We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay at this guest house with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Afonso Guest House to your Saves list
Afonso Guest House
Near Saint Sebastian Chapel, Panaji 403001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Panaji
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silchar, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice stay at this guest house with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in Afonso guest house for two days in October 2013 with my family.The rooms are very very clean and the owner also very helpful and roof top small canteen very attractive.The check out time is 9 A.M. After that extra charges levied, which should be considered by the owner up to some hours complementary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    82
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
94
56
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in Afonso guest house for a whole week, and loved every bit of it. Mrs Afonso and her son, Clifton are the sweetest and really guided me to move around Goa. The rooms and bathrooms are super neat and clean, staff very efficient, and over all, a pleasant stay. A very tastefully done up guest house and wonderful location. I would definitely go there again. Highly recommended. Cheers!! Apps

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Panaji! We stayed here for 3 nights and it was just great! The room was very, very clean (we are used to Swiss standard... :-)), the beds very comfortable, the staff super friendly and helpful. They also gave us good advice how to explore the area by local bus. Mrs. Afonso has been running this place for over 20 years now and her heart is still in it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For 1600/night you will find very few other places as good as afonso guest house. It is conveniently located 6 mins by walk from the KTC bus stop in panjim where most major private bus operators stop. Do not be fooled by overly eager auto/taxi who demand upwards of Rs. 60 for the short trip.

The guesthouse is typical of a Portuguese house, painted yellow ochre with nice wrought iron grills. The room is pretty, clean and comfortable. The first floor rooms are not noisy. They have wifi and a decent selection of novels for those who intend to spend their time reading during the stay. Laundry is available at a small price and is prompt. Only breakfast is available at the guest house. Janette who has been running the place since 85' and her son Clifton are perfect hosts.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wow! What cleanliness! Mrs Afonso and her son surely knows how to run a guest house.

Located in Fontainhas area of Panaji. the guest house must be having around 12 rooms spread in 3 floors, all with attached bathrooms. We had taken 2 rooms for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay there. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The charges and house rules were reasonable. Bed linens were spotless and rooms cleaned everyday. They serve only breakfast. You would anyways be out for the whole day, so lunch and dinner would expectedly be done outside. Parking outside the guest house in the open is safe as we had parked our car too for 4 days.

Interacted with the owner on a number of occasions (frenly banter) and she suggested us places to visit we hadnt visited earlier, like the Reis Magos fort, which was a revelation!

My only suggestion would be to stretch the check-out time from 9AM to 11 AM. Tourists prefer to sleep late and 9AM seems too early morning to me (lol).

Would definitely stay again whenever we need to stay in Panaji.

Thanks for your hospitality madam!

Room Tip: Any room on any floor. No lifts though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stay on Panaji for 4 days. The room is clean, wifi free everywhere, the personnel is kind. There's a nice terrace where is possible make breakfast, not including in the room's price, that is a little expansive for backpacker, but the service is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.
The breakfast and a/c are not included but that is not a problema since the rooms have fans (and mosquito nets) and we could have breakfast somewhere else..
Very good for it´s range. Not a luxury but perfectly fine; i have actually visited anothe guest house which for the same price was much worse... Great location, i would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel, Panaji 403001, India
Location: India > Goa > Panaji
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panaji
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panaji
#3 Family Hotel in Panaji
#3 Business Hotel in Panaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over two decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveller might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Afonso Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panaji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afonso Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.