We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Island Beach Cafe

Monkey Island Beach Cafe
West End Road, Roatan, Near the main entrance to the West End | Make a left when you enter the West End, we are about fifty yards down on your left the awesome beach and ocean will be on your right., West End, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Monkey Island Beach Cafe offers real Tex-Mex and Seafood in an amazing beachside and seaview location in the heart of the West End. We have a full bar featuring Roatan's signature drink, the Monkey LaLa, Margaritas, Honduran and American beers and wine. We have live music several nights a week. We also offer free Wi-Fi for all of our guests. Our signature menu items include our famous coconut lobster, the biggest and best coconut shrimp and bacon wrapped jumbo shrimp stuffed with jalapeno and cheese. We also feature real Tex-Mex food including Chile Rellenos, Fajitas, enchiladas, nachos, guacamole, queso and Bob Armstring dips and free chips and salsa for every table. For the fish lovers our fishermen bring us us whatever they are catching. It might be Mahi Mahi, Blackfin Tuna, Wahoo or even spearfish taken lionfish. It varies by the season and even daily so ask your server what we have in. You can get our fish coconut style, as our tequila fish, perfectly grillled or in our fish tacos. Click on the "Website" link on the upper left side of this page to see and like our Facebook page for food and drink specials, our live music and event schedule, more pictures, special event announcements and general Roatan fun and information.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wonderful food, atmosphere and people! A must while visiting Honduras! The overall experience is one everyone can enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    61
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go for the music, skip the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a great place for live music with plenty of space and a huge bar. We went on a weekend and the place was packed. The food was dismal. My husband ordered the coconut shrimp after being told they were "the best on the island". They were overcooked, tasteless and rubbery and very disappointing at $16. I ordered flour tortilla chicken tacos ($8) which were less than average. Go for the music and have a drink but skip the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not a Real Bang for the Buck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had lunch here and were a bit disappointed with the service, food and price. We had fajitas that were lacking in the Tortilla Department. Just not enough Tortillas to go with the filling. When we asked for more....none came. The price was quite high, in fact very high for what you received. This place could be more if they would just give it some vision.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great view great food great staff and clean ,,,,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went there on a carnival Cruise , Stopped by the west end and by luck found this place. The coconut shrimp were the size of baby arms. Drinks and lobster were the best i ever had. try the monkey lala and the dirty banana you wont regret it. Cool guy named Blake the manager,, free chips and salza ,,plus there was a band getting started before i left. You guys sold me on Roatan i will be back and we will party again. . The view was to die for cause u are right on the beach.
I will be there again .......

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I really like this place! The food is delish, the staff is friendly and costumer service is a wonderful change beings that it is hard to find that in Central America! Try YUM!!! Right on the beach and when it gets hot just jump in then visit the shower out back! LOVE LOVE LOVE this place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Island Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Monkey Island Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Island Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.