We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Restaurant

Lighthouse Restaurant
West End Waterfront, West End, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 45 Restaurants in West End
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Recall the surreal Do Long bridge scene in Apocalypse Now where Captain Willard searches, to no avail, to find who's in charge: dining @ the Lighthouse is the restaurant equivalent.
The food is alright... kinda "M'eh!" compared to the many other restaurants in West End... but the service is UTTERLY TERRIBLE! (And, yes, this is after fully recalibrating service expectations for being overseas and after fully downshifting into Island Time and relative to other similar dining experiences over our two weeks in West End, Roatan.)
There are plenty of other options (many great!) in & around West End... so why subject yourself to this place?!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    62
    39
    33
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second trip to Roatan and the Lighthouse restaurant. The whole snapper dish and the scallop dish were both very good. The wine was okay. The service and atmosphere were delightful. A place worth visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great grilled fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got the "tipica" lunch with rice, beans and plantains. Very good, reasonably priced. We went back later for a drink at sunset. Superb setting!

They did have trouble breaking our 20US, but other than that the service was fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really Bad!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Food was mediocre at best and service was terrible. Waited what seemed like forever to get our check and then realized that our waiter had left the restaurant and was on the beach talking to people. I finally got up to find someone to help us (no one seemed to care) and when we presented our credit card, the waiter said he needed our ID as well. As a prior reviewer had said, this seemed sketchy to us, so we followed the person to the back office and waited for another 10-15 min with him to process it. Ridiculous!
To top things off, none of us were feeling well after our respective meals.
Stay away from this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is an incredible restaurant, great location right in the middle of West Bay with a view that doesn't stop. If you want a great place to watchh the sunset, there is probably not a better place that serves you to do it. But bthe best thing about this restaurant is the food...and you have to try their Fried Lobster! My wife and I have eaten lobster all over the world and this was truly the sweetest and most favorable lobster we have ever put in our mouths. Remarkable, so much so we got the recipe from the Chef! Also try the Guacamole and fresh chips, the Grilled Snapper, and their french fries are perfect. We went there twice in one week!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.