We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with EXCELLENT Management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splash Inn Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Splash Inn Dive Resort to your Saves list
Splash Inn Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End 31000, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in West End
Chico, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel with EXCELLENT Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I spent my Christmas vacation staying and diving with The Splash Inn Resort and thoroughly enjoyed my vacation. The hotel was clean, had AC, and had a generator if the power went out (which is really important in West End) and the Dive Shop had great Masters/Instructors that took us out daily. They were even able to organize a one day trip to Los Cayos Cochinos for us, which was awesome. The diving was incredible- lots of turtles, rays, reef, and underwater life. The location is very central in West End and couldn't be better located.

The restaurant and hotel staff were excellent- especially the hotel manager, Rafael. He checked everyday with me that my room was ok, that I was enjoying my time, asked if I needed anything, helped me find tours and activities and made great recommendations for places to eat, drink, and things to do. He also made sure that I had rides arranged to the airport upon my departure. He really completed my experience at Splash Inn and made it worth the money that I spent to stay there. That as well as the rooms being cleaned immaculately each day and great meals available at the restaurant.

They are a little bit on the pricier side, but their location and easy access to everything as well as the staff made the stay well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you Heather,
We hope to see you back in Splash Inn Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    124
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
149
79
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Splash Inn was a very pleasant surprise due to it's location, efficiency and friendliness of the hotel and restaurant staff. The rooms are extremely clean plus have all of the comforts of home, AC, TV with cable, comfortable beds, hot water shower, tile floors. They also provide good size beach towels for free so there's no need to pack one.

The Splash Inn dive shop is very popular and well respected; which is saying a lot since there must be over 20 dive shops in the West End which is a very small, chill place. Definitely, stay in West End, take the $3 water taxi to West Bay for the amazing snorkeling and nicer beach. The West End has nightlife, great selection of restaurants, friendly people and the best dive operators on the island.

Negotiating Taxi fares is an art form in Roatan. When you find the right driver (one who speaks English if you are not a fluent Spanish speaker) at the right price for a planned excursion or airport return, get his business card and the Splash Inn front desk will call to set up the specifics.

I recommend Alex as your island guide. He can be contacted thru the big yellow hotel at the circle in West End. Possibly, Splash Inn knows how to reach him as well.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor as the four downstairs rooms have early morning noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you fron Splash Inn,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very professional dive-shop, did my refresher with dive-master Mo who gave me my confidence back and did another number of 9 awesome dives with them. Good gear, briefing, and lots of stuff to see. Prices are reasonable, incl gear, good deal. I'll be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you Annet for staying with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed diving with splash inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stopped here for 7 days, wish we had more time! Compared to San Pedro we found the quality very high. Full debrief before dives,all dives conducted with full safety. Equipment was good. In total we had 12 different dives with them, we was extremely lucky to see dolphins on one occasion. The hotel it self had fantastic food, and rooms cleaned daily! It also had large free beach towels ' bonus"

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms great, wake up to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Splash Inn is a great little hotel in an extremely convenient location. The west end of Roatan is very laid back and not full of big hotels-but this hotel is very clean. The people are very nice at the reception desk and who clean the room. The restaurant is very nice too, and Keith took great care of us. There were a few days of storms when we could not dive so we often sat in the restaurant and played cards. Overall it was a very nice experience. I would definitely go back again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Alison,
Thank you for your comment about our Hotel and staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in splash inn resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We went to Roatan for the second time but we changed our hotel and we did it right!
Splash inn has it all, right in the middle of West End.
It's a small hotel with nice rooms, perfect location, good food (great pizza), and wonderful people.
The staff were great and Raf, the manager, very kind.
We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ferdinand,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

All of the previous reviews about the Splash Inn proved accurate. This is an excellent place to stay if you want a convenient, clean, and friendly dive resort. Everyone in the dive shop, from the manager to the dive masters were very friendly, professional and engaging. We did 3 - 4 dives a day (including 2 night dives) and each one was better than the last. Our group had varying skill levels and interests and they did a great job at giving us dive masters and locations that suited everyone's needs. Serena(?), the dive shop manager was excellent at coordinating all of our dives, while Chiara, Monique, Ken, and Christobal, our dive masters.made our dive experiences extremely enjoyable. Great Mares rental gear as well. Would not hesitate to recommend using theirs if you don't want to bring your own.

All of the dive sites were 10 minutes or less from the hotel/dive shop. We could go out for a 45-60 minute dive and come back to shore for a surface interval before going again. No hanging out on a boat getting sea sick. The optional shark dive is highly recommended. For $100 a person, the dive shop will do the logistical planning and shuttle you to the other side of the island. We had 10 - 15 Caribbean reef sharks show up and give us a great show. Definitely a highlight of the trip. Note: They only take cash for the shark dive. Either bring enough with you or use one of the ATMs down the street.

The hotel and restaurant were also a great experience. The rooms were clean, well lit and spacious. They were also insulated enough that we didn't hear our neighbors, although keeping the bathroom window open allowed the rooster from the house in back to wake us in the mornings. The room was always cleaned daily by the staff and they promptly fixed a plugged/overflowing toilet issue without incident. They even have a ton of English-speaking TV stations. The air conditioner worked great, which was needed on most days and even at night. There is a sign in the bathroom that says the water is not drinkable, so plan to purchase bottled water from the restaurant. Two large bottles only cost $4.

My one complaint is the wifi was pretty unstable, though understandable since passing storms had knocked out much of the island's power a few times. The fact that they even had wifi was nice. They also do not have a safe in the room for valuables/passports, but we didn't have any concerns about security.

Keith and Erik were excellent at serving us breakfast and lunch each day. Friendly and always professional, they'd gotten to know what we wanted by the end of the trip. They were always willing to visit with us. The food is excellent as well. Highly recommend the Roatan pizza and the cheeseburger. There are many other options along the main road to choose from for a change of pace. The Lighthouse Restaurant, the Cannibal Café, and the Thai Place were three of our favorites.

Thanks to everyone at the Splash Inn for making this an excellent vacation experience. I hope to return again some day.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a railing that you can hang wet gear/clothing on if needed. The lower rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splashinn_11, Gerente at Splash Inn Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Wes C,
We really appreciate your comments and we hope to see soon in Splash Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Splash Inn Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Inn Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End 31000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Inn Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in West End, on one of the best beaches on the island. The Hotel Splash Inn Dive Resort overlooks one of the most beautiful barrier reefs in the world. We will offer you personal attention and our trained staff will make your stay on Roatan an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Splash Inn Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Inn Dive Hotel West End
Pura Vida Hotel Dive Center
Pura Vida Resort Dive Center
Splash Inn Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splash Inn Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.