We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civility in the wild West End” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolobo

Save Saved
You added Cocolobo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocolobo
Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in West End
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Civility in the wild West End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

West End does not have any real luxury accommodations and is generally more affordable than West Bay Beach. Activity in West End is centered along the main waterfront road where you will find dive shops, bars, restaurants and a few shops. It is a good place to stay if you are a diver.

Cocolobo is one of the nicer places to stay in West End and is located about a 5 minute walk from the main road. We stayed at Cocolobo for 9 nights in late January 2013. Our spacious ocean front room had wooden floors and was on the lower level with a deck and hammock outside. There were 2 double beds with mosquito nets, small table and chairs, extra charge for A/C, older television, IPod dock, in-room safe, small fridge and bathroom with a large tiled shower. Breakfast was included and was served in the lodge a few feet away. The lodge has communal seating area, wifi, small pool, loungers and an "honesty bar" which hosts happy hour around 5:00 for very good prices. The hotel is well cared for, clean and a comfortable retreat in West End. The pathway to the main road has enough lights on it to walk after dark, but a small flashlight is advisable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows on both sides so there is good air circulation. Lower rooms can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    39
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
232
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange County, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just visited Cocolobo for the seventh time. And I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Roatan. There were no rooms available our first night so Bonnie found us another place down the road. It was fine but we immediately changed our clothes and ran to Cocolobo. We stayed all day and only went back to the other hotel just to sleep. I was tempted to sleep on the couch in the great room just so I wouldn't have to leave. Cocolobo is just so beautiful and peaceful. Most of the other guests are friendly and it's nice getting to meet people from other places over a cold beer. Ron and Bon are like family.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I will start off by saying that I am not a professional travel writer, and I had a difficult time editing this review. I can say that I find this place simply amazing. If you are the type of traveler that enjoys the mega-resort lifestyle then Cocolobo is probably not for you. This resort is a quiet, comfortable and intimate resort located right on the shore in West Bay Roatan. It is far enough off the main road to feel secluded, yet close enough to be convenient. It is a short walk to the beach and restaurants without any traffic outside the resort.

This was my second trip to Cocolobo and my third trip to Roatan. I can honestly say I will not stay anywhere else on the island. It had been 3 years since my last visit and I was pleasantly surprised to see that the level of service at the resort had not changed. The great hospitality begins with a welcome drink from Ron, helpful advice for your stay, and recommendations on places to eat and things to see. That level of service continues through the duration of the stay. Ron and Bonnie are always available to help with even the most minor of issues, and are often there to just chat. Ron's happy hour bar tending gave me a chance to (unexpectedly) meet up with some old friends from my last visit, and to make some new ones. What you won't find at Cocolobo is a pretentious ' you are in my lounge chair' atmosphere... What you will find is a very warm, welcoming, family like atmosphere where you feel free to to do as much or as little as you like. Thank you Ron and Bonnie for another great experience. I look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minesing, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the first time we entered Cocolobo and Ron and Bonnie offered us a complimentary drink, we felt incredibly welcomed and at peace. These two individuals have a fantastic sense of humour and a willingness to make every moment of your stay memorable.

The staff were all very friendly and willing to answer all inquiries to make our stay more enjoyable. They knew the island inside out, and suggested the best places ie; restaurants, beaches, and tours. At this point, we would just like to say we miss the Rotisserie Chicken for dinner and Cindy's for lunch. Highly recommended.

The freshly cut fruit prepared daily and the varied hot breakfast served each morning was delicious.

Tina, one of Bonnie's friends, provided us with a well rounded and very informative personal island tour. She knows the history of the island as she is also a resident of Roatan when not being a tour guide in other parts of the world. Highly recommend our new found friend Tina.

We have travelled extensively and have not found the hospitality demonstrated by everyone at the Cocolobo anywhere else. Kudos!

Martin & Troy

Room Tip: Cottages are great for families as they have a kitchen and can accommodate 4 people easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situated on beautifully gardened grounds with spacious pristine rooms and a stunning view of the ocean. The managers, Ron and Bonnie, are warm, friendly accommodating hosts who make their guests feel at home upon arrival. The breakfasts are delicious and sunset happy hour is not to be missed! West End is a mere five minute walk away and there lots there to entertain. Make sure to go to Sundowners for drinks, and Cindy's for lunch. Also take a water taxi to visit West Bay, though do it on a day the cruise ships aren't docked.

I would stay here again, and again, and again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I went to Roatan in the beginning of February and chose to stay at Cocolobo based on reviews here. We stayed in an upstairs king bed room that overlooked the ocean. The rooms were very clean and the balcony was amazing. Breakfasts were always delicious and it's just a short walk to town. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent a fantastic week in January 2013 at Cocolobo, the only week in a long time when rain and wind outdid the sun. The crappy weather didn’t affect those who came to dive but the pool wasn’t crowded, and the rainy weather made for great afternoon naps.

Ron & Bonnie are great hosts, anticipating the needs of travelers who took two days to get there, divers who returned to the hotel tired after a long day, and those of us who hung around the bar/lounge area playing cards and backgammon, surfing the net, and hanging out with each other. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped; the hot breakfasts were yummy; the coffee delicious; and being able to borrow umbrellas and flashlights was a bonus.

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is well situated; it’s away from the busyness of West End, but just a short safe walk to get there. Of course you have to pass Sundowners on the way so be sure to check out the spicy chicken wraps and have a Salva Vida anytime of the day but especially when the hockey games are on tv. We also ate at Earth Mamas, Titas on the beach, Rotisserie Chicken, and Roatan Oasis – and we recommend all of them.

Definitely worth a return trip …

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is a new and - we think - most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;