We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocolobo to your Saves list
Cocolobo
Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast, Low Rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in West End
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Loved this place. Rooms are great, location is great, very clean. Felt like staying with friends and family. Managers Ron and Bonnie are the best and they make you feel very much at home. I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    40
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
237
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, BC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent two weeks at Cocolobo at the beginning of November. It was the rainy season - and we got lots of that. We loved it! Cocolobo is like going home - the weather doesn't matter - it is the atmosphere of the place and the incredible conviviality that we partook with our hosts. Ron and Bonnie are spectacular hosts and one of the reasons that we will keep returning to Roatan.

We cannot say enough good about Cocolobo. Don't go there - you will hate it (we are hoping that we can keep it a secret between just us okay?).

Cocolobo Rocks!

Room Tip: Request a room with a sunset view. LOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I loved this place - it felt like home. Ron and Bonnie became quick friends and even helped out when I wasn't feeling well. The place was clean and spacious. They both had lots of good advice and helped out whenever possible. Thanks so much for a great stay. I will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just leaving today and really, really wish we had another 10 days to look forward to here. Well, actually we are already looking for a time we can return. We have quite enjoyed the easy & friendly spirit of the place, plus meeting people over the excellent breakfasts or the evening cocktail.

We stayed in the "keyhole" room with king sized bed, mini fridge and a lovely hammock on the front deck. The view from our deck had some vegetation between us and the sea, however it only partially obscured the view - but we did see a small deer in it one morning! (apparently it escaped from where it was kept up the road.) The Internet works in the community breakfast/bar area, but don't rely on it in the room itself.

It is a quite easy walk into town, particularly once we mastered the pedestrian short cut. Flashlights and umbrellas are provided in case you should need them.

Ron makes an awesome mojito and Bonnie is great for recommending restaurants. We also quite enjoyed going to listen to Ron's band for a fun change of pace. The Indian restaurant on the hill was amazing - easily the best vindaloo I've ever tried.

Overall, we certainly recommend Cocolobo and can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at CocoLobo. We stayed for 10 days, and couldn't have had a better time. Ron, Bonnie, and the staff were very accommodating, and made our stay a pleasure. They made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived until we dragged ourselves, kicking and screaming, to the airport for our flight home. It's hard to overstate what a great place CocoLobo is - Ron and Bonnie instill a laid-back, friendly, and welcoming atmosphere in the place, which rubbed off on us and all of our fellow guests. The daily breakfasts and happy hours also serve as social hour, where you can tell others about the exploits of your day or get new ideas from their experiences. The view out over the water is beautiful, the grounds and buildings are nice and clean, and the location just outside of West End gave us a great feeling of quiet and privacy. Everyone mentions the short walk between CocoLobo and West End, and we loved it. It gave us a little extra time to talk about our day, say Hola to the kids playing ball in front of their house, or check out what the family of chickens were up to.

As I mentioned, we had to drag ourselves away from CocoLobo. My wife went through serious withdrawals once she stopped getting a description of "today's hot plate" every day at breakfast. We can't wait to get back to Roatan and West End in general, and CocoLobo in particular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of my girlfriends and I stayed here for 10 days. Wow! What a great vacation. We loved the staff and meeting all of the other travelers. I loved the complimentary breakfast every morning. It was really yummy and nice to start the day off with a great view and not having to search around the island for a meal. The price was very reasonable. Great location. We got great recommendations for activities from Ron & Bonnie. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Cocolobo for two weeks and had a wonderfully relaxing time. Anna, Sally, Ron and Bonnie went out of their way to make us feel welcome and gave us great advice on restaurants and transportation. The location of the hotel is quiet, yet just a five minute walk to the heart of the West End. Breakfast is served daily and consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice, milk coffee, tea and a different hot dish each day. The food is delicious. We had a top floor, King bed room and were very pleased with the quality of the furnishings and the decoration. I don't think you could find a better ocean view, nicer rooms or friendlier staff in Roatan. We will absolutely stay there again on our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is a new and - we think - most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.