We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great locals’ hangout with friendly, friendly people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buena Vida

The Buena Vida
West End Road, West End, Honduras
+(504)9735 4578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in West End
Cuisines: American, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Coolidge, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great locals’ hangout with friendly, friendly people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Joe and his wife Wendy have provided a lovely transition from the former Wet Spot. Still located in the heart of West End Pura Vida provides delicious food, lovely conversation, great coffee!!!!, and nightly events. In their kitchen they have retained the services of the amazing Carol who s not only a great cook but , can pull you some great espresso shots! Open early for breakfast and serving through the day Pura Vida is the perfect place for a cold drink, lively conversation, a delicious meal or their weekly (much beloved) trivia nights!
Bonus (besides the awesome friendliness is an on site ATM!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you Hotcarib for you nice words! Carol is a definite keeper! We are celebrating our 1st anniversary this Thursday, October 3rd. Glad you enjoyed your experience at The Buena Vida, especially the Music Trivia. We strive to be a laid back and chill place to hang with friends and people watch in West End. Hope to see you again on the island. Enjoy the good life!

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    23
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Roatan 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice restaurant, good food..great for breakfast..staff was very friendly and polite. Good location and close to the water.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Texas Girl for you kind words. Hope you enjoyed your trip to the island and we hope to see you again in the future.

- Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the last 5 days in Roatan and ended up at The Buena Vida at least once a day. Wendy and Joe are some of the nicest people you will meet, and Angela, the waitress, is adorable!! The food is delicious, especially the banana french toast and biscuits and gravy. Mmmm.... Monday night music trivia was a blast, although we took a beating. (Look out, next time we'll bring our game faces). Good people, good food, good music, good atmosphere. Thank you Wendy and Joe for my "birthday cake", and give Bubbles a little love from us. We are already planning our next trip out there.

-Faith and Kevin

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words! Faith, you and Kevin were a treat to serve and a perfect example of why we love working (not quite work for us) this business. Thank you for all of your patronage and we look forward to seeing you back on the island soon!

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Cute restaurant owned by a couple from Washington, DC (my hometown!). They had sushi the night we visited and have different specials each night. Food was fresh and nice spot for people watching. There is a resident cat, who is very sweet also. Really loved the "palm fries" instead of typical french fries.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Gina, thank you very much for the kind words! We work very hard at being a bit different with our food program (thus the Palm Fries, Sushi and our Tapas menu) from other places here on the island that serve burgers or chicken tenders or everything wrapped in a tortilla. We also hope that being a bit different will be successful in the long run. Say hello to DC for us, we really miss Capitol Hill. Hopefully we will see you some day again on the island.

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fun Monday night music trivia.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went here last night after closing down the Cigar Bar down the street. This place used to be "The Wet Spot", but the new owner changed the name. There is a DJ there on Monday nights that is running music trivia for the customers to play. It was a blast!! I have not played that game in years and he was playing a lot of 80's music that I could relate to. There was a fun crowd in here and we were all having a great time. There is also an ATM inside an enclosed booth inside of here. I went back today to get some more money and decided to eat lunch while I was there. Angela was my waitress and she is a sweetheart. I ordered the lunch special of the day, which was a fried chicken breast sandwich with home fries. The chicken sandwich was excellent and I had them make my home fries into chili and cheese home fries. The food was great and the prices are fair. I will be heading back there again soon for some more great memories.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBuenaVida, Owner at The Buena Vida, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Kyle, thank you for the great words! Yea, everyone really loves Music Trivia Monday. Glad you enjoyed a number of our menu items as well. Everyone really adores Angela too, she is a keeper. Look forward to seeing you again next time you are on the island.

-Joe and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buena Vida also viewed

 

Been to The Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buena Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.