We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming atmosphere, excellent service, supremely comfortable stay and the best home cooked breakfast you could ever ask for, L” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno Del Mar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sueno Del Mar Resort to your Saves list
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in West End
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming atmosphere, excellent service, supremely comfortable stay and the best home cooked breakfast you could ever ask for, L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A very cozy, comfortable water front resort where staff is always happy to accomodate their guests needs. Great diving/snorkelling trips, a nice little beach bar and volleyball net, and a beach front area to relax and suntan made this the perfect place to kick back and relax. Shopping, restaraunts and public beaches are all just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
33
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife, son, daughter-in-law, 5 year old grandson and myself spent 7 days at this small resort. We found the rooms very clean and neat and maintained that way everyday. My wife and grandson don't dive but they had a private beach to play on just steps from the rooms. The dive staff was fantastic. My daughter-in-law had certified 7 years ago but had never had an ocean dive. Stuart took us all through a refresher course on skills and then an easy dive to introduce the daughter-in-law to the ocean. He gave her a great amount of confidence and support on that first dive and from then on she had a great time. Michell dove many dives with us and is another great addition to the staff. We did 3 dives per day, never repeated a dive site and were treated as well or better than I have been treated on a dive trip. Ray Lopaz, the owner, was very gracious and did everything we asked to accommodate my family. The whole staff including the lunch bar and grill run by Tita and Allison on site allowed us to have good lunches between dives and drinks afterwards. My family was treated as their family and our weeks experience was wonderful. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

lovely view of the water, hammock on our balcony. AC in the room. clean. we got scuba certified down the street at Coconut Tree Divers. Ray, the owner and breakfast cook, was very welcoming, helpful and friendly - an ex-LA native. It was on one end of the main drag which meant it was more quiet at night but a little bit longer of a walk to get back to in the evening. The price was reasonable. We were there Oct 2010 right after a major hurricane went past so all of Roatan was in a bit of disarray and not as busy.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Ideal location in the west end, on the beach with great ocean views. A perfect location for wonderful sunsets. Great beach bar just beside the hotel run by Tita (legendary).

The dive center is so convenient too as its part of the resort, and the diving is amazing. So many dive sites with in minutes of the resort!

Thanks to everyone for such a great stay and warm welcome

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Having been to Roatan on 3 different occasions, we decided that we wanted to stay right in the village of West End as we loved the laid back vibe that it has. Searching and searching we stumbled upon Sueno del Mar on the internet and just decided to go for it. What an awesome choice!

Note that I am writing this review late as our stay at Sueno del Mar was in late February of 2011. We certainly would have returned in 2012, however upon returning home from our Feb 2011 vacation we found out that we were pregnant after years of trying (must be that Roatan air and awesome sea water) so therefore were home with our beautiful baby girl in the winter of 2012.

Ray, the owner, general manager, pancake flipper and general all around nice guy was super. Very easy going. The dive staff was also spectacular. We had the pleasure of diving with Michelle most of the week and also completed our Rescue Diver certification with Stewart. Great instruction and he was very thorough.

We met great people that we hope to see and dive with again upon our return this coming winter for the first week of February 2013.

Looking forward to enjoying one of Tita's awesome burgers - and if lucky enough, perhaps another fried Lionfish feast.

Sueno del Mar is by far our favorite spot in Roatan and we intend to go back every year!

Great value at this cute little "resort" :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have been to Roatan for the last 5 years and to Tita's for the last 3.......you want awesome sunsets, sunrises, and to be treated to the BEST food on the island...go see for yourself!! THANK you Tita for always making me feel at HOME!!! :) Miss you girl!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed there last week (10 days total) should have stayed longer but had to get back to work.Great location,nice rooms and quiet.Ray is a great host,Stuart on the dive boat was lots fun.Tita's bar next door is always a good time.--- Thanx

Bill H.

Room Tip: upstairs - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sueno Del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Del Mar Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included with the rooms are airport transfers, snorkeling, kayaks. We installed a generator March of 2007 to deal with the current electric problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sueno Del Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel West End
Sueno Del Mar Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno Del Mar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.