We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations and even better staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge to your Saves list
Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge
Main Road, Half Moon Bay, West End, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 West End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Great accommodations and even better staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay with a large group of friends. Just like the previous review, from the beginning of our stay we had a great time and the accommodations and staff were fantastic!

Our experience
1) The staff was excellent: incredibly friendly and helpful. Adi helped us with all our reservations (we traveled with a large group of friends) and made us feel welcomed before we even arrived. He sat down with us when we arrived to make sure we had what we needed and gave us recommendations and briefed us on the island. Oh- be sure to catch one of his shows. His band is a lot of fun!
2) A special mention to the lovely Elsa and Mercedes for satisfying our bellies each morning with breakfast (fresh fruit, eggs, beans, bacon and the best home made tortillas-- yum!) and keeping our rooms clean.
3) The bartender, Ryan, could not be more friendly. His Monkey La La's are the best on the island!
4) Extremely well maintained grounds...
5) Location! Perfect location- only five minute walk to Half Moon Bay to all the restaurants and night life. We walked into town daily so this was important to us.
6) The resident deer are also what sets this place a part from any where else. We looked forward to seeing them everyday! They are super friendly-- you can pet and feed them. :)
7) The rooms look like they do in the photos. No unexpected surprises which is always huge in my book! We stayed in the WAHOO - king bed, patio, overlooking the ocean.
8) Free wi-fi
9) THE STAFF! I can't say it enough!

Thanks, Lands End, for a wonderful stay! We miss you already!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndResort, Manager at Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hey A. thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed being your hosts. Your group was a lot of fun. I wish I had the time to join you guys on your boat trip with Roatan Ruthless Charters to Cayos Cochinos. Next time for sure. Love you all. Adi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    39
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
128
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice rooms, nice grounds. small place that is easy to meet new friends. They have Jeep Wranglers for rent by the day or week. They also have the best bar tender in the West End(Ryan). You get a good breakfest every morning and if you get the "typical" you get the best tortilla on the island. Had a great time Adi, thanks for everything. If you are looking for a big fancy hotels with a huge pool West End is not for you.Look at West Bay. West End is a much better place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Kay & I visited this site 9 years ago when it was indeed in need of a new proprietor - and the new owner, from Tennesee has found him in spades!

His name is 'Adi' [ahh-dee], as he is affectionately known, and has taken Lands End to a new level. He lives on site for your personal attention and has made multiple renovations making this very quiet enclave a unique experience for those wanting the gentle space away, but just a 6 minute walk to West End, the hot spot of Roatan.

If you read some of the negative comments on Tripadvisor, just check the dates - they were from previous years around 2005-2007, PRIOR to Adi taking over...it is NOT the same place any longer. We love it here.

You would not even know you were that close to the hustle bustle of West End. 'Google Earth' it and see how close you are. It is just the ticket to have all the night life you want and then walk a few hundred yards to this peace of heaven.

The Iron Shore and its views on the Ocean are unforgettable, right at poolside. Breakfast is served each morning with a round of tortillas, omelettes, bacon, potatoes, fruit, coffee and tea, amongst many friends and friends to be, who are there for diving, snorkeling or simply getting away from it all.

Adi is a most gracious host, arriving from Austria 7 years ago, always at you call for any of your needs. He also has 2 Jeeps for rent, one of which we used to travel this beautiful 33 mile island. He gives a very detailed check in with a fully guided map tour even before the keys are turned over to you for this most enjoyable stay. I just received a great hair cut from a friend of Adi's also, for those who choose that during your stay. She is an artist!

The pool is quite a large saltwater version, flooded every 2 days with the ocean's own waters. This is not a 'resort' of which you may be thinking in the typical terms - it has no wild night life, bands, bar scene, etc., though the bar is open for your leisure from 5PM until 9PM. The intent of the bar is for a pre-dinner drink, after which you go into 'Town' for dinner and then arrive back for a post-dinner drink before watching the sunset in the quiet of Lands End before retiring for the eve.

Adi will arrange for a personal dinner at Lands End just for you and your love, any time you request, but lunch and dinner are not normally served, due to the many other choices just around the corner in Town.

'Adi' can be seen many nights as the bass player in his local band, either in West End proper, or further down the coast at the busier part of Roatan - West Bay...and they are good - go see him and his group.

He takes great pains to ensure that he knows your first names - not a quality you'll see at many complexes in the area. There is much to see and do from this location. Kay and I stayed in 'Town' [West End], the last time we were here, but realized that after our evening was done, we wanted to get away from it all - and this is the place. You will not be disappointed.

Try to stay in the Wahoo room - the King bed, 2nd floor, overlooking the beautiful ocean, but like any room, you really don't spend much time there anyway. I guarantee you'll love this place.

Don't forget to feed the wandering deer on site - one of only two remaining places on the island that have deer - yes white tail deer, hand fed daily by you or your 2 year old - very docile. Bring the camera for the kiddies as they feed!

S - Philadelphia, PA

Room Tip: Wahoo Room- King -2nd floor - Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndResort, Manager at Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear S & K,
this is a great review, thank you so much.
We'll be working on the JJ connection for the band swap with Utila right after Easter. Guess I will see you there real soon. It's gonna be great fun. looking forward to some more quality conversations with you. it was a pleasure to have you here.
Cold TUCHER beer is already in the fridge with your name on it ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

From the beginning of our stay, where we were greeted so pleasantly by Adi, to the end where we were treated like friends saying our goodbyes and hoping to come back soon, we loved it here.

-The Room: We stayed in GECKO, King bed room (one window faces the garden where the deer spend most of their time and one looks out onto the pool and ocean). Very comfortable beds, great AC, and clean.

-Breakfast: as wonderful as the ladies who cook it. A large bowl of freshly cut mixed fruit to start. Toast and delicious Honduran coffee. Then eggs, bacon, beans, and hand made tortilla, YUM! Sometimes they might make pancakes!

-The Grounds: salt water infinity pool is awesome and is surrounded by a both a covered veranda and an open deck (for sunbathers). If the ocean is calm you could venture in to snorkel, just wear good water boots/shoes and don't go too far out.

-The bar: open from about 5pm to 9ish or 10 (depending on if people are there) which we loved for grabbing a cold beer after a day of diving. Ryan (the bartender) is wonderful! Then head into town for a great dinner. If you want to have dinner at the resort, you can arrange it with Adi the day prior and he'll set everything up.

-The location: only 5 min walk to the edge of West end or 10 min to the center. We were so happy about this because most days we were diving and were exhausted so we wanted a quiet place to sleep. But if we wanted to party, listen to music, and a grab a few more drinks, it was only a few minutes walk away.

-The Service: amazing, is all I can say. Adi is always willing to help you out in anyway he can. Always has a smile. Mercedes and ? Elsa I think (clean your room and cook you breakfast) are so special! They go above and beyond every single day to make your stay the best. Ryan (bartender) is always interested in hearing about your day, and keeps your drink topped up! I miss everyone already! Thanks to all,

Karen and Edward

FYI: Keep in mind you are visiting Central America. Matching towels? Seriously? I can't believe someone would complain about that. As for toilet paper not going in the toilet, this is standard across almost all areas from Mexico to South America. Perhaps not on 5 star resorts...but if that's what you want, go stay there, but you'll miss out on the culture and the beauty of these countries. And yes, you may see the odd bug, that will be true even at a 5 star.

Room Tip: GECKO room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandsEndResort, Manager at Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hey mckenk4, thank you for your thorough review. you're hired to write the copy for the new release of our website :-) No, seriously, it was a pleasure to have you here. Thanks for your spirit and good vibes. Adi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cons:
It's just different, so it's weird to get used to it. :)
No matching towel sets, you can't flush your toilet paper, and there was a roach in my bed under the top sheet (I freaked and sat up in a chair for hours).
We asked them to do our laundry, but they forgot to move it into the dryer on the day we left, so we didn't have laundry until we could have another hotel do it.

Pros:
The lodge has only a few rooms, so it wasn't super busy.
We awoke to adorable DEER! We fed them Nutter Butters and they licked us. :)
Hammocks at the water (you cannot swim here, there are sharp rocks, but you can walk to the beach: a lovely 10 minute-ish walk.)
Saltwater pool :)
Awesome bartender (he got crazy and danced on the bar with customers)
Crabs freaking climb up from the water to FIGHT on the conrete where you rest in a hammock! It was awesome! (I broke up many a crab fight.)
The food was wonderful, especially breakfast where fresh fruit is served, mmm!
The staff was fantastic and helpful. The owner (who speaks English, Spanish, and German) offered us a ride across the island to our ziplining tour.

It was overall a great experience. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lands End is located close to town but far enough away to be a peaceful retreat. The ocean front rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The spacious balcony fronts a beautiful view of the ocean with warm breezes day and night. A large patio with adjoining salt water pool is where a delicious breakfast is served. There is also a large patio where you can lounge in the sun. Adi the manager is always around to help or share a smile. He can give lots of advice on things to do and be sure to to have him help with booking a trip to Utila aboard the Ruthless..not to be missed.
Ryan and the rest of the staff are very friendly and a pleasure to be around. The girls who cook the meals even gave me a tortilla cooking lesson! You can also rent a Jeep on the premises. The best bed and breakfast on the West End...I will be back

Room Tip: Upper floor ocean front are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I arrived into Roatan after dark after a harrowing trip that saw me in various airports with no sleep for over 30 hours where I checked into a West End cabin (recommended by someone who supposedly knows the Island). It was too dark to venture out for something to eat, there was no water to drink or brush my teeth, the room was not clean...red ants everywhere, and the roof leaked.... and there was no WiFi connection. I telephoned my husband (on Utila) who started calling around Roatan and LANDS END to the rescue! Adi got out of his warm bed to personally pick me up around 10 pm. He saw me into my dry room, ensured I had everything I needed, got me hooked up to WiFi and left me to rest. The next morning he greeted me with hot coffee and introduced me to his pet deer. After a tasty breakfast (I could pick whatever I wanted) of a toasted bagel with bacon and bowl of fresh fruit Adi personally drove me to the airport. the service was above and beyond and the bed was comfortable and dry!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge

Address: Main Road, Half Moon Bay, West End, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Westend, Lands End is an ocean front boutique resort nestled a way in a world all of its own, but close enough to the action where you can walk in three minutes! Enjoy spectacular views and sunsets year round. Lands End grounds include a lounge, pool deck, hammocks, bar, and beach! Most of rooms with the exception of our bungalows come with a televising, air conditioning, complimentary breakfast, daily maid service and more! We have laundry service available and friendly island deer (our pets). Come have a cocktail in our saltwater infinity pool that overlooks the ocean and enjoy our dining at our bar and restaurant on-site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands End - Ocean Front Hotel West End
Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lands End - Ocean Front Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.