We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing and good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Las Orquideas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Las Orquideas to your Saves list
Posada Las Orquideas
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Half Moon Bay, West End 34101, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Big Low Season Promotion
Ranked #7 of 10 West End B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply amazing and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed in the hotel in July 2010 for a week. I have to say, this is an amazing place if you want to chill out and run away from the crowds. The rooms are huge, so are terraces. Each room gets a private terrace where you can dine and just rock in the hammock. The room had a little kitchenette so we bought fresh seafood and other stuff from the vendours in town and cooked and enjoyed our meal in the terrace. Amazing! The hotel is situated 5mins walk from the town centre which was absolutely great as it was so quiet.

We have been in South and Central Americal for 7 months and I honestly can say that this was the best hotel we stayed in. If I could, I would pack my luggage today and head to this place again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Lima, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at Las Orquidias in West End in March for 5 days and we loved it. The hotel is quite new, with very nice rooms and we also had a fantastic little terrace with a beatiful view over the bay. The hotel is located a little bit outside of West End but it's only a 5 minutes lovely walk to the beach and all the action and restaurants. Personel at the hotel is very nice and helpful - we received great help with their internet service, laundry and tips about what to do in Roatan. I would also like to recommend their sister hotel Arco Iris and their restaurant 'Argentinian Grill', which according to what we learned ourselves, very well might be the best restaurant on the whole island. I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone, young, old, single or married - it's a great place. And don't worry about any practical issues. You will receive complete assistance from the staff at the hotel and at the administrative office down at Arco Iris.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Our room was on the 2nd floor at the very end on the left (#7). The room was great! It was spacious, clean, bright, with lots of windows and great views. If possible try to get this room or the one above it b/c the extra windows make a huge difference. All the windows have screens and there was a great breeze at night so we didn't have to use the A/C.
I recommend reserving a room on the left side of the hotel since the property to the right is undergoing construction. (I couldn't hear any noise at all from my room.)

The bathroom was clean, with nice tiling, and there was always plenty of hot water. The kitchen had a mini-fridge (very convenient). The balcony had a great view and comfy hammock, but was covered (so no tanning), and offered little privacy.
Housekeeping came daily and did a great job.
The hotel was very peaceful and quiet during both the day and night. (It is removed from both the main road and town).

The hotel has a small book exchange as well as free internet. They also sell beer, water, and pop at reasonable prices. There is no beach, but there is a private dock to lay out on. The dock only had 3 beach chairs which were always occupied. The hotel doesn't provide beach towels, so make sure you bring your own.

Location: 5 min walk to town. Although I always had friends walk me back to the hotel I would probably get a little nervous walking back alone at night.

The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is in regard to the staff. I felt that they were unhelpful, unfriendly, unapproachable, and disinterested. Most of them wouldn't even smile at us. Whenever we approached them with a request or question they made us feel like we were bothering them and we came to dread having any interaction with them.

Overall: I would definitely stay here again. The fantastic room and location more than make up for the unpleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Well we loved this place! It was bright and airy..We managed to opt out of the ac and were quite comfortable with an end room in the hotest time of the year.
We enjoyed using our kitchen, porch, the sunrises amazing. My husband missed them all because he was sleepin so good!. (can you tell who is the morning person). I caught the sunrises on film but dont sleep in the mornings they should not to be missed.
We discovered that a morning swim off the dock out back, across the bay was an awesome way to start the day and so convienent!
We had friends over for dinner several times .Plenty of room for a tablle and 4 chairs and fellowship. Just have to ask the staff for a few more plates etc from another room to acomadate more people for dinner.
The gals in the downstairs wash room washed our clothes(with a smile) for 7 bucks and folded them, placed them on our bed in the room.. awesome.. they were there at the end of day all fresh and clean. what a treat!
We longed for a mattress cover on the bed,( the fitted quilted sheet that covers the bed before the fitted sheet goes on the bed). Aparently not something they do on the island. (just a personal prefrence, and no bath mat to step onto to dry off. A extra towel would be nice to step off on)..But the towels we had, were of high quality nice white and fluffy.( just a cultural difference). However Little things do make a difference. Fresh towels every day.. nice.... Lovely tile work in the bathrooms. Love the color scheme in the room very cheery..
We found our incounters with the locals folks and staff were excellent. Really geniune and very kind people, very pleasant.....
One recommendation. I think the porches should have a privacy lattace between each porch. It was not crowded when we were there but I cannot imagine if all the porches were full of folks I didnt know. But on the other hand, what a fun party if I was there with family I did know!.. hammocks were excellent for an early morning read or a afternoon nap.
I wish the rooms had small safes in them..for the passport, money etc....wouldnt have to carry this around all day.
We ate a lite breakfast in our room several times or lunch and enjoyed our short walk to town for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Excellent food. fried snapper at the argentine grill.. excellent. Baked chicken, Thai place.. yum .. all good.. Rudys papaya smoothies midday excellent... There were places to buy groceries in town as well, for your small refrig in the room.. plenty of pots and pans.. (wish there was a small btl of olive oil to cook the eggs with out sticking). Thankyou staff for washing the dishes, didnt expect that!
We had a wonderful time, beautiful view (even from the bed).
I wish we could have stayed longer.. but we will be back probably to live on the island. Love Roatan, love the local islanders. We have a lot to learn from their kind presence and culture and slower pace of life.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We were surprised at how nice the place was! It was supposed to be our "cheap" night and it was wonderful!! We each enjoyed a lovely nap on the hammock. the room was big. It had a queen bed and a full bed. One for sleeping, one for napping! We did not have AC, apparently the regular price didn't include it. We did have a fridge. The door to our bathroom didn't close- the door was too small! The view from the hotel was amazing. It was a great patio. The staff was really nice, especially the night gaurd. The only real complaint is that our room wasn't ready when we arrived, even though we only saw 1 other person staying in our hotel. So we walked back to the beach and took a nap on the beach...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Location:

This hotel is a 5 minute walk to central West End and located right on the water. West End is very small with lots of diving outfitters. A lot of the hotels and services are catered toward divers. Most places offer a variety of diving certification. West End is about a $3 USD water taxi ride to West Bay or a pleasant 30 minute walk along the beach. West Bay has one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen and is where most of the large resorts are located. West End has a few grocery stores offering the basics. If you are serious about cooking your own meals head to the grocery stores in Coxen Hole (be advised the Coxen Hole is generally not recommended after dark).

Hotel:

The staff was very accommodating with all requests and allowed us to use the hotels WIFI network for free from our room. We stayed in one of the studio rooms. The room was clean, offered a nice view of the ocean, had a nice back deck with hammock and table and chairs. The kitchen had a gas stove with two elements, a small fridge, and was outfitted with pots, pans, dishes and cutlery which the maid was kind enough to wash almost everyday. Overall the hotel was very good and gives you access to the lounging chairs on the beach in front of their parent location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

this place is a bit hidden, but very safe and an excellent value. It is right by the bay too. I should add that they began some construction work a little too early in the am. Also didn't like the ants in the kitchen area. Overall though it was a good deal. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Make sure you don't lose your keys! service is fine, just seemed a bit unavailable. The receptionist was not very informed either. However- the island is small, so you can get info easily.
Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
1.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#5 of 8 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments
1.6 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
1.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Orquideas

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Half Moon Bay, West End 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Las Orquídeas is located in the beautiful West End Bay, very close to the main street, in a tranquil and beautiful setting...All our 18 rooms and studios have a beautiful ocean view, balconies and hammocks where you will be able to relax, you can also walk by the paths in our beautiful gardens. Rooms have small fridge and studios equipped kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Orquideas West End
Posada Las Orquideas Hotel
Posada Las Orquideas Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Las Orquideas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.