We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare bones but lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments
Save
You added Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 West End B&B and Inns
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Bare bones but lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Interesting to read the debate about this place. I think it's all a matter of expectations and what you're there for. While initially surprised / disappointed, I grew to really like the place. Here's a breakdown.

The good:
Really unique style building
Good price
Friendly service
Cool location, you're up in the trees
Good internet

The bad:
Super-no frills, barely even enough light to read and non-private bathrooms
Much of the furniture is worn
Easy to hear noises from other rooms
Furniture isn't the newest or cleanest
10 minute walk over a rough road from town (though beautiful)

So, it's a great place to relax in the trees and a super-rustic location within easy striking distance of town. However, those expecting even the most remote luxury / pampering will be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    21
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
49
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Roatan Bed and Breakfast..
spent 5 days, room was basic, but clean and roomy.
Breakfast was delicious.
Barbara, the owner, was very helpful and hospitable.
Would stay here again, if I were to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Roatan Bed & Breakfast and it was paradise on earth. We were there for 2 months so we rent an apartment. It was lovely, charming, quiet and relaxing. Barbara, the owner, is the most adorable lady ever. She was really helpfull, friendly and funny. She made my stay very nice. Also, I think the Roatan Bed & Breakfast is the best place in West End considering quality & price and it's so close to all attractions of West End, just a few minutes walk. I will never forget this trip and all the nice people I met there. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here in February and everything was fantastic. We stayed in the B&B portion, so I can only speak to that. The owner Barbara is a wonderful woman. She is so friendly and helpful that we never wanted to leave! We stayed in two different rooms over the week we were there and each was equally nice. The bathrooms are not attached to the rooms, but they are assigned to you and are private, and you get fresh towels everyday!! The breakfast each morning was very tasty and healthy. Eggs, fruit, bacon/sausage, toast, coffee and juice! The "common area" deck is extremely relaxing and I spent a lot of time in the hammock with Barbara's cat Pepperoni (he is a great cat!!). The B&B is about a 6 minute walk to the main road and water taxi dock. It is close enough that everything feels convenient, but far enough from the bars of the West End that you can sleep quietly at night. Without hesitation we would go back and stay here again. The value is outstanding for what you get, and Barbara truly makes you feel at home! I'll post some pictures eventually. Thank you so much Barbara!! - Brock and Kacey

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at Roatan Bed and Breakfast for 2 weeks and I wish I stayed longer. The place is rustic but very clean, cozy and welcoming. The room are very nice and quiet.
Barbara, the owner is really friendly, funny and helpfull. She makes you feel like home.
The B&B is locacated far enough from the beach so that you hear the forest noises at night and feel the breeze, but close enough to be a small walk from West End’s bars, restaurants and beaches. Its also close to West bay by water taxi.
The rooms stay cool even without the ac and you sleep peacefully.
The breakfasts are very good.
There is a beautifful view on roof top.
Its a great place to chill and relaxe.

Room Tip: Do not wear heels there is a 10 minutes hike in the jungle and it gets muddy when raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

the apartments at barbara's b&b are simple and quaint and tucked just far enough away from the noise and tourists of west bay. the showers are HOT, the rooms stay cool even without the ac (it was actually cool enough with the ceiling fans that we needed a blanket!), and it is clean. the bed was not super comfortable and the breakfast left a little to be desired but overall we had a really great stay. barbara was helpful and kind and we would recommend this place to any traveler needing their own little space with a kitchen and beautiful hammocks to hang out in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Roatan B&B is a lovely and affordable "home away from home". The owner, Barbara, really went out of her way to help me in any way she could. I had computer issues and I really really needed one- so she let me use hers for a few hours one day- I thought that was very sweet and kind! It was quiet, relaxing and only slightly "off the beaten path" with a short 7 minute walk to the beach. I really enjoyed my stay despite the rain! I would highly recommend staying here to anyone~! I also have to say that she has an awesome cat named "pepperoni" or "peppe" for short- a very affectionate lap cat!...he helped me miss my cats a little less while I was away.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the best location on the island, West End, just a short walk to downtown bars, restaurants, dive shops and the beaches. Standing on a hill top with a panoramic deck for sunbathing and relaxing, surrounded by an amazing ocean view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments Hotel West End
Roatan Bed And Breakfast Apartments
Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.