We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco LOVE IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocolobo to your Saves list
Cocolobo
Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast, Low Rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in West End
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coco LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Reading all the reviews here, they completely cover all the wonderful things about Cocolobo. Great location? check Easy access to West End? Check .Good rooms? Check Service and staff? Check, and so the list goes on ;-))

This was the second time we've been to Cocolobo - and we've stayed at other places - but this was easily the best by miles for the sheer beauty and calm of the surroundings, the awesome sunsets with gin-and-tonic, and the general happy buzz about the place.

Last time we were here we had our little girl, and this time we were here we had a new addition in the form or our little boy, so being somewhere we felt comfortable as a family was paramount. Roatan doesn't necessarily put itself out there as a family destination, but we quite liked that about it - it means you can do your thing, and everyone is happy to help.

That goes without saying for Cocolobo, the staff in the form of the endearing and charming managers Rory and Claire, plus Heidi the cook, Jose the nightwatchman, and Oliviia the cleaner and kitchen help were excellent and always helpful to us as a family. We felt very looked after and happy and you can't ask better than that really for a holiday. In fact it was a bit like visiting another family much of the time!

It also goes without saying that I would heartily recommend Cocolobo. Part of me doesn't want the secret to get out, but looking at all the other reviews it's probably too late for that - so I'll throw my hat into the ring with this one. Get yourself to Cocolobo - you will not regret!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    40
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
237
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I have just returned from a great stay at Cocolobo, hosted by the wonderful Claire and Rory. The hotel is in a perfect location. Quiet enough to chill, read and sleep well but around the corner from the main strip at West End - so easy access to food, shops,banks etc. The view from all the large and comfortable rooms is stunning. Each room has a wall of glass doors which overlook the ocean and balconies with hammocks if you really want to relax and day dream.

They provide a great healthy breakfast with a different hot plate every morning (not so healthy but rather yummy)!

Claire and Rory are always around for advice, chats and a drink but also know when to leave you alone to relax and do your thing.

This place seems to attract some great guests too and we really enjoyed hanging out with some of them.

From here you can do some amazing snorkelling, hire a sailing boat, dive, eat really well at the local restaurants, dip into the pool whilst overlooking the ocean and generally escape the hectic pace of normal city life!

Thanks CocoLobo for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We've navigated a sailboat into every island between St. John and Trinidad, and we love the Caribbean. Thanks largely to Cocolobo, we can say that Roatan has now risen to the top of our list. We chose Cocolobo because it is new and because of the reviews here that cite a short walk to - and more importantly, from - town. And because of its exposure to the northeast trade winds. We read on Tripadvisor that the electrical power on the island is now "more reliable". Uh, oh... If it gets hot or noisy outside, we need our A/C.

We never turned the air conditioning on. We're pretty sure the electricity went out a time or two. And the cistern went flat once (Kinja need de water, de H2O), but Rory had the backup water truck there before noon. The water normally comes from the community supply and the roofs, like most island places. There's filtered water in the lobby.

Claire and Rory are as great as everybody here says. The sundowner and breakfast gatherings are a kick. We "old people" met a couple almost our age who have circumnavigated their sailboat twice. Ya think there were some sea stories told?

As we walked around the island, we congratulated ourselves repeatedly on our choice of hotels. We could probably stay comfortably on 'most any hotel on Roatan. Including the old and funky ones without view. But why? You can stay at Cocolobo, with its glass front and great ventilation, perched right on and looking down on the iron shore.

btw, for those of you who know how to safely enter and exit into surge from rocks, when the swell is low, you can enter from the concrete walk next door and swim around to Half Moon Bay, exiting at the Half Moon Bay swim dock. (Be a customer, buy a beer - they're nice people) And when the swell is really low you can climb back out where you jumped in. You'll see dive moorings less than 100 yards offshore just to the left and right, with dive boats coming and going all day.

And the vers 1.0 minisub is scuttled in Half Moon Bay in the grassbeds in about 12 feet of water, 100 yards in front of the Half Moon Bay bar. Claire can tell you how to find it if you're having difficulty. Watch for traffic.

Did I mention? Rum is $2.60/liter in the "duty free store" across from Reef Gliders. Tonic is 60 cents/can and ice is $1.00 for a big bag at Cococnut Tree. Limes are 20 cents apiece off the truck. Our happy hour bar bill with Rory was $30 after a week. We're talking paradise.

Don't blow this one - go to Roatan, stay at Cocolobo.

Dan and Patt

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Falls NH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed a week and loved every minute and aspect of the stay. The owners are friendly, helpful, warm and know a lot about the island. The lodge is a two minute walk from the busy West End and has none of the night noise or problems of a more central location. The rooms are clean and elegant. The staff is friendly. Security is visible but not intrusive. The Friday night dinner was superb and we got to know the other guests (who were all lovely) at breakfast and coctail hour which are both included in the price. We felt like we had a home away from home and will indeed go back. We highly recommend this place to anyone considering traveling to Roatan.

David and Crystell

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

This place is wonderful as long as you keep in mind your in Honduras where everything works about 75% of the time. The vista is breathtaking and romantic. Imagine having an ocean view, the ocean twenty yards from your room. You have the two sliding glass doors open, the ocean wind blowing into your room. The curtains sway in the wind while the moon light gives them a faint glow. All the while the waves from a gentel ocean crash on the rocks as you lay there with...... It's kind of like that. Plus, every morning you wake up with a warm breakfast out on the patio of the cabana overlooking the infinity pool onto the ocean. The small "town" of West End is a safe five minute walk threw the beautiful flora of Honduras. If you are looking for another "Americanized" tourist resort this is not for you. If your looking for a wonderful special spot that is secluded, honest and romantic this place is for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We could not have been happier with our stay at Cocolobo. It is low key and quiet yet only a ten minute walk from all of the action in the west end. Our room was large and the architecture of the hotel meshed well with the environment. We did not want a large scale development and Cocolobo is a small bed and breakfast whose hosts gave us much attention and great advice about the island. The breakfasts were superb and we were always able to grab and beer later in the day if we wanted. The pool is small and maybe better suited for children, but a bay (part of the protected marine park) which is fantastic for snorkeling, is right next door.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgllgk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We recently returned home after a week stay at Cocolobo. This is by far the nicest property in West End. It was a short walk down a beautiful jungle path in to town. The walk takes you past other homes and properties, so we never felt unsafe. Rory and Claire are exceptional hosts and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. They set up sailing and car rental delivered right to the hotel. The rooms are large with amazing views! We even snorkled right in front of the hotel. Breakfast each morning was great and was included in the rate, which was very reasonable. My only minor gripe would be the housekeeping. Not much was done other than making the bed each day. For what we paid and the service from our hosts, we were more than happy wiith our stay and would highly recommend staying at Cocolobo to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rb73, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
Hello!

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love getting feedback from guests so we can keep improving things here. Your points on housekeeping have been duly noted and we are redoubling our efforts on this front!

All best and hope to see you here again

Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is a new and - we think - most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.