We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Island Beach Cafe

Monkey Island Beach Cafe
West End Road, Roatan, Near the main entrance to the West End | Make a left when you enter the West End, we are about fifty yards down on your left the awesome beach and ocean will be on your right., West End, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 40 restaurants in West End
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Monkey Island Beach Cafe offers real Tex-Mex and Seafood in an amazing beachside and seaview location in the heart of the West End. We have a full bar featuring Roatan's signature drink, the Monkey LaLa, Margaritas, Honduran and American beers and wine. We have live music several nights a week. We also offer free Wi-Fi for all of our guests. Our signature menu items include our famous coconut lobster, the biggest and best coconut shrimp and bacon wrapped jumbo shrimp stuffed with jalapeno and cheese. We also feature real Tex-Mex food including Chile Rellenos, Fajitas, enchiladas, nachos, guacamole, queso and Bob Armstring dips and free chips and salsa for every table. For the fish lovers our fishermen bring us us whatever they are catching. It might be Mahi Mahi, Blackfin Tuna, Wahoo or even spearfish taken lionfish. It varies by the season and even daily so ask your server what we have in. You can get our fish coconut style, as our tequila fish, perfectly grillled or in our fish tacos. Click on the "Website" link on the upper left side of this page to see and like our Facebook page for food and drink specials, our live music and event schedule, more pictures, special event announcements and general Roatan fun and information.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The new owner and staff were so friendly and kind. Our meals were great and we would go back for sure. Great view of the beach and the drinks were great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    109
    39
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a very new restaurant that has opened up on the island of Roatan. We loved everything about it. The owners and staff treated us like family and made sure that our visit was one of the highlights of our trip. The food was so fresh and delicious and one of our favorite dishes (coconut lobster) was not even on the menu but one of the owners favorites and he let us order it for ourselves. We made this our go to place most evenings and enjoyed some very good and island type entertainment on two seperate evenings. The ability to sit outside on a covered patio and look at the ocean and watch all the people walk by was so much fun. Please check them out you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyDallasTexas, Owner at Monkey Island Beach Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your visits to Monkey Island and the kind words about our food and staff. We know that many of our customers are only on Roatan for a short time so we are especially grateful and humbled when they choose to visit Monkey Island several times during their stay. It makes us all happy when we help to make an amazing Roatan vacation even better.

The Coconut Lobster has turned out to be one of our most popular dishes since we introduced it. Many of our customers come back just to get more Coconut Lobster but from the Shrimp Chile Relleno to the Chicken, Beef or Garlic Grilled Shrimp Fajitas to the Shrimp, Cheese, Beef or Chicken Enchiladas to the Shrimp, Beef or Chicken Nachos you could try something new every time and not run out of tasty new choices for a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow great place to est and have fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Coconut shrimp and pina colada sauce is to die for, shrimp was good size the sauce yummy. The service was very good. Also had the nachos for appetizer. Will be back on future trips.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Drinks & Delicious Food Monkey Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were on Roatan for the day with our cruise ship. We decided to go on our own we hired a great guide and headed off for West End Beach. We got to the most beautiful and quiet beach, total paradise. We immediately spotted Monkey Island and we went in to grab and drink or two. We were greated by the most friendly and funny bartender. We went back for lunch and we were able to order the most delicious Tex Mex food. The Nachos were unbelieveable and chef Reggie gave us an extra jalapeno mixed dip that was out of this world. We met one of the owners Andy and the creator of the delicious food Chef Reggie. We had the most fantastic and relaxing day and I think finding the Monkey Island was a key part to our best stop on our cruise. Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyDallasTexas, Owner at Monkey Island Beach Cafe, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and taking a few minutes to become one of the first to let the Tripadvisor community know about Monkey Island. I loved the pictures. Thanks so much for those. I met so many people at Monkey Island in January and the pictures made it easy to remember you and your crew vividly. Y'all are so much fun and special to us as some of our first customers and five star tripadvisor reviewers. As a token of appreciation for the visit, review and five stars we took our entire staff to a nearby jungle mountaintop where we camped and fasted, drinking only beer for five days as part of an ancient island purification and appreciation ritual. We shouted each of your names five times each day; midnight, sunrise, high noon, afternoon beer and sunset and we sacrificed some ginormous shrimp by eating them. We hope to see you again, somehow, somewhere, someway, we'll ride again, I am sure of it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatán, Islas de la Bahia, Honduras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fave new bar & restaurant in Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place has got a great vibe, great view and is a very friendly place to spend "happy hours". The coconut shrimp is excellent, especially with the pina colada sauce- which rocks! It must be the only place on Roatan to bring chips and salsa right to your table, and the other cheesy dips are tasty too. I've also had the yummy chicken quesadilla, seems like you can't go wrong with the food here.

The weekends Monkey Island has live music and is a very central & colorful place to spend an evening out. The staff is very welcoming and part of what makes it a great experience.

Can't wait til the weekend comes to go back and check out the music and spend the evening with friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Island Beach Cafe also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Monkey Island Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Island Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.