks Taj for the wonderful holidays.

Room Tip: If you have a budget go for the Suites. Its not very costly. Infact its the perfect value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Panaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Address: Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Panaji
#1 Business Hotel in Panaji
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panaji
#2 Family Hotel in Panaji
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Panaji 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Panaji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Hotel Panaji
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Panaji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.