We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Favorite in West End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buena Vida

The Buena Vida
West End Road, West End, Honduras
+(504)9735 4578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A New Favorite in West End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

"No burgers, no fries and we try not to put everything on a flour tortilla."

That's the way Wendy and Joe Mineff describe the menu philosophy at The Buena Vida in Roatan's West End. Located West of Half Moon Bay on the inland side of the road and open since October 2012, this laid back cafe/bar is a wonderful new addition to West End dining options.

We had a chance to sample both the lunch menu (available all the time) and the breakfast menu (available until 3!). Both were excellent.

For lunch, three of us shared the corned beef sandwich, shrimp po boy and fish tacos. All three dishes were good looking, nicely garnished and reasonably portioned. The food was fresh and well seasoned. Together with a couple of cold Salva Vidas and a soda plus tip, the total tab was very reasonable.

After a birthday celebration run amok the night before, the Buena Vida was my personal salva vida the next day. With bloodshot eyes slightly larger than stomach, I ordered the Buena Vida breakfast with two eggs over medium, chorizo sausage and sautéed veg with a side of house made corned-beef hash and a side of banana bread french toast. Once again, everything was fresh and well-prepared. The french toast was awesome, as was the hash and chorizo. With a cup of coffee and an ice-cold club soda, I emerged from The Buena Vida in dramatically better condition than I entered it. Thanks Joe...

The Buena Vista serves dinner as well but we didn't have the time on this trip for the trifecta of meals.

Finally, the atmosphere is clean, simple and classically West End - with guests ranging from people in shorties between dives to a group of friends of a cruise ship to a local resident on a laptop enjoying a cup of coffee and using the complimentary wifi.

Next time you're in West End Village, grab a bite at The Buena Vista. It's great food at a great price and a really nice addition to our neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    23
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“some great nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we visited roatan for 5 weeks this january and were very pleased to find the buena vida, the owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food is very very good and at a fair price.
the food ranges from daily fresh cought fish to tapas style small plates and i must admit i did try to eat my way through the whole menu, i so hope the buena vida is still there when i visit again next year as it was a big a big part of what made our holiday great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Michelle and her Girls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Wet Spot offers great breakfast, lunch and dinner (try the sliders and iced mocha coffees)! The owner, Michelle, will make sure you leave happy and full!!! They also have a well known music trivia Monday nights!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Michelle and her WetSpot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

You have to stop in for this one of a kind experience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Veterinarians Love the Wet Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Michele and the staff at the Wet Spot take awesome care of us every year when we come to fix animals. We could not do it without them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Buena Vida also viewed

 

Been to The Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buena Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.