We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice as nice the second time around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagrape Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seagrape Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in West End
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Twice as nice the second time around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My second visit to Seagrape was a solo trip. My husband was unable to break away from work, so I decided to go on my own. It was like coming back to family! Met at the airport by Jessica, who took the time to stop at a grocery store on the way back to the resort to pick up a few supplies. (fridges in every room btw, so yogurt, cheese, drinks, etc are not a problem). Arriving at the resort, Cleve and Mariella handed out hugs, had my reservation and room ready I was able to go out on the 2:30 dive that afternoon!
My previous stay had been in one of the bungalos overlooking the sea. This time I was in a room which had a TV! I think I had it on once :) and there seemed to be a variety of channels, local and US. The room had air conditioning but with the fan and open window at night, I didn't really use it much. The staff keeps the place spotless and shining. Plus they always bring a fresh pitcher of water to your room everyday.
This place is a wonderful, safe, convenient, laid back property that offers a great value. BEST OF ALL IS THE WARM WELCOME AND CARE FROM EVERYONE THAT WORKS HERE.

Room Tip: I love facing the water even in the rooms as you get such a nice breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you Marilyn your comment is greatly appreciate!
Best wishes from all Seagrape family and crew members! we
look forward to seeing you again and again!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    53
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
103
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

First of all we'd like to say it feels like coming home when we stay here. Jessica & Cleve, thank you for being so accommodating to our needs and making us feel so welcome at your resort. Your 3 boys Joshua, Jeremiah & Joseph are pretty much the cutest, too!
Seagrape was the first place we ever stayed at when we first visited the Island 9 years ago and continues to be a favourite!
It's close (5 minute stroll) to everything you need (beaches, restaurants, groceries) and if you want to venture out, be sure to rent a scooter. Cleve even has extra cool helmets to wear!!
If you want a relaxing, quiet place to stay with a spectacular view you won't be disappointed. The dock or the pool areas are perfect for sunset watching.
Of course the hammocks are the best place to relax in the morning after you grab a coffee at the office!
We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Office assistant at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Your comment are greatly appreciated! Cleve, myself and kids look forward to
seeing you again!

best wishes!

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First of all, this place treats you like family. The diving here is incredible and the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. If you have been diving all of your life, they can accommodate that just as easily as they can a brand new diver. They do tend to take "short cuts" according to PADI regulations, but overall I felt very safe diving with them.

The bungalows on the water are phenomenal. You have a porch and hammock with a view of the ocean! Most other places in West End will charge you daily for the use of their air conditioning, but Seagrape has a nice unit right above the bed. I've lived in the Caribbean before, so I was very nervous about bugs (which are EVERYWHERE), but there were hardly any in the bungalows :).

Overall, I would absolutely go back and recommend this place to friends and family. It's affordable and in a terrific location. It's a 5 minute walk from the "strip" of things, but I loved being a little removed from all of the music and bar scene at night. It felt like an oasis that was a stones throw away from the heart of West End.

For those going to West End, support the locals! Lots of shops and restaurants are actually owned by foreigners and are driving the prices up in the community. All of the street vendors have food that is soooo much better than the $10/$15/$20 entrees at the restaurants. And you get your food immediately instead of waiting for an hour!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you Tiffany for your comments!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

THis place is perfect for those of you who want laid back casual living. It is clean and comfortable and not fancy, and frankly BARGIN priced. We stayed in one of the bungalows and absolutely loved it, it was charming. Decent bed, a little soft but not bad. The room was clean and offered both the options of a ceiling fan or AC. Unlike many other places on the island, Seagrape has a generator that they use when the electricity is down, they don't limit hours and they run it when it is needed. The bathroom has a large vanity, tile floor and a shower. I'll be honest, our shower was kind of "iffy" in that the hot water took a LONG time to come in (as in we turned on the hot while we used the sink and waited) and the shower was not forceful.. Buy, hey, it wasn't a deal breaker for us and we sort of laughed and said "island living". The pool is wonderful and since Seagrape has a rough coral water front, the pool was nice and relaxing. A large gazebo offered shade along with our own front porch area. The bungalows had a hammock and a lounge chair along with a sitting chair and a small table. Nice spot to relax and read. We had a large mini fridge and it was easy to stock with beer and beverages. Seagrape provides a large pitcher of filtered water each morning and you can get more in the office lobby. They also provide strong coffee. There isn't a restaurant at Seagrape but a short 5 minute walk into town offers you everything from nice eating places, roasted chicken stands and even several street venders. We ate street tacos a couple of nights and they were fabulous. Not having a dining option on site is no big deal. We also took advantage of airport pick up and drop off. $20 each way for the 2 of us seemed very reasonable and we got to chat with Cleve, the dive-master. Seagrape has a sea ladder off a long pier out front. We snorkeled almost every day right in front and saw lots of fish and coral. It's not crowded and not beat up like off Half Moon Bay. Nothing against them, but they cater to cruise ship daytrippers and HMB is trashed. Seagrape is MUCH better for snorkeling. We loved it and plan on returning soon.

Room Tip: Bungalows 3-4 and 5 have nicer views. 1 and 2 are blocked by the elevated pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve on our hot water issue!!
All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Honduras, and Seagrape was a quick two-night stay on our way to meet up with some friends. We were so impressed with everything and immediately wished that we had also booked there on our second stop in Roatan! Jessica was awesome, picked us up at the airport and toured us around the island, even stopping at a grocery store so we could stock up our mini fridge in the room. Mariela at the front was also very helpful, and SO QUICK to return emails and get us organized before we even got there. We had an ocean view bungalow and it was beautiful; the accommodations were fairly basic but very clean and nothing beats that view. We did three dives with Amber and Cleve, they were both awesome and Cleve's enthusiasm would make even the dullest dive a riot (not that there was anything dull about the dives we did!). The equipment was kept up, and they catered a lot to where the divers wanted to go so that was very nice. Dive briefs could have been a little more in depth before hand, but all in all we felt very comfortable and liked the freedom they allowed us. The location in West End is nice as well, everything is within walking distance but just far away enough to be quiet and make you feel secluded as well. Overall this was a great resort, the staff were all super friendly and made you feel instantly at home. We will be back!

Room Tip: Nothing beats the ocean view bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed in a bungalow for 7 nights with a dive package. Dive OP was very good, no complaints. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Resort is very close to town and beaches but isolated enough for quiet & peace. Best part about Seagrape is the staff, they will treat you like family...yes all of them will treat you like family because it's one big family that runs the resort, they are all super helpful and nice! And you can feel good that you are staying in a resort owed and run by natives of Roatan/Honduras. Take the Island tour from Cleve and if your lucky enough you will get him as your dive master too. One tiny negative is that the rooms don't have coffee pots or tea kettles, I drink coffee, and my husband drinks tea and is a serious ritual in the morning. The office provides coffee when it opens at 7am but only provides Styrofoam cups and a microwave to heat water up in if you want tea. Not ideal. We rented a coffee pot from Seagrape at $2 a day and purchased mugs, tea bags and coffee in town, problem solved. Bottom line, we really enjoyed our week at Seagrape and will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!! we do look forward to having you at Seagrape again!!

best wishes!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was my 1st time visiting the island of Roatan. I had a wonderful time. 1st and foremost make sure your passport does not expire within 6 months of your travel date. You will not be allowed into the country. There are no exceptions. I saw a gentleman get escorted back on a plane because his passport was set to expire two months from his travel date. There is also a $40 tax to leave the country.

The hotel is family owned and operated. They treat you like family. The hotel rooms are cleaned however dated. The rooms have a/c and hot water. Its takes a little while for the water to get hot. I was in room 19E. There was a king size bed and a single bed. The rooms in the main building are larger than the bungalows. There are no safes in the room. However there is a safe you can use in the main lobby. They have a chlorine pool which is 5ft deep. Its a nice size pool. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk into town. However its another 5 minute walk to the center of town where all of the bars and disco is located. It is a very safe walk. The disco closed at 3am and I had no problems walking back to the hotel. The dive shop is excellent. I did a discovery dive since it was my 1st time diving. The dive shop really took the time to make sure I was okay and comfortable.

You can take a water taxi to West Bay. The water taxi is $9.00 I highly recommend it. I have no complaints about this hotel. If you don't mind a little walk to the center of town than Seagrape Plantation will be perfect for you.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are larger than the bungalows. The rooms in main building also come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Your comment is greatly appreciated by all Seagrape family, we look forward
to seeing you again!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagrape Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.