We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno Del Mar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sueno Del Mar Resort to your Saves list
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in West End
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A great place to stay.
- All rooms face the the ocean. They are not fancy but they are clean and comfortable.
- Breakfast made by Ray (the owner) is great, and nice to socialize with other guests.
- Location is great - on the edge of West End, so it is fairly quiet part of the street but close to everything.
- Amazing value!
- The only negative point is that the bar is in front of the room on the beach, and it can be quite loud through the afternoon and night (it closes at 10 pm, so things quiet down after that). In general not a big problem, but it can be if you have young children or you want to have a nap during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
33
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a great place to stay! on the water, nice clean big rooms with nice bathrooms. We had a balcony that faced the water and over looked the volleyball court. this place is at the end of west end and I felt safe the whole time. everything is walking distance. also there little beach bar is perfect little private spot with good eats and tunes. what really made this place though was the workers. the whole staff was extremely friendly and made us feel at home right away. they were very polite and accommodating!! Ray the owner is the coolest and the nicest person in town and everyone knows him. he will help you out with whatever you need! thanks for the good times!

Room Tip: get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Roatan and had a great time. We picked Sueno Del Mar based on TA reviews and it did not disappoint.

Lots of pros:
- Great location in the quiet part of West End
- Restuarants and bars only few minutes walk
- Made to order breakfasts by Ray, the owner
- The resort is right on the beach, the dive shop is at the hotel, and the dock is just feet from the resort
- Clean rooms with A/C, in room safe, small refrigerator, full ocean view
- No TV or phone in the rooms
- Fantastic diving (more below). Dive sites very close to the resort.
- Package included pick up and drop off from the airport. Manuel was waiting for us when we arrived.
- Tremendous value for the price!
- Tita's Pink Seahorse next door. Perfect for lunch and your surface interval. Great chicken sandwich and blue cheese burgers

Cons
- Spotty internet connection, best connection from the balcony
- Bugs in Roatan (just like Belize). Not a Sueno issue, but bring insect repellant
- A/C just ok


Diving
We did 17 dives during the week (could have done a night dive as well, but we passed). All our dives were with Stuart or Roger. Both were very experienced and knew all the sites well. Stuart is a former Fire Captain and well versed in safety issues, first aid, etc. We only had 4 divers on most dives, but we had a few locals join us on a few of the dives. Our dives averaged about 60-65 minutes, with a few being 75 minutes. Obviously everyone was very good with air consumption. Depth ranged from around 100 (on the wreck) to 20 (above the reef) with most being 40-70 feet. Vis ranged from 50-80 on most days. Water temp was in the high 80's. All dives were drift dives. Most days we had very light to no current, but one day we went to a site called Texas, and the current was ripping. We flew over the reef, and dropped down the wall to get away from the current. There was a different current down the wall, and the current eventually pushed us off. We did our safety stop in the current and ended up several hundred yards from the boat. It took a few minutes for the boat to spot us, but we never felt at risk. That was our shortest dive at 45 minutes.

The reef was very healthy and we saw a lot of turtles, morays, groupers, lobster, crabs, and lion fish on most dives. We saw a couple of spotted eagle rays on one dive as well as a few cuttlefish. The week before a hammerhead was spotted, but we did not see any sharks. We asked Stuart to take us to see lion fish and we went to a sight about 15 minutes from the resort. He speared 3 and brought them back to Tita's, who made ceveche for us (it was really good). On other dives, he speared a few lion fish and the groupers would steal them right off the spear. We had a variety of terrain (reef, wall, canyon, cave) over our dives and overall the diving was excellent.

I had a leaky reg develop during our stay. Stuart had it taken in to a shop in town where they serviced it at no cost (a second stage adjustment was needed). My reg was ready the next morning.

Overall, Sueno was a tremendous value. The resort was nice with a great location, the diving was excellent and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Bring a nice bottle of wine and sit on the dock at sunset. It is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at Sueno in the past and have on-going dives with this hotel and group. The hotel is "sweet", clean, has A/C and is at the quiet end of the road in W.End, yet you are able to walk to all shops/restaurants. Hotel patio overlooks the blue ocean: you can open the curtains and let it all in! I enjoy the diving with an easy-going group with individual attention as needed. Stuart, the divemaster, will guide you or be right by your side per your needs. No hard schedule for the divesites, with their experience, they go where the visibility is the best or known new sitings of underwater life! Diving with Scuba Diving Divas..makes it fun diving with the ladies, although men are always welcome! Sueno seems to cater to us all making it easy and relaxing. Topping it off, we all go to Tita's Restaurant/Bar right on the beach right next store for good food, ambience and drink.

Room Tip: Nice if you have a patio..(they may all have one?) to see that ocean for sunrise/sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, yet adventurous place to stay, I highly recommend staying at Sueno Del Mar in West End on the island of Roatan. I recently went with Scuba Diving Divas and did one of their specialty weekends. Amazing! Great fun, at an exceptional price. True Value! We started off with a welcome cocktail, then since I'm not a diver, we still did a snorkel tour which was fantastic. I saw more marine life during that snorkel tour then in most others I've taken on the island. Sueno Del Mar is located right on the beach, so lots of fun sun in the sand, and Titas Pink Seahorse is right next door and provides great food and drinks.

If you are looking for a great value.....again I would highly recommend checking out a trip with Scuba Diving Divas and staying at Sueno Del Mar. You can Google Scuba Diving Divas for more info and find the website for upcoming trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Roatan. We definitely picked the best place to stay. Located on the West End, this place is especially close to everything. But it's far enough to be private too. A 3 minute walk up the street in you have a bunch of bars and cafes to choose from. Titas Pink Seahorse bar, right next door, is an awesome choice for lunch and dinner. This place will definitely be our #1 choice on a return trip to Roatan!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Recently I went to Honduras and stayed at Sueno Del Mar in West End Village and it was great. It is a quaint little eight room B&B.The accommodations were very good,clean and comfortable rooms,and the service was better.
Being a disabled traveler/scubadiver I appreciate the little things like when Ray,the owner,heard I was coming he had a ramp built for me and would bring breakfast down to my room---VERY COOL.Teta's beach bar&grill treated me very good too.The town is about five minutes from the hotel and is a lot of fun.There is always someone around for a smile a helpful hand.The Wi-Fi was a little rough but your on vacation and if needed,you can go in the town.
What can I say about the diving----ITS HONDURAS.The DMs,Brad,Rodger and Stuwart,who is also the DJ for the island, were patient and knowledgeable and great fun.

Room Tip: All the have a great view--take your bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sueno Del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Del Mar Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included with the rooms are airport transfers, snorkeling, kayaks. We installed a generator March of 2007 to deal with the current electric problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sueno Del Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel West End
Sueno Del Mar Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno Del Mar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.