We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in West End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Mission House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calico Mission House
Save
You added Calico Mission House to your Saves list
West end road | Right at West End entrance, West End 34101, Honduras (Formerly Casa Verde beach house hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
McKinleyville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in West End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Calico Mission House. Doug was super friendly and cooked us a great meal. This hotel is also much quieter than most of the other hotels in West End, so we finally got a good night's sleep. We loved having two decks and a kitchen, plus it had wifi too. What more can you ask for? Doug's eight legged pet was fun to watch too...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
It was really great to meet you both! I hope you can make it back soon and thank you for the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

After experiencing a terribly noisy stay at a bungalow, I was referred here for a quiet place to stay by another diver.
Douglas, the manager was always accommodating with my needs or requests during my stay. He made breakfast several times for a friend and me that was fantastic. The room was more space than I had expected. Each bed had a fan that was mounted over the bed, which kept the breeze flowing. The deck had a hammock and a small table with chairs to relax at. A very nice breeze came through, keeping it a comfortable place without too many insects.
The location was perfect, as it was about a 5-minute walk to the town of West End with many restaurants and dive shops to choose from. There was a security guard seated outside near the house from 6pm to 6am which made it a safe choice.
The only complaint I had was about a woman in the room next to me. She had reserved the room for 5 months and was there to stay. She would go out on the deck to smoke, and the smoke kept coming through my windows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It was my pleasure assisting with your experience on Roatan and hope you will make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I was here last week visiting a friend and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are big , clean , kitchen , comfy beds. Douglas is a fantastic host very helpfull ..nice sitting on the dock so peaceful . Good location
Thanks again Doug happy new year

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I hope it will be the first of many stays at Mission House. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwood, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Im not sure where to start! .. If you are looking for a nice, comfortable, safe place to stay then pick the calico house! It is the perfect distance from the beach, the main strip of west end, its quiet and safe. Beautiful deck with tables and chairs. Fruit trees in the yard. The host of the house (Douglas) is very very kind! He took great care in making sure we had everything we needed. He was always there to give advise on where to eat and how to get to anywhere we needed to go. He was WONDERFUL!! ( thank you doug!! youre the best!!!) ...

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful! He gave us a tour of the property....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
You're the best! I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at the Calico Mission House for three weeks and it rocked! It is located just minutes from the hoppin' West End strip, but still a quiet and peaceful oasis. The rooms are big and spacious with two entrances allowing a great breeze. There is a comfy, big deck on both sides with tables, hammocks, and beautiful views of the local fruit trees and palms. A very serene place to relax. Douglas is a great host, along with his sweet pups Macy and Shaka. Bring a few dog treats and your guaranteed a few new pals!

I had an amazing time here and plan on staying at Calico every time I return to Roatan! Great food, great people, and great vibes. Check it out

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was really great having you and I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good tasty breakfafst and very good prices. Location is only a few block distance from main road where all the local bars an restaurants are located. Cool and breezy. If loocking to save some money to have more to enjoy this is the place. Call and the owner will give you a good deal. A/C will have an additional fee but you would most likely wont need it. And wifi is included.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Calico. Doug was super helpful and a great chef. Would of got 5 stars if it had wifi other than that spacious rooms, great common area and aquiet area. Absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Calico Mission House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. Internet is now available for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calico Mission House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calico Mission House

Address: West end road | Right at West End entrance, West End 34101, Honduras (Formerly Casa Verde beach house hostel)
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calico Mission house is safely located in a cool jungle atmosphere just minutes walk from stores,restaurants and beaches.Delicious meals prepared with all Fresh local ingredients including seafood caught by local fishermen are available daily. Please don't miss you chance to experience Calico Mission House on your next visit to beautiful Half Moon bay, Roatan! We offer accomodation with personal service, great food and a pleasant atmosphere - all run by the same ideal: christian hospitality.Hospitality with heart is our essential concern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calico Mission House Roatan, Honduras - West End

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Mission House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.