We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cocolobo to your Saves list
Cocolobo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$95 Includes Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in West End
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just returned from a week at Cocolobo. If you are looking for an off the beaten path hotel, this is easily the best one in West End. It is close enough to town to walk everywhere, but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. My husband and I don't dive, so I was a little concerned if we'd have enough to do for the week. It was no problem to stay active with other things thanks to the managers, Bonnie and Ron. They create such a welcoming environment and know people all over the island so they can easily connect you with the best massages, snorkeling trips, island tours and more. If you are going to Roatan and want to stay in West End, choose this resort! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I suggest a second story room, but all are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    45
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
35
263
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location, laid-back atmosphere, stunning views, clean and spacious rooms and a small, but really nice infinity pool. The warm breakfast is excellent, even if smallish on some days. The managers, Bonnie & Ron, are both very nice and friendly hosts. Can't really fault the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

West End does not have any real luxury accommodations and is generally more affordable than West Bay Beach. Activity in West End is centered along the main waterfront road where you will find dive shops, bars, restaurants and a few shops. It is a good place to stay if you are a diver.

Cocolobo is one of the nicer places to stay in West End and is located about a 5 minute walk from the main road. We stayed at Cocolobo for 9 nights in late January 2013. Our spacious ocean front room had wooden floors and was on the lower level with a deck and hammock outside. There were 2 double beds with mosquito nets, small table and chairs, extra charge for A/C, older television, IPod dock, in-room safe, small fridge and bathroom with a large tiled shower. Breakfast was included and was served in the lodge a few feet away. The lodge has communal seating area, wifi, small pool, loungers and an "honesty bar" which hosts happy hour around 5:00 for very good prices. The hotel is well cared for, clean and a comfortable retreat in West End. The pathway to the main road has enough lights on it to walk after dark, but a small flashlight is advisable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows on both sides so there is good air circulation. Lower rooms can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just visited Cocolobo for the seventh time. And I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Roatan. There were no rooms available our first night so Bonnie found us another place down the road. It was fine but we immediately changed our clothes and ran to Cocolobo. We stayed all day and only went back to the other hotel just to sleep. I was tempted to sleep on the couch in the great room just so I wouldn't have to leave. Cocolobo is just so beautiful and peaceful. Most of the other guests are friendly and it's nice getting to meet people from other places over a cold beer. Ron and Bon are like family.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I will start off by saying that I am not a professional travel writer, and I had a difficult time editing this review. I can say that I find this place simply amazing. If you are the type of traveler that enjoys the mega-resort lifestyle then Cocolobo is probably not for you. This resort is a quiet, comfortable and intimate resort located right on the shore in West Bay Roatan. It is far enough off the main road to feel secluded, yet close enough to be convenient. It is a short walk to the beach and restaurants without any traffic outside the resort.

This was my second trip to Cocolobo and my third trip to Roatan. I can honestly say I will not stay anywhere else on the island. It had been 3 years since my last visit and I was pleasantly surprised to see that the level of service at the resort had not changed. The great hospitality begins with a welcome drink from Ron, helpful advice for your stay, and recommendations on places to eat and things to see. That level of service continues through the duration of the stay. Ron and Bonnie are always available to help with even the most minor of issues, and are often there to just chat. Ron's happy hour bar tending gave me a chance to (unexpectedly) meet up with some old friends from my last visit, and to make some new ones. What you won't find at Cocolobo is a pretentious ' you are in my lounge chair' atmosphere... What you will find is a very warm, welcoming, family like atmosphere where you feel free to to do as much or as little as you like. Thank you Ron and Bonnie for another great experience. I look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minesing, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the first time we entered Cocolobo and Ron and Bonnie offered us a complimentary drink, we felt incredibly welcomed and at peace. These two individuals have a fantastic sense of humour and a willingness to make every moment of your stay memorable.

The staff were all very friendly and willing to answer all inquiries to make our stay more enjoyable. They knew the island inside out, and suggested the best places ie; restaurants, beaches, and tours. At this point, we would just like to say we miss the Rotisserie Chicken for dinner and Cindy's for lunch. Highly recommended.

The freshly cut fruit prepared daily and the varied hot breakfast served each morning was delicious.

Tina, one of Bonnie's friends, provided us with a well rounded and very informative personal island tour. She knows the history of the island as she is also a resident of Roatan when not being a tour guide in other parts of the world. Highly recommend our new found friend Tina.

We have travelled extensively and have not found the hospitality demonstrated by everyone at the Cocolobo anywhere else. Kudos!

Martin & Troy

Room Tip: Cottages are great for families as they have a kitchen and can accommodate 4 people easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situated on beautifully gardened grounds with spacious pristine rooms and a stunning view of the ocean. The managers, Ron and Bonnie, are warm, friendly accommodating hosts who make their guests feel at home upon arrival. The breakfasts are delicious and sunset happy hour is not to be missed! West End is a mere five minute walk away and there lots there to entertain. Make sure to go to Sundowners for drinks, and Cindy's for lunch. Also take a water taxi to visit West Bay, though do it on a day the cruise ships aren't docked.

I would stay here again, and again, and again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is a new and - we think - most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.