We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Save Saved
You added Vivanta by Taj - Panaji to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Panaji
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gold Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A 5 star that has earned it's pips. Luxury and pampering at a price that you can afford, even if just for a couple of nights to remind you why people enjoy to be wealthy! Nothing is of trouble to the staff, if it is ... they are good actors. Sumptuous breakfast, roomy bathroom, comfy bed, slippers ( handy for the pool if you haven't sorted your beach shoes), plentiful toiletries, bottles of water freely available. Then you go to the roof .... to a beautiful pool with private beds to enjoy soaking up the sun, or shade, in pure comfort. Towels, fresh fruit, and more water provided, complementary, on arrival, and later in the day.

We were lucky to enjoy a drink in the hotel bar, Tease, where we were treated to couture cocktails, and lots of useful info for the continuance of our holiday which we hadn't booked anything for so we could go on recommendations.

Maybe we don't have a lot of experience of 5 star, but as descriptions of hotels go, this far succeeds our expectations. We suggest at least a two night stay to take full advantage of the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    166
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
114
51
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We were thoroughly impressed by the service at this hotel. Stayed five nights in January and all staff across the board were extremely attentive. The life guard/pool boy in particular was professional; he went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. The rooms are lovely and very clean. The food, particularly Goan specialities, are well worth trying. We were even complimented with free wine on our final night. I would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in Panjim. We found nearby Baga and Anjuna beaches to be way over-rated and extremely touristy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had stayed here for 3 days and was on business conference. The Hotel is good but i would suggest if you are for fun in Goa, the other properties of TAJ like the VIllage would be best of the choice. This is in heart of the City. Market, Cruises are near by. I didnt like the food here at all.
By Taj's standard the food could have been better.

Room Tip: Try book for Village by Taj' approximately same cost but a better place then this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glion, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After staying in its sister hotel the Taj Palace in New Delhi we were pleasantly surprised by Vivanta in Panaji. We were supposed to stay at the Marriott, however they were overbooked - 'shame on them'.

This last minute rebooking to the Vivanta we certainly did not regret.

Well organised check-in with the minutest attention to detail. A very spacious room with good 'Feng Shui'. Great choice in cuisine, the bar appeared a bit empty/boring. The hotel is well situated for walking trips into town, and close to the 'Forrest' park.

Simple, modern, great service. One downside was found by its Spa/Wellness offer. This was below-par, and felt inexperienced and over-priced. You will get far better treatment 'on the beach'.

Room Tip: West-side 3rd floor. Go for the midsized rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This was my 1st Taj experience. I must say that it was bang on!!! Service was very good.. Food quality was even better... Chef Sahil was a wonderful person as well as very good Chef... Room quality is average nothing extra ordinary.. View from my room was zero but except this point it was a very good experience.. Dont forget to try Angara Lobster!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at vivanta Taj Panaji for 2 nights from 24th jan 2013 , starting from my check in ( with my family ) to the check out every thing was as smooth as it can be . It's situated right in middle of panaji city and you can get every thing you need nearby within minutes of walking , i chose this hotel becoz i wanted a calm stay as compared to the hotels on baga or calangute ( only 15-20 min drive from the hotel) . Mr. Cleto Pereira of hotel was really nice , good turn down service , gr8 food at lattitude , nice pool . Didn't used the spa so can't comment on it .

Room Tip: Choose room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently had the honour of being gifted 2 nights at the Vivanta by Taj on 5 January 2013 from our family for our wedding night and reception. After what was a huge emotional day, we arrived to our surprise to the most beautiful room imaginable and I was so happy I burst into tears. The staff were so friendly and wonderful I would go back in a heartbeat. The poolside service was also amazing and what a beautiful setting. The pure indulgence of this experience absolutely topped off our wedding. The quality of food in room service was also outstanding. Thank you to all the staff for making our time so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Panaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Address: Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panaji
#2 Spa Hotel in Panaji
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panaji
#2 Business Hotel in Panaji
#3 Family Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Panaji 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Panaji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Hotel Panaji
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Panaji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.