We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in West End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splash Inn Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Splash Inn Dive Resort to your Saves list
Splash Inn Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End 31000, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in West End
colac
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place in West End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Recently spent a week at Splash Inn in West End, the staff are great and location better (right in the heart of the West End) and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The restaurants serves up some great food, be sure to try some of the seafood and pizza. I did not dive but there is a dive shop also at the hotel, the place really covers all bases.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    124
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
62
149
80
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at the splash inn dive resort for one week, from october 16th to october 23th.

If you are like me and go there for diving, you'll feel in paradise. The dives are just breath-taking. Dive masters know the dive sites very well. They are always very calm, accommodating and friendly. Boat operator or dive masters will help you to gear up, enter and exit the water. The dive center is right next to the hotel and the docks, which is convenient. There are lockers if you want to leave your room key and wallet while you are diving. They also have a storage room in the dive center, where you can leave your equipment.

The hotel location is a fun area. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars around, with reasonable prices. It is easy to meet other divers and have fun. One negative note, the ATMs in the area are not very reliable. They might be broken, out of service, out of money ... It is not unlikely to have no atm working for a whole day. A lot of places accept credit card, but it is not a good idea to always keep minimum amount of cash on you and wait at the last minute to retrieve money.

Room was modest, but very clean and comfortable, which was all I needed. Presence of an air conditioning was greatly appreciated. There were little issues worth of mention though:
-No drinkable water, no fridge, no coffee maker in the room
It's easy to find food and cold beverages around, but I would appreciate to have these facilities
-Water pressure in the shower was a bit low
-If you keep food in your room, make sure it is hermetically sealed, otherwise you may attract ants.

Room Tip: Make sure there is air conditioning. The area is very hot and humid. You may have trouble to sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Splash Inn on recommendation from a co-worker. The room was cleaned daily and overall clean from the floor to the bed. The restaurant was good for the area, recommend the pizza. The dive shop was excellent. Really enjoyed diving with them and would recommend anyone staying in West End to give them a try. The dive instructors know the area very well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a great time despite the humidity & the mozzies!! We know it was the rainy season but had no idea about how humid it was going to be. The staff at The Splash Inn were great. We were thankful it was the slow season because we got the chance to really talk with Keith and Victor about the real Roatan - not just what you see in the gorgeous photos. They gave exceptional service and were always willing to give us good tips on where to go, what to do, etc. The beds were very clean & comfortable, the room was clean and once we had the AC on it was extremely pleasant. The few improvements that need to be made: Shower pressure and temperature - it was hit or miss if you got hot water and when you did it was a very low trickle, especially if someone else in the hotel was using the water. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room so you could keep beverages cold. Also would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room. I don't think the public was ready to see us before we had our coffee. The hotel is located in a great spot - quick access to water taxis, bars, restaurants, etc. I would recommend The Splash Inn for anyone who is looking for an inexpensive hotel with great value and a wonderful staff. P.S. The breakfast was meh...

Room Tip: Get a room in the back - very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Skip the cruise ship excursions and hop in a taxi and take a 20 minute ride to Splash Inn Dive Shop. You get to see a little bit of the island and also get to avoid the large cruise ship crowds. Splash Inn is my favorite place to dive and I have been there three times this summer already. It's perfectly located in the heart of West End.

All of the diving staff at Splash Inn are PADI Instructors and they are always very concerned with diver safety. Riccardo led both of the dives this time (Hole in the Wall & Tabyana) and did a great job. Unfortunately we didn't find any rays or whale sharks this time! Riccardo, please try to schedule the whale sharks to be in the area next time. haha.. I like to set up my own equipment, but Splash Inn staff are always willing to do all the work for customers if you would like them to carry all your equipment to the boat and set your stuff up. The dive shop is directly across the street from the water which makes it very easy to walk out of the shop and get on the boat. The reef is very close to shore, so the boat ride to all of the dive sites is generally less than 10 minutes away. They are so close that all surface intervals are done back at the dive shop.

During surface intervals you have plenty of time to walk down the street and get a snack one of the multitude of restaurants and baleada shops up and down the street. My recommendation is to stop by the Blue Marlin and do your part to protect the reef by eating some Lion Fish. (Invasive Species)

Thanks again for an enjoyable day Justin, Serena, Mo, Riccardo and Boat Captain Ricardo!. See you soon on the next trip!

J - -

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, KS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in West End for a week-long dive vacation. The town of West End is a very low-key, inexpensive area and has a great “island” feel.

The Splash Inn hotel is a great value and is maintained well and very clean! Every day we noticed the staff cleaning the common areas, staining the woodwork, and our room was tidied up and cleaned each morning. The room had plenty of space for our needs and the A/C unit cooled the room down fairly quickly when we arrived each afternoon after diving. The location of the hotel was perfect and had the dive shop and restaurant right there on site. There were a few days after diving when having the restaurant right there was VERY handy. 

We didn’t have anything very negative about our stay. There were a few days when there was a bit of a sewer gas smell in the room. Come to find out, the city’s sewer system is fairly new and they are still dealing with some issues with the sewer install. Not a huge deal. We would have enjoyed having a pool, or some other way to relax outside near the water in the afternoon. The only real option was some of the common beach areas and with the sand flies, that wasn’t something we wanted to do. My husband and I both made it home with sand fly bites that took a couple of weeks to heal. Take insect repellant!

We will go back and stay at the Splash Inn.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms above the restaurant which was one of the only rooms with an "ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On my second visit to Roatan, I decided to stay in West End rather than West Bay. I'm so glad I did as everything you need is in walking distance. Splash Inn was a friendly, clean, basic place to stay. A previous reviewer just about summed it all up...

Pros: clean, spacious room, great location, wonderful dive shop and staff, friendly hotel staff, decent restaurant on-site, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, water taxi to West Bay directly across the street, walking distance to all the restaurants/bars, and Half Moon Bay beach

Cons: Ants in the room, no mini-fridge

I can't say enough great things about the Dive Shop Staff. They were all friendly, responsible, safe, and fun.

As it is quite reasonably priced, I would definitely consider staying at Splash Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Splash Inn Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Inn Dive Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End 31000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Inn Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in West End, on one of the best beaches on the island. The Hotel Splash Inn Dive Resort overlooks one of the most beautiful barrier reefs in the world. We will offer you personal attention and our trained staff will make your stay on Roatan an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Splash Inn Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Inn Dive Hotel West End
Pura Vida Hotel Dive Center
Pura Vida Resort Dive Center
Splash Inn Dive Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splash Inn Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.