We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolobo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cocolobo
Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in West End
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of my girlfriends and I stayed here for 10 days. Wow! What a great vacation. We loved the staff and meeting all of the other travelers. I loved the complimentary breakfast every morning. It was really yummy and nice to start the day off with a great view and not having to search around the island for a meal. The price was very reasonable. Great location. We got great recommendations for activities from Ron & Bonnie. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    39
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
229
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Cocolobo for two weeks and had a wonderfully relaxing time. Anna, Sally, Ron and Bonnie went out of their way to make us feel welcome and gave us great advice on restaurants and transportation. The location of the hotel is quiet, yet just a five minute walk to the heart of the West End. Breakfast is served daily and consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice, milk coffee, tea and a different hot dish each day. The food is delicious. We had a top floor, King bed room and were very pleased with the quality of the furnishings and the decoration. I don't think you could find a better ocean view, nicer rooms or friendlier staff in Roatan. We will absolutely stay there again on our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a week relaxing at CocoLobo, diving every day in West End. Cocolobo is in the perfect location - nice a quiet, away from the main strip of West End, but only a very short walk to get there.

The staff (and owners) were very friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. Breakfast (included) was delicious and plentiful every morning.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, with an incredible view of the ocean.

Would highly recommend staying here - I hope to be back for another visit soon! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Cocolobo is situated only a short stroll away from the main street and the staff were terriffic. We initially had problems booking as our bank blocked transactions for the deposit from Honduras but they helped us through it so thumbs up for service.

The room had great views and the facilities were good, althought wifi is limited in the rooms so we ended up going to the main bar area to use the net, but otherwise everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Many people come to Roatan to dive, but I came to just unwind. Cocolobo was the maximum destination to do this, so much so that I was quite content just hanging out on the grounds for most of the time. The hosts make you feel more than welcome, like you're among a group of friends, introducing you to other guests and making sure you are content and in good company. The breakfasts were great, the location perfect (tucked away from all of the hubbub of West End but a pleasant walk when you're looking for food and a change of pace), and there is low-key snorkeling a block away if desired. The buildings were designed to allow sea breezes to flow through them (so, no need for AC at all), and while I was there the surf was actually kicked up a bit from storms, so there was the pleasant crash of waves on the fossilized coral to lull me to sleep each night. Star gazing with a beer or glass of wine is a must.
Two minor items I would have liked to see improved: the internet does not reach the rooms, and the sheets were a little scratchy for me (especially after getting eaten alive from sand fleas at West Bay and having a constellation of itchy bites across my body to rub against the sheets). Not big set-backs to my stay, just constructive criticism of what would have made the whole experience "perfect".
All in all, Cocolobo WAS my destination, not just a hotel to sleep in, and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay! I truly hope I can get back there again, and in the near future!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the water, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fantastic place. So welcoming. Perfect for relaxation and easy access to the scene at West Bay and the West End. Ron and Bonnie and the rest o fthe staff are very welcoming and were attentive to all of our needs - whether at CocoLobo or arranging transport or outings. We happened to stay while the owners were in town - it was honestly the best service we have ever had - they are totally focused on their customers. Breakfasts were fantastic, the afternoon happy hours and the pool were a great way to relax after days of diving and snorkeling. Quiet, clean, spacious rooms with fans and AC made down time as nice as time on the beach. Huge decks with chairs and hammocks made it especially easy to enjoy early mornings or sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cocolobo is a special place -- a calm and lovely oasis just steps away from everything you could want on Half Moon Bay and West End. Every night, when the music was booming on West Bay and even Half Moon Bay, all you could hear at Cocolobo was the music of the ocean. I couldn't believe how close we were to everything -- bars, restaurants, snorkeling, etc. just steps away -- without being bothered by any of the noise that comes with a tourist beach destination.

Ron and Bonnie, Anne (one of the owners), and everyone on the staff made us feel entirely welcome and at home. Everything and everyone they recommended to us was wonderful. The rooms, grounds, and bar/breakfast/lounge/pool area were spotless. Breakfast was delicious and substantial. Their beverage prices were reasonable. The grounds were full of trees, birds, and flowers. I believe all rooms have ocean views and a big porches with hammocks. The ironshore behind the hotel kept the shoreline quiet and wild, and enhanced the nightly sunset viewing from the pool. floor-to-ceiling picture windows take full advantage of the 180-degree view of the Caribbean.

I would definitely return -- right now, if I could.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have equally fabulous views. My one tip is to bring an eye mask if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is a new and - we think - most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cocolobo to your Saves list