We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch in Roatan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Escondido

Cafe Escondido
West End Rd | Above West End Divers, West End 34101, Honduras
+504 9636-1043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Bar, Coffee Shop, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: A cafe serving great Espresso based coffees, quick breakfast sandwiches, French Toast, Asian style lunches, healthy delicious smoothies and cocktails! Come in and relax! We are a breakfast and lunch place. We open at 7:45am till 3pm. Closed Tuesday and Wednesday. If we happen to be closed out side of Tuesday and Wednesday feel free to try the many other places in West End. Remember to Relax and enjoy your stay.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

Best food on the island. Asian shrimp salads. Chicken dishes. Amazing. Lunch only but worth the walk from anywhere

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    39
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Divers Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Great tasty food! A really nice place to eat breakfast and lunch. Location, location, location! Just upstairs from West End Divers, we really enjoyed every meal there! Try the delicious Nutty Monkey shake with an espresso shot (Courtney's wake up before a dive drink) Great place, relaxing atmosphere, super friendly staff, wonderful owners. We highly recommend you come and eat at Cafe Escondido.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“recommended by local expat - great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Laurie (who runs the BookNook in WestEnd) suggested we wander here for lunch (daily special for 100L), and we had a great meal - two of their rice bowls, chocolate banana shake for me and a beer for my wife. Nice breeze, friendly staff. Really - you want more?

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I eat here whenever I am in the West End. I love Asian food and the rice and noodle bowls are fabulous! My favorite is the Spicey Cashew Chicken. It IS spicey but so very delicious. The atmosphere is laid back. The service is fast and friendly.

I don't know why a previous reviewer thought that a shake or a smoothie would stay ice cold in tropical weather but it is hardly the restaurant's fault if it was no longer cold after 20 minutes!. Also if you don't have time for a relaxed meal order "to go" from the out set. Service is not rushed in Latin America like it is in the US. Here they actually let you have a conversation, laugh and enjoy your meal without a million interruptions and hints to move on!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yummy rice bowels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This place was recommended to us because we are vegetarians.We really enjoyed the food.We have tried all the rice bowels and they all were very tastey.The price and service is good too.The place is right over the westend divers and is open only to 2:59.We were really glad to find this place.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Escondido also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Escondido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.