We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lousy Kitchen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Beach Resort
Carrretera Pavimentada Ppal., West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in West End
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Lousy Kitchen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

5 stars: Location, Location, Location. Our cabin was 15 feet from the Caribbean, Dive shop -> Gary and Justin are awesome
4 Stars: Staff - earnest and helpful
3 Stars: Room decor
2 Star: Lousy menu, the place is dead after 8. Two days in a row, the bar and kitchen closed at 7pm! No coffee in the morning until 7:30am!
1 Star: Management. I think they place is under staffed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    39
    21
    7
    16
See reviews for
37
69
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm writing this part of the review strictly for the Luna Beach Dive Shop. Our Dive Master Gary, Dive Instructor Zoe and Boat Captain Amos were just spectacular! They were professional and super friendly. My husband did his open water certification with them & was able to go diving everyday of our week long trip. Not only were they thorough but they were also friendly & fun and they made the transition from student to diver seem seamless. The dive shop was huge and the boat was large and comfortable enough for all of us (9 people total) to walk around & get on and off easily. WHEN not IF we go back to Roatan we will use Luna Beach Dive Shop JUST for the dive team.

For the hotel itself...our room was great. the view was amazing. but the hotel has so much potential to be a great, lively place its discouraging that they don't utilize the whole place. the gift shop is locked. you have to ask someone to open it. there's a whole room upstairs with pool tables, dart board & fuse ball that i didn't even know was there until another guest mentioned it & that room is also locked. there's a bar on the beach that they don't open. they use a bar thats closer to the office. its still outside but its kind of dark and unwelcoming. they get a decent amount of foot traffic on the beach that i think if they open the outside bar they could do pretty well. there are other bar/restaurants within walking distance on the beach....i think they can all compliment each other if Luna Beach Resort was more welcoming. And i'm not suggesting it should turn into a late night hotspot. We liked the peacefulness of it but its almost too peaceful...its almost as if we're staying in a place thats closed. I did extensive research of Roatan & the hotel before we got there but it would've been nice if upon checking in someone just ASKED if we needed any information about the hotel and/or Roatan.
As far as the food goes, we only had breakfast and lunch there a few times but both were good. Also, the bugs didn't bother us at all but we covered ourselves in deep woods off & ben's insect repellent. you need something with Deet.
all in all, we had an amazing trip...Roatan is beautiful and so much fun!! we're already planning a trip back...not sure if we'll stay at Luna again but we will use their dive shop for sure as long as Gary, Zoe and Amos are still there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent nine nights here and did some diving right from the resort. Our breakfast and lunch was included in the price and the food was very good. Dinners we either paid extra for or did the short walk down the beach and into the West End for a variety of good meals. The rooms are well kept up and clean and we had no problems. The view from the deck of the beach and water was great. We also used the dive shop at the resort, which was huge and clean. It has a very large drying room for gear that is nice and airy so our suits were dry every morning. The crew took us to many of the different dive sites and asked if we had special ones we wanted to visit. The nice thing we enjoyed is, it is just south of the West End so it is nice and quiet. I would go back anytime! Thanks all you people at Luna!

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end have more steps to climb if you have bad knees or legs. But all rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My son and I were the only two people at this beautifully appointed resort. We were actually told that because we were the only two people there that they wouldn't bother spraying for bugs, so we were eaten alive. Aside from that Luna Beach Resort has a real attitude problem. We were made to feel like an inconvenience rather than guests. Very unhelpful unfriendly staff, except for the dive shop. Unfortunately the dive shop had no latitude to work with customers outside of the package they had purchased. For instance we had purchased a seven day dive package with three dives per day, but were unable to apply any unused dives towards advanced certifications or adventure dives. We had chosen to travel light on this trip,so we didn't bring any of our own equipment other than masks and fins. We were told the BCD and regs were included in the dive package and then at check out were "clipped" for an additional $220.00 for equipment rental. Bottom line: Beautiful place, but no island style. They want money, not return guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spoiled1s, Manager at Luna Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
I'm so sorry there were some misunderstandings, but I'd like to clarify a few things for all.

First of all we never include equipment with a package that would not be fair to those who bring their own equipment. We do provide equipment during any course you may take,if you do not have your own equipment.

If you have purchased a package then decide to take a course we will gladly credit you the dives you miss while taking the course. We can not credit dives that you miss, "JUST BECAUSE".

We give everyone several options whether they want to purchase a package or do things ala carte and several room options, with different pricing. The Dive Package works well if you want to dive, dive and dive and are a good hardy eater. If you want to take things at a slower pace then you can chose to do things ala carte and there are discounts for different quantities of diving ala carte, also.

So it is up to the guest to decide which option and room type works best for them and their budget. Luna Beach Resort is a beautiful Island resort with a superb location. So come see for yourself, we will be there to make sure you are well taken care of, that is why we have SOOOOO many return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Luna Beach Dive Resort proved to be a great place for our party of 11 to stay in April 2012. They run their own dive shop, fully equipped and run pretty well - including the diver master and the boat captain Amos. My wife and I stayed in a bungalo just off the beach. Beautiful. Many in our party stayed in house 11. Big four bedroom. Nice cabin. All rooms very clean and comfortable.
The restaurant served pretty good food, good breakfast and excellent coffee. The staff was very laid back and accommodating. We had an impromptu party on the dock and some of the staff showed up and partied with us.

It's in a good location too. If you are interested in shopping for art or souveneirs, the west end is a 10 minute walk down the beach and the little town is pretty cool. Good food with some variety (we ate very good Thai food there).

Excellent venue for a dive trip.

The only ding on the trip was the sand fly's. If you don't take precautions - and take them seriously - you will end up covered in itching bites. They can be avoided and you can protect yourself from them to some extent, but not with DEET. DEET is TOTALLY INEFFECTIVE on the sand flys. google 'Roatan' and 'noseeums' for more detail.

Room Tip: for a couple, room K is awesome. house 11 is a nice four bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just got back from second trip to Roatan. Stayed at Luna Beach both times because we enjoyed it so much. Quiet and relaxing. The dive operation is top notch especially for beginners. Adam and Amos makes sure everyone enjoys the dives. There is emphasis on safety but I see that as a positive. Our group of four dove all week with three of our group getting advanced certification. Many times we were only ones on boat. Food and drinks are adequate and comparably priced with other places in West End. Sand fleas are bad but mosquito repellent helps a lot. Looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at Luna Beach from April 7-14, 2012, with my mother and my 10-year old daughter. The hotel was clean, quiet, and the staff was very pleasant. Our room was a dream - no TV, no phone, and a hammock on the front porch - who could ask for more? We spent many evenings reading or playing games on our porch, listening to the geckos serenading us. My daughter loved the resident cats and parrots, and the snorkeling right in front of the hotel was amazing. I haven't seen such bright colours underwater anywhere, and even saw octopus and eagle rays within 40 feet of shore. Wow! All three of us went out on the dive boat to the barrier reef one day - just amazing. Adam and Amos made us feel very comfortable - we only wish we had done it sooner in our vacation, so we had time to do it again! Guess we'll just have to go back!

The walk to and from West End was very safe, even in the dark - take along a flashlight, though, because it's REALLY dark!

Room Tip: We stayed in room B - we had one room with a double bed (and a couch and chair) and a second bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Beach Resort

Address: Carrretera Pavimentada Ppal., West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort offers a perfect get away, with Beach Suites on the beach, Tropical Houses and Premium Houses up in the Jungle. With a private beach, beautiful sunsets, first class Dive Center, full service restaurant/bar, gift shop, beautiful landscaping, swimming pool, and much more all on 33 acres. Their location is superb, with its very secluded setting, but a mere 10 minute walk along the beach to West End, so no expensive taxi fares. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luna Beach Hotel West End
Luna Beach West End
Luna Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Beach Resort to your Saves list