We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Great drinks. We'll priced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Island Beach Cafe

Monkey Island Beach Cafe
West End Road, Roatan, Near the main entrance to the West End | Make a left when you enter the West End, we are about fifty yards down on your left the awesome beach and ocean will be on your right., West End, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 43 Restaurants in West End
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Monkey Island Beach Cafe offers real Tex-Mex and Seafood in an amazing beachside and seaview location in the heart of the West End. We have a full bar featuring Roatan's signature drink, the Monkey LaLa, Margaritas, Honduran and American beers and wine. We have live music several nights a week. We also offer free Wi-Fi for all of our guests. Our signature menu items include our famous coconut lobster, the biggest and best coconut shrimp and bacon wrapped jumbo shrimp stuffed with jalapeno and cheese. We also feature real Tex-Mex food including Chile Rellenos, Fajitas, enchiladas, nachos, guacamole, queso and Bob Armstring dips and free chips and salsa for every table. For the fish lovers our fishermen bring us us whatever they are catching. It might be Mahi Mahi, Blackfin Tuna, Wahoo or even spearfish taken lionfish. It varies by the season and even daily so ask your server what we have in. You can get our fish coconut style, as our tequila fish, perfectly grillled or in our fish tacos. Click on the "Website" link on the upper left side of this page to see and like our Facebook page for food and drink specials, our live music and event schedule, more pictures, special event announcements and general Roatan fun and information.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food. Great drinks. We'll priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for drinks and snacks in the afternoon. Friendly service, 2-for-1 cocktails. Recommend the queso especial.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    51
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Seriously long wait”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

How long does it take to cook up 6 chicken wings when there is no one else in the restaurant? One hour! I almost got up and walked out, and to the waiter's credit he did offer me a free beer. Maybe the cook was taking a siesta! The wings ended up being decent, but at about 10 minutes of waiting per wing, this place just didn't cut it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERS
1 review
“Relief from the heat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This bar is one of many along the strip of West End Road. We quickly established this as our new home for the week. Many of the bars either had blaring disco music (this is not Miami) or not enough liquor (yes thats right no liquor!) Not only was this bar great fun the owner Vidal and his wife Judy welcomed us into their family. We spent several days as well as nights with them and others who stopped by. Thank you for adding to our wonderful memories we hope to see you all very soon :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Cheers" on Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The place where everyone knows your name... always fun and friendly. Great place to relax during the day... friendly faces, free wifi. In the evenings they always have some sort of special... Taco Tuesdays has $1 yummy tacos! Very hospitable... they even let you play DJ! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbay ,Roatan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food and company.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Monkey island is a locals and a tourist hangout so it is where the action is. The owners are super people and always ready to have a great time with their clients. The chilli rellenos is my favorite menu item but have tried many other items as well and they were delish.
Good prices and the location is the best .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Island Beach Cafe also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Monkey Island Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Island Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.