We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earth Mama's Garden Cafe & Lifestyle

Earth Mama's Garden Cafe & Lifestyle
West End 34101, Honduras
504-9607-07-04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 43 Restaurants in West End
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Seems to be the oly restaurant on the island with options for gluten free meals. The food overall is very good and not too heavy, perfect for the hot weather and activities available on the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    63
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Over-Hyped, Under-delivered”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were quite disappointed by our visit to Earth Mama's. Simply put, everything that could go wrong, did. First, we dealt with the miraculously dissapearing menu, in which, after we ordered, we were informed that our food choices weren't available. Rather than suggesting something else, our waitress simply announced the substitution that she would make. So, for example, in exchange for what the menu described as a "homemade banana nut muffin" I got a toasted English muffin from a box, with no apology or reduction from the price. It wasn't until we were almost finished eating that we finally got our coffee, and, compared to the other coffee we've had, it wasn't that good. We went on a Sunday, lured by the promise of their Sunday specials--none of which were available, including the guitarist that they advertised. For all their trouble, they added the tip on the bill without even telling us (we were a party of two).

Overall, prices seemed high for the island. This might be cheaper than a Manhattan brunch, but is certainly not reasonably priced for Roatan. I think Mama Earth is trying to hard to be a restaurant, smoothie bar, and yoga studio at the same time, and should decide what it wants to do. I hope, for the sake of future visitors, it picks yoga studio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visited this place three times while I was on my 10 day trip. I went twice for breakfast one once for a smoothie. I kept going back because I just like the feel of the place. The grounds were so pretty and I really liked the chickens running around. Service was good and food was too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favorite Restaurant in the West End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a cute hidden gem. It's just off the main road so it's not really hidden we just didn't see it right away. We loved our breakfast and wish that we would have found this restaurant sooner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wholesome and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I ate breakfast a couple mornings at Earth Mama's Garden. The food was healthy, fresh and well presented. The Garden atmosphere was very calming. Their breakfast smoothies are very filling and wholesome. The service was very friendly. Thank you for a wonderful, tranquil time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Mama's Garden Cafe & Lifestyle also viewed

 

Been to Earth Mama's Garden Cafe & Lifestyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth Mama's Garden Cafe & Lifestyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.