We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bungalow and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mame Tree Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mame Tree Bungalows
Save
You added Mame Tree Bungalows to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End 10453, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great bungalow and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Mame Tree Bungalows in West End. Many thanks to Adam and Tonya for providing superb service and lodging while we stayed in the Moroccan bungalow last week. The room was very clean, everything was in perfect working condition, and the air conditioning was a blessing. They even provided us with a coffee percolator so we could relax on the porch in the morning with coffee before going diving. Although it was unnecessary, they even changed the linens every couple of days.

I love this place since it is close to the heart of West End, yet far enough above the street to remain quiet. Now that I am back home, I realize how much I miss that awesome hammock swinging on the porch overlooking the bay!!

I definitely recommend that people stay here. It is very economical to make your own breakfasts and even reheat the leftovers from dinner the previous night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Breeze Room for 2 weeks. Tanya and Adam were great. Anything we needed was provided. The room was very clean. A maid comes every 2 days.

Air conditioner, flat screen TV, mini fridge, hot water, good water pressure. Very comfortable.

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was my second time in Roatan and my 1st time staying here at Mame Tree. I really liked staying with Mame Tree, and will again next year when I come back to Roatan. We stayed in the Breeze room. The room was clean. Everything was as we had expected. The hotel pick up and drop off was reliable. The location in West End was perfect. Also, Enomis Divers was right at the bottom of the hill and they were the dive shop we dove with. (I would recommend Enomis, too!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This small hotel of bungalows is perfect! It has been very recently updated, with all the comforts of home. It is also located right in the middle of the West End and Half Moon Bay, so you are within equal walking distance to most every bar, restaurant and dive shop. The price is perfect, and you also get free transportation to and from the airport. I will stay here every time I visit Roatan!

Room Tip: Depends what you want size wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My fiance and I recently stayed in the Breeze room and loved it. Just a short walk to the main road and the best beach in town, but tucked away enough to offer more privacy and quiet. Plus included in the price was air conditioning, cable TV, airport transfers, free calls to the US and wi-fi. This is a great place to stay for a low maintenance couple wanting a nice place to stay for a good price. The staff was very nice and friendly, pretty hands-off, but always around when we needed them. If you want a resort...go to west bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Situated up on a hill, my boyfriend and I stayed in the Breeze Room, which was steps away from the main drag in West End, as well as the beach at Half Moon Bay. We were on a budget, and Mame Tree offers great bang for your buck. The rooms were well-decorated, clean, and otherwise adequate. The only problem we had was that the blinds over the french doores wouldn't stay up, obscuring our view of the foliage and the ocean out front. Adam's hospitality and Tanya's helpfulness made up for this however. There is also a great little cafe on the property with good smoothies and a yummy breakfast burrito. All in all, a great stay with incredibly friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

MAME TREE BUNGALOWS are ideally situated and provide good accommodation which is excellent value for the money. They are located in quiet secluded well lit grounds with beautiful well maintained gardens. A short 2 minute walk down the hill brings you to the best part of the Half Moon Bay beach and to West End’s main street with its shops, bars and restaurants. Close enough to be handy to everything but far enough away to avoid the noise and crowds. The free secure Wifi and long distance calling to North America during office hours was a huge plus.
We stayed in the Caribbean Bungalow which is built in the typical Honduran style. The open concept living room and kitchen along with 2 bedrooms have 10 windows and four fans. This created a wonderful cross breeze and made it unnecessary for us to run the air conditioner during our entire 2 month stay. Given the cost of electricity on Roatan this was a plus. The bathroom is a good size with a huge shower and plenty of hot water. The furniture and fittings are basic but comfortable and everything you will need to meet your requirements for a self catering holiday is provided. As a long term renter we did not receive housekeeping and were responsible for supplying our own paper products and cleaning supplies plus the cost of electricity. Linen and towels are provided and washed for you. There are several nearby laundries for your clothing which cost about 80 cents per pound with a 15 pound minimum. Beer, wine, soft drinks, snacks, groceries, fish, seafood, fresh fruits and vegetables are readily available in West End. For meat and poultry you will need to shop in Coxen Hole or French Harbour. All the items mentioned are less expensive there as well.
The family and staff here is wonderful, friendly and accommodating. Any issues we had were promptly addressed. Thanks to Adam, Tanya, Basilio, Alvaro, Avram and Jose for looking after us and providing 24 hour security. A special thanks to Adam’s Gram for her wonderful stories and lovely sense of humor, and a big hug to the girls Leilaa and Tyra. Hope the spelling of the names is close.
The only complaints we had about this property is that the windows and stove both needed a good cleaning when we arrived, which was quickly done. Also the loose crushed stone path going down the hill is a little treacherous. Extending the stairs or putting up a railing would help.
This is a wonderful property which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mame Tree Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mame Tree Bungalows

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End 10453, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mame Tree Bungalows Hotel West End
Mame Tree Bungalows Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mame Tree Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.